We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is a very well run family hotel, situated in the middle of Kells town. Easy access to The Hedford Golf club and all heritage sights. The restaurant in the hotel Vanilla Pod is exelent and the bar next door The Keltic Bar is also very good.

Room Tip: all rooms are good and beds are very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shergar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your feedback of your stay at the Headfort, we are delighted to know that you found the hotel as a great base to discover the region and also as a golfing base, we hope that you will return on your next visit to Kells, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    152
    41
    21
    17
See reviews for
137
192
12
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just back from an enjoyable weekend of golf at Headfort with 10 friends. The hotel staff were friendly and the food was great, as was the service considering the fact that there was a wedding on each of our days and the hotel was very busy.
Would have given a higher rating but for the fact we ended up sharing 3 to room that was only built for two and it was very cramped As it turned out we did not have any golf clothes to dry but if we had I think it would have been very difficult. We were given a small refund which helped to pay for Friday's dinner so not a total loss.The hotel is also noisy even on the third floor.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear James, Many thanks for your review of your Golfing Weekend in COnjunction with Headfort Golf Club, we are glad to know that you enjoyed both food and hospitality. We apologise that your accommodation was tight, it was one of the busiest weekends of the year and we assure you that if you return that we can allocate you some of our family rooms or twin share only on your request. We did reflect it in your rate on the weekend and with regards to golfing laundry, we luckily have our own in house laundry and are only too happy to help golfers out on request, its part of our golfing service! We do hope to see you back again and if you would consider another golfing break or otherwise, please do contact myself driect and I will look after all of your requirements, Kind Regards,Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Had our wedding there on 4th may in hotel. Was amazing. Couldn't fault one thing from wedding planner to food.
Place is superb, food was amazing. Staff were excellent. Wedding planner joanne was excellent. Would highly recommend

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Stuart, Many thanks for taking the time to review your wedding experience here at the Headfort, it means alot to us that your wedding met all of your expectations and more and that all of your guests felt the same way, wishing you the very best for the future, thank you for choosing the Headfort! Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We spent a weekend in the Hotel with 38 friends from the Erne Vintage Car Club. We had a fantastic stay in the Hotel from the moment we arrived.The staff were excellent ,the food was 5 star ,our rooms were spotlessly clean and the management were more than helpful to make our stay a wonderful weekend. Many thanks to Management and Staff .
Roy, Erne Vintage Car Club Enniskillen.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Roy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Roy, Many thanks to you and the Erne Vintage Car Club for reviewing your weekend with us in Kells, it was a pleasure to have you with us and I hope that you will consider us for a return visit in the near future, many thanks for your wonderful feedback, it is greatly appreciated, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I cannot recommend the Headfort Arms highly enough. If I could sum up our experience I'd say; staff were really thoughtful and price was very reasonable and it was excellent value. We had our wedding reception here and the staff really went the extra mile to make it special. In fact they were one step ahead of us on everything and they just had a lovely manner and rapport. No one seemed flustered or stressed, very relaxed, children were safe and not made to feel like a hassle. It was a small wedding meal in the evening and it was everything we hoped it would be, actually it was better. Firstly when we went for a visit and to have a look around the staff were so nice that we booked right away. Edel sorted everything out there and then. We wanted a casual relaxed atmosphere so we used a suite off the main lounge which on the day they had dressed beautifully. We had drinks in the lounge and were able to watch the football then dinner in the suite. The meal was great, flexible and diverse. All the kids ate their meals and vegetarians were catered for. After our meal tables were reserved in the lounge for us and later on the night chips and sausages were brought out to us even though we hadn't requested them. The entertainment in the lounge was perfect for our guests and the atmosphere we wanted. We had both families staying at the hotel. From singles to couples to families with three children. Rooms were comfortable, clean, modern and spacious. Although we just requested a normal room we were given a gorgeous bridal suite with hot tube! And a bottle of champagne was waiting for us! The following morning breakfast was included, really tasty croissants, scones, fruit, full Irish and a cuppa. Again catered for all tastes & diets, everyone including children were looked after. And after all that the price was reasonable, value and quality for your money.
Only minor complaint is that those with rooms over the nightclub had trouble sleeping and parking was tight.

Room Tip: Book a room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback regarding your wedding experience with us here at the Headfort, we really appreciate your positive comments which have been passed to all of the team and especially Edel who looks after couples so personally. We hope to see you back to us in the near future, thank you so much for choosing the Headfort, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Just over having our wedding here the weekend had an absolutely amazing time all thanks to this wonderful establishment! The food,staff and Venue was like nothing we could have imagined. We stayed over the two nights both rooms and all the other wedding guests stayed in were fabulous rooms! Had a family meal within the blackwater from the vanilla pod outstanding meal and again staff were brilliant! The courtyard is an brilllant venue for a small function like we had also!! All and all what a hotel words cant describe.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mandy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Mandy, Many thanks for your wonderful feedback on your Wedding Experience here at the Headfort, it is grealy appreciated and your comments have been passed to all of the team. It was great to have a mention also of the Courtyard which is prooving really popular for Wedding After Parties also, we hope to see you return to the Headfort again in the near future, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an absolutely brilliant night at the Headfort arms, staff were so attentive and friendly, beautiful food, nothing to much trouble, the rooms were lovely, a really good night thank you so much - we thoroughly enjoyed Causey farm, such a brilliant package, the farm has loads of activities to do a laugh from start to finish!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Sarah, Many thanks for your wonderful comments regarding your Hen Weekend with us at the Headfort, we are delighted to know that you really enjoyed the package in conjunction with Causey Farm! We would love to welcome you back in the future and if you would like something different we have a selection of great unique fun packages available, Kind Regards, Olivia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
567 reviews
12.5 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
884 reviews
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Property: Headfort Arms Hotel
Address: Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing