We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Silence is Golden - Golden"”
Review of Birchwood B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Birchwood B&B
Ranked #6 of 7 Kells B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed at this wonderful family run B&B while visiting family for a New Years gathering. The
owners are really helpful and polite. The rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. The
bathroom was fully tiled, had a good shower and a heated towel rail.

Our dressing table had a flat screen TV, fast internet access, and ample sockets to plug in
my laptop, and charge my phone.

Our bed (queen size) was very comfortable, with perfectly clean white linen.

Birchwood is located on a working farm. The house is modern. It's quiet, we slept very well,
as they say "Silence is Golden".

There was a good choice for breakfast, with a variety of fruit to choose foom.

The B&B is on a nice quiet road, absolutely no noise, perfect for a sound sleep.

I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed at this B&B as it was recommended by a friend who stayed several times before. The owners were very nice and welcoming. I stayed in a clean, neat room with en suite shower. A full breakfast was served in the breakfast room and I really enjoyed it. The house was quiet and had lovely a view. Many thanks for your hospitality. Will recommend and will call again.

Room Tip: higher floor quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Great hospitality given by Tom and Marie. felt very welcome. Great location for visiting the monuments came as a family with 3 kids, owners helped with our needs. Thank you very much will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marcolfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Was greeted pleasantly at door and shown to a lovely spacious room. Looked out of the very large windows onto the farm land full of sheep and their lambs. Peace at last. Just what I needed. I was surprised that the owner of the b&b was so helpful showing me directions and also telling me some of the history of the places I wanted to go. Even printed some bits out for me. Lovely cooked breakfast and plenty of tea. Would book again and will be next year. The owners Tom and Marie couldn't do enough for me. Also feel in love with the donkeys!

Room Tip: Spacious light clean rooms. Peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you, Anita, for your kind words. We do our best to please, and
take all your comments to heart.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you.

Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

cobwebs on entry at front door for starters,dead flies galore ,windows would not close properly in bedroom window and bathroom window.damp smell all round shower not working 45 euros your having a laugh.feel free to book if you want a terrible experience.should have never stayed lino on bathroom floor though i was in the 1970s .DISASTER oh and we didnt want any breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandra140674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Sandra.

***You did not stay here at all. ***

It was two men golfers that occupied the two double ensuite rooms.
They would not share a room.

Obviously their gripe is about money!!

*** These guys UNDER PAID by 10 Euro !! ***

If they had booked and shared a room with two beds they would
have saved 40 Euro.

Spelling. One fly is spelled “fly”, and more than one “flies”

“curtins” are spelled “curtains”

“accomadation” is spelled “accommodation”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Dirty, damp, cobwebs & flys everywhere. Horrendous shower, toilet didn't flush, walls like paper. Curtins didnt pull properly. Just the worst accomadation experience I ever had. Ended up over paying as they has no change to give us back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Walterh777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

You prebooked two double rooms for single occupancy. We only
have double and double and single bed rooms. You were told the
cost would be 45 Euro per room per night. You would not share

You arrived about 8pm. were shown to your rooms. Next morning
you both left at 7.15 am to play golf, paid for the night, and declined
breakfast saying you had to tee off early.

*** You gave no indication of anything annoying you ***
*** You asked to stay a second night. ***

You returned from a pub at 12 midnight, and went to your room.
Just as the previous night, you got up at 7am.

I happened to be up, and met you as you were going out the door.
You paid the balance due, less ten Euro that you were short.

*** You still gave NO indication of any problems ***
*** We do our best to rectify any problems that may arise ***
*** but we must be told about them ***

The FLY - There was a dead fly on the window cill. Our apologies.
He got a decent funeral.

Partition Walls – are 4 ½” timber stud, at 12” intervals, with ½”
Gyplath board plastered both sides, and the cavity stuffed with 6” of
soundproofing.

Toilet – is Syphonic for silent flushing. The bowl fills then syphons
out

Floor Coverings – we use carpet on bedrooms and hospital quality, easy
clean lino on the upstairs bathrooms.

Cobwebs on front door. – Our outside light stays on all night for
late comers. It attracts flies, which in turn attracts spiders. They spin
cobwebs to catch flies. This happens every night. It’s the nature
of the beast.

*** As I said before, we can only rectify problems if we are told
*** about them

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This former farmhouse is in an ideal location, situated a little outside of Kells. Although I had no vehicle with me, I rarely needed to take a taxi for the 10 minute drive into the town centre, as there was usually someone going in that direction. The owners, Tom and Marie Clarke, and their staff, were absolutely lovely and couldn't do enough to help out with transport and tailor the generous, hearty Irish breakfasts to individual needs (Tom even provided soya milk for me).
The rooms looked over countryside, and were completely peaceful. The bedroom and bathroom were both large, spotless, light- filled and airy.
Birchwood is excellent value for money, and I fully agree with the previous 5 star reviews.
If any traveller is looking for the iconic Irish farmhouse characterised by hospitality, warmth and good conversation, then I would thoroughly recommend staying at Birchwood with the Clarke family.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie C, Owner at Birchwood B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Rosalind.


By now you must be settled back into your routine. You are very lucky to
have an occupation that fits in with your interests and hobbies. Everybody
who met you spoke about your nice personality, and how nice mannered
you are. You have generated an interest in literature in our son, Brian.

We wish to say a special “thank you” for being so thoughtful by having
a mass said at Clarendon St. for me. Both of us have had a lot of
hospital visits since January last. The good news is that I got an all clear,
and only have to have a check up in December. So your prayers were
indeed very helpful. Tom had cataracts removed and will have two more
cardiac procedures over the next month, but the procedure has proved
very successful.

Overall, we have had quite a few visitors, and one couple from between
Macon and Lyon in France. Neither spoke any English, but we got on
fine. They stayed a week and hired bicycles to get around, visiting
Newgrange and Trim castle.

From now on things will get quiet, but we look forward to Christmas.

As I write this, I’m looking at your card, with the picture of reindeer
grazing in the snow at the Phoenix Park in Dublin.

Best wishes.

Tom & Marie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kells hotels
1.8 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
684 reviews
1 mi away
Fourwinds Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Grangeclare Paddocks
Grangeclare Paddocks
#1 of 3 in Kells
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Tom Blake House
#3 of 7 in Kells
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood B&B

Address: 24/25 Balrath Wood, Kells A82 RK29, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kells
Price Range: £53 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Birchwood Bed and Breakfast is a modern farmhouse, at Balrath, Kells, in the heart of county Meath, Ireland. Birchwood has five en-suite rooms, and one standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Birchwood B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing