We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at White Gables” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Gables Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White Gables Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 7 Kells B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at White Gables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I spent 5 nights at White Gables in Kells with my bf while visiting Co.Meath.
Gemma is a wonderful young lady with a friendly attitude and unreprochable skills for B&B and food! Breakfast was big and delicious, all freshly made and a nice way to a chat with other people around a table.
There is also a lovely sitting room with a door to go out in the garden. All says Ireland here!
Rooms are very clean and nicely furnitured. We had a bathroom on our own just outside the bedroom and that was a great plus. All is very clean, warm and cosy.
I highly suggest you stay at White Gables if you happen to visit Kells and the aftermaths.
Hugs Gemma

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

Gemma McGowan runs a fantastic B&B. The rooms were warm, welcoming and extremely clean. White Gables is conveniently located in the center of Kells. Everything is in walking distance.

Gemma gives her full attention to every need and request of her guests. She has a warm and inviting way with people and guest become one of her extended family. I have strict dietary requirements due to allergies and she really took great care with them. I am also a coffee addict, she provided amazing gourmet french press coffee for me 24 and 7.

I'm an International Event Manager from New York City who has traveled extensively for business therefore the accommodations I have stayed in were often 5 stars so my expectations are high. . All of them can learn from a thing or two from Gemma in regards to service, White Gables exceeded my expectations.. Gemma goes above and beyond to care for her guests.

Gemma is not only a wonderful hostess but her knowledge of the various sites in the area and her connection to them is inspirational.

If anyone is wondering where to stay in County Meath, look no further than White Gables. I promise you will be happy.

My holiday in Ireland was made special because of her. When you leave you will be sad but you will leave knowing that you made a great friend in Gemma and that her door is always open.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MCaliendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2011

From the moment I stepped into the door, Gemma, this B&B's proprietor was extremely warm and welcoming. This is a beautiful and quaint cottage like B&B with wonderful sleeping rooms. Gemma has thought of everything to provide her guests comfort and convenience. The meals compete with the best culinary chefs! I stayed there as part of a small group of travels to Ireland. The location is central to many historic sites. Staying here was lovely, comfortable and relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AvidBusinessTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

We arrived at White Gables near the end of our trip, and it really felt like stopping in at home! The home is lovely, with a beautiful, huge garden, very comfortable 'living' room, and a relaxed, calming environment. Gemma is an artist in the kitchen! ...as well as in decorating, hospitality, and products. Warm and friendly and bright, this home reflects all of those qualities as well. I can't wait for my next opportunity to visit Ireland, and especially to see Gemma and Donagh again, and to relax in this wonderful place! Treat yourselves......

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsigns62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

I love this B&B. It is cozy and comfortable. The location is great- walking distance from good rstaurants and a short drive from great attractions. Gemma, the owner, is an absolutely wonderful. hostess and chef. I highly recommend White Gables.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlw1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

My husband and I visited with a larger tour. We had a very clean, cheery, pretty, private room with our own private bathroom overlooking the breathtaking garden. Our bedroom window looked out on the High Cross and the street below. We felt right at home, cozy and warm and comfortable. Gemma made the best Irish breakfasts we could have imagined, helping us to experience the Irish culture better than anywhere else we stayed in Ireland after our stay in Kells was over. It was just a short walk up a slight hill to all the shoppes, restaurants, pubs, and attractions that Kells has to offer. My husband and I are particularly interested in cemeteries, and St John's is literally a 2 minute walk away, and we visited it several times throughout our stay. Gemma was very knowledgeable about the history of her B&B and about the town of Kells and surrounding environs, and gave us as much information as we needed. She even performed a blessing for us and sang a gorgeous song at our wedding, which was held at St Kiaran's well, a very short drive out of town. I highly recommend trying out her place and especially the full Irish and full vegetarian breakfasts!! When we visit Ireland again in 2 years, we are definitely staying with Gemma again!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank duchesswendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

We travel to Ireland twice a year and White Gables B&B is always on our tour. Gemma McGowan is a wonderful guide and incredible hostess. The food is always a highlight and our travelers look forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbanshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kells hotels
0.0 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.8 mi away
Birchwood B&B
Birchwood B&B
#6 of 7 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
4.6 mi away
Grangeclare Paddocks
Grangeclare Paddocks
#1 of 3 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
No photo provided
Kells Hostel
#2 of 3 in Kells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to White Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: White Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: White Gables Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Kells
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Gables is a beautiful old town house, rich in history and nestled in the heart of the historic town of Kells in Co. Meath. Run by local lassie Gemma McGowan, who is avid that the traveler experience something truly unique when they visit. We offer a wide range of activities including mystical tours of sacred sites, fishing tours with local experts and traditional music/storytelling evenings topped off with delicious home cooked meals and packed lunches. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing