We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst accommodation I've ever stayed in” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Birchwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood B&B
Ranked #6 of 7 Kells B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst accommodation I've ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Dirty, damp, cobwebs & flys everywhere. Horrendous shower, toilet didn't flush, walls like paper. Curtins didnt pull properly. Just the worst accomadation experience I ever had. Ended up over paying as they has no change to give us back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
You prebooked two double rooms for single occupancy. We only
have double and double and single bed rooms. You were told the
cost would be 45 Euro per room per night. You would not share

You arrived about 8pm. were shown to your rooms. Next morning
you both left at 7.15 am to play golf, paid for the night, and declined
breakfast saying you had to tee off early.

*** You gave no indication of anything annoying you ***
*** You asked to stay a second night. ***

You returned from a pub at 12 midnight, and went to your room.
Just as the previous night, you got up at 7am.

I happened to be up, and met you as you were going out the door.
You paid the balance due, less ten Euro that you were short.

*** You still gave NO indication of any problems ***
*** We do our best to rectify any problems that may arise ***
*** but we must be told about them ***

The FLY - There was a dead fly on the window cill. Our apologies.
He got a decent funeral.

Partition Walls – are 4 ½” timber stud, at 12” intervals, with ½”
Gyplath board plastered both sides, and the cavity stuffed with 6” of
soundproofing.

Toilet – is Syphonic for silent flushing. The bowl fills then syphons
out

Floor Coverings – we use carpet on bedrooms and hospital quality, easy
clean lino on the upstairs bathrooms.

Cobwebs on front door. – Our outside light stays on all night for
late comers. It attracts flies, which in turn attracts spiders. They spin
cobwebs to catch flies. This happens every night. It’s the nature
of the beast.

*** As I said before, we can only rectify problems if we are told
*** about them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    4
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
8
9
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

This former farmhouse is in an ideal location, situated a little outside of Kells. Although I had no vehicle with me, I rarely needed to take a taxi for the 10 minute drive into the town centre, as there was usually someone going in that direction. The owners, Tom and Marie Clarke, and their staff, were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to help out with transport and tailor the generous, hearty Irish breakfasts to individual needs (Tom even provided soya milk for me).
The rooms looked over countryside, and were completely peaceful. The bedroom and bathroom were both large, spotless, light- filled and airy.
Birchwood is excellent value for money, and I fully agree with the previous 5 star reviews.
If any traveller is looking for the iconic Irish farmhouse characterised by hospitality, warmth and good conversation, then I would thoroughly recommend staying at Birchwood with the Clarke family.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Rosalind.


By now you must be settled back into your routine. You are very lucky to
have an occupation that fits in with your interests and hobbies. Everybody
who met you spoke about your nice personality, and how nice mannered
you are. You have generated an interest in literature in our son, Brian.

We wish to say a special “thank you” for being so thoughtful by having
a mass said at Clarendon St. for me. Both of us have had a lot of
hospital visits since January last. The good news is that I got an all clear,
and only have to have a check up in December. So your prayers were
indeed very helpful. Tom had cataracts removed and will have two more
cardiac procedures over the next month, but the procedure has proved
very successful.

Overall, we have had quite a few visitors, and one couple from between
Macon and Lyon in France. Neither spoke any English, but we got on
fine. They stayed a week and hired bicycles to get around, visiting
Newgrange and Trim castle.

From now on things will get quiet, but we look forward to Christmas.

As I write this, I’m looking at your card, with the picture of reindeer
grazing in the snow at the Phoenix Park in Dublin.

Best wishes.

Tom & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed with you at Birchwood B&B in Ireland in September. Thank you for
giving us excellent directions so that we found our way easily to Newgrange, and
the Battle of the Boyne. Also for your good suggestions of places to eat in Kells.
I also enjoyed sitting with Marie in your kitchen one evening, for tea, cake and
friendly conversation. We pray that God will bless you and your lovely home
in the year to come.

Thank you again for your hospitality to us.

Carol F
California.

Room Tip: Flat Screen TV's with Irish and Satellite stations, also free hi speed wireless internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolF716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Carol.

We were delighted to have yourself and your husband staying. Your
phone booking from Hawaii took us by surprise. We first thought it
was a wrong number, but, thankfully, you rang back.

It’s so nice to meet and talk with friendly people.

We are glad to see you got home safely to California.

Thank you for your compliments, and sending the very nice photo of
Tom and I sitting at the dining room table. It is of such a good quality
that we had it enlarged and framed.

Hopefully we will meet again in the future.

Best Wishes.

Tom & Marie Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This b&b lived up to our expectations. It was spotless, nice and warm, the beds were comfortable and the owners were very friendly and welcoming. If I was in the area I would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Polkadots_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Many thanks for your helpful comments.

We look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Kells.

Thank you.

Tom & Marie Clarke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

I stayed here and I wasn't impressed. The rooms were dirty and the shower didn't work great only a small dribble of water came out. We were made feel uncomfortable for the duration of our stay with odd comments such as on arrival "the two men can stay in this room and the two women stay in here". There were other comments such as "the dog will be well fed this morning" when some food was left over at breakfast. When packing up on leaving we were intruded in on and the staff cleaned the room before we had packed up our stuff. We were attending a wedding in the area and were in need of somewhere to stay for the two nights but if we had a choice we would of ran! Very unhappy customer

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tapa_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Hangover problem !

It’s a pity you did not identify yourself. I absolutely refute your critical remarks over room cleanliness, or that anybody suggested who should occupy any room. We get random inspections, and meet the high standards required. Our linen is laundered to a high standard by the same people who supply most hotels in the county. Our showers are thermostatically controlled, provide a perfect flow and our hard water is softened, specially for you.

Now let me put our side.

We had nine guests, two holiday makers, Australians, and seven going to your local wedding.
All were asked on arrival if they would like the full breakfast, all said yes. You went to the wedding, and arrived back on Sunday morning as early as 5.40 am. The Australians had asked for breakfast at 8.00 am. My wife and I got up at 7 am, served the two Australians, and they left about 8.30. At 9.00 am the lady who helps came in to hoover, make all beds, clean showers, etc. She could only access one room. At 10.10 am two persons came for breakfast, and returned to their room. They brought up two glasses of drinking water. Somebody was suffering from thirst. By this stage we had already cooked five more breakfasts, but still no sign of anybody coming down. 11 am passed by, still no sign of movement. The help lady had to sit in the kitchen, and wait. At 12am my wife had to attend church, but still you were in bed. By 1 pm both the help lady and I were still waiting for you to appear. At this stage, we wondered if you were ever going to vacate the rooms. Our help then went and started cleaning for our next visitors. You were lucky that it was not I that went to oust you out, as I might not have been so friendly.

The next wedding you are going to, I suggest you drink a bit less, and you will not have such a hangover. I do hope you managed to drive home safely.

OH! Your breakfasts were partly eaten by some men who work with us, and the rest did last the dog for two days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfanaghy, Donegal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We were attending a wedding at Kells, travelling from Donegal. . We were three people and had no problem booking in early. Although we booked one double and one single rooms, we were given two ensuite double rooms, Marie, the hostess, could not do enough for us. We were home in the early hours, and rose early for breakfast. After freshening up with a shower, we went for breakfast where we met other people, from the UK, who were attending the same wedding. We had an excellent breakfast, and enjoyed a long most enjoyable conversation with the other guests. It was mid-day when we left for for journey back to Donegal. All of the guests had praise for Marie, the hostess, and her husband Tom, who who told us of his early summer holidays at the Gaelteach, with the O’Donnell family during his early school holidays.
The entire trip was most enjoyable, and we will be back to Birchwood. B&B
Thank you
Stacy

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet.. no traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Stacy.

Your family were wonderful, friendly people. I find this is general among Donegal
people. We try to get away for a weekend when we can, and will stay at B&B's
anywhere from Donegal town, around to Dunfanaghy. We have never stayed in
a poor one. In any case, we would certainly be happy to see your family again.
I did stay at Rannafast/ Annagry when I was at college. Oddly, our teacher was
a fir gael named Peadar O'Donnel, who passed away just a few years ago. He
was a fluent Irish speaker, and it was his tuition that helped me get good results
in the Irish language at college exams.

agus fuair mé Fáinne Óir

We were delighted to meet you and your family, and would be pleased to meet you again.

Slainte duit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

From the moment we arrived, we were treated as if we were family. As we drove up, Marie came out to meet us, showed us around and how everything worked, and answered every question we had about Kells and the area.

Our room was a large en suite room, with king size bed. The bed was exceptionally comfortable with freshly laundered snow white linen.
We had multi channel TV, both Irish and Satellite, and also excellent strength free WiFi, with which I kept in touch with home.
Next morning, a breakfast menu was presented to us, and we chose to have a full breakfast each. That was a mistake - in the morning when we went to the dining, and were presented a 'full' breakfast! Choice of muesli, cereals, juices, large pot of tea, lots of fruits (oranges, bananas, etc) with yoghurts and then the main course, two sausages two eggs, beans, lashings of bacon and toast. And everything extremely well presented and cooked. Because we ate so much we were unable to eat for the rest of the day.
Needless to say we chose to have a lighter breakfast on our second morning there.
I wish all B&B’s were as good.
We HIGHLY recommend BIRCHWOOD B&B
Carol B

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Dear Carol.

Thank you for your kind words. Your tour of the West of Ireland, with visits to
Donegal, Westport in Mayo, Galway and the Burren in Clare, sounded very
interesting.

We were pleased deceided to visit and stop off in Kells. You did very well to get
to see the High Crosses of Kells, St. Columkilles house, and the Book
of Kells, then on to Newgrange and Trim Castle in your few days here.
It was a lot to see in a short time.

I hope you enjoyed your later visit to London and Paris, and had a safe trip home to
Sydney.

Thanks a million.

Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
1.8 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
10.0 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
9.6 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Virginia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Teltown House B&B
Teltown House B&B
#4 of 19 in Navan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
9.1 mi away
Loughcrew Megalithic Hostel
Loughcrew Megalithic Hostel
#1 of 1 in Oldcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
10.0 mi away
Meadow View B&B
Meadow View B&B
#3 of 19 in Navan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood B&B

Property: Birchwood B&B
Address: 24/25 Balrath Wood, Kells, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood Bed and Breakfast is a modern farmhouse, at Balrath, Kells, in the heart of county Meath, Ireland. Birchwood has five en-suite rooms, and one standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Birchwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing