We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Headfort Arms Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

On arrival at the Hotel we were met by a manager we were a bit early so we went to the bar. It was a fine big bar with plenty of seating.When it was time for the wedding we were escorted to a special room done up to the nines. There were lots of flowers beautiful table cloth all the chairs were covered and set out like a small church. After service we left the room and returned to the bar. we had not time to get comfy and were called for our meal the table was BEAUTIFUL and we had our own waiters it was a great evening. I would like to thank Trish she was great and helped in every way.

Room Tip: Did not stay the night in this hotel stayed with our Daughter house nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BARNEYPIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Many thanks for your feedback of a recent Civil Ceremony Wedding here at the Headfort. We were delighted to know that you enjoyed the occasion and your feedback has been passsed to staff especially Trish whom you mentionned, many thanks for your positivity and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, Kind Regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

40 of us arrived by bus on Saturday the 26th of July for one nights stay b@b and dinner. My sister booked this hotel last September for her husbands surprise 60 th birthday for the 40 of us this included two teenagers and three children 6,7 and 9. I went down with my sister to hotel last September to make the booking, on the day a lovely girl at reception gave us two key cards so we could go and look at the rooms as my sister was paying for every one. On making the booking the girl said there was no other booking in for the date Saturday 26 th of July 2014. A few weeks before we where to go my sister received a phone call asking could she give back two rooms as there was a wedding booked in and they where short of rooms. My sister said yes as we where all family and we could share rooms. She was also asked could every one be seated by 7.30 pm for dinner which she also said was no problem.
On arrival we checked in and informed there was two hen parties booked in, a wedding and a christening. We where then told that two rooms could not be used as the hens had left them in a mess, so five of us said we would share a room. We could not fault the staff on the reception desk doing the check in they where very helpful and friendly. We all then went of for the day to Causey Farm and had a great time. We all met back down in the bar for 7.15pm for dinner at 7.30pm, by 8.00 pm we still had not been called. We asked what was delay and where told that the Christening party where not finished. We where then offered another room which was the Disco area,we declined this and said we would wait for the room we had booked. It was after 9.00pm when we where seated for our dinner with the Christening Party been told they had to leave the room. They where not happy and our party was not happy. It took till 9.30 pm for our order to be taken, the children where falling asleep, every one was hungry and tired from waiting so long, the wine that was ordered for the tables was not there we had to ask, the drinks for the children we had to ask for them also, the good was taken out of the day and all the planning that had gone in to it. We did complain to a lady called Ann who was lovely and did all she could for us. I must stress it was not the fault of any one member of staff for the delay it was due to a number of factors, over booking, not enough staff to cater for guests and locals alike, staff not trained to serve and what seemed to be no over all manager on duty to over see the smooth running of each party.
The next morning when my sister was paying the bill the receptionist apologise for the delay with dinner and about the rooms. The hotel did give my sister a refund for the five of us sharing the room and also €10 off each meal.
Over all the rooms where clean and staff friendly, the over all fault was taking to many bookings for the same date and not enough trained staff to cope with demand.

B.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Benmadigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Ms. Madigan, many thanks for your review which was fair and constructive. We regret the circumstances of the birthday party and your feedback is very important to us. The full situation has been reviewed amongst the team here whom take it personally when we don't manage to met or exceed guest expectations, especially when it involves a family milestone occasion. We feel that your overall experience was an accumulation of several attributes which some were unavoidable from our perspective and others we hold full responsibility for. We acknowledge that when the party was booked over 12 months ago there was nothing else in the diary for the day but with the nature of peak season it transpired to be possibly the busiest weekend of the year with a wedding, christenings, hens, golfers and of course your party which was important to us. It was unfortunate that the Christening before you arrived two hours late and therefore had a domino affect on the full evening. As you stated, Ann, the manager on Duty did her very best to accommodate the situation and it is regrettable that we were not in a position to manage it better. We recognise that the level of business compromised the personal attention that we take such pride in at the Headfort and for that we apologise and would welcome the opportunity to have you back on another occasion. As you did kindly state, the experience was reflected with a considerable gesture on check out but we recognise that this does not compensate for disappointment. Thank you for your positive comments regarding other areas of the hotel, again this is taken on board. We will be in touch with you personally as it is our absolute goal to welcome our guests back on a positive note to our family run hotel, yours sincerely, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed just one night recently and had a very nice time. The woman who checked us in seemed a bit harried and could have used some help; she was the only one on duty during normal check-in time. The room was modern, clean and well-furnished, but a bit hot. The view out our window was of the top of a building. It was nice to have secure parking in a private lot behind the hotel since on-street parking in Kells is not free. We ate in the attached Vanilla Pod restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and found the service and the food to be quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alreadypacked1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your positive experience with us at the Headfort. Apologies that you arrived at the same time as a group check in and felt it was hurried but sometimes this goes with the territory, I'm glad to know that you found the rest of your stay a pleasant one and we would really like to have you return in the future, Kind Regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While attending the Hay festival in Kells I had the pleasure of spending a night here with my family. Thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. Breakfast service could've been faster. Severeal customers left before being seen to and there were no Coco Pops. My girls are only allowed have them whenthey stay in a hotel, so their absence is always sorely missed!

Romm was great and the mix of old and new works well. Should be truly grateful to Hay Festival for bringing crowds in their drction who might not have occasion to visit Kells normally.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MairinAnCheathruRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Many thanks for your kind remarks regarding your stay with us during the Hay Festival, it was a great weekend for the entire area and we are hugely supportive of the festival. We take on board your comments regarding breakdfast service. If staying again, if you mention in advance your preference for 'Coco Pops' at breakfast time it would be our absolute pleasure to have them for you, we hope to welcome you back in the future, kind regards Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed here on a 3 day midweek break and we both loved it.All the staff were lovely and make you fell at home.We ate there on all 3 nights and the food was excellent as was the service.The weather was fantastic so sitting in the beautiful garden with a cold drink was so relaxing.Our room was lovely as was the bathroom with a roll top bath.The breakfast was cooked to order and was great.We are looking forward to returning in the near furture.Many thanks to Caroline for posting my kindle to me which i left behind in the room.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front off the hotel and there was road noise so will ask for a room at the back nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BRENDAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Brendan, Many thanks for your great feedback relating to your three night family break with us at the Headfort, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and your comments have been passed to all of the team here. We look forward to welcoming you back to us again, we have some great Halloween and Christmas specials too if you would like to return and enjoy some of the activities in the area, kind regards Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Stayed here on Sunday night on way to Kilkenny and we had a lovely carvery dinner . Staff on reception really nice . As we were not happy with our accomodation in Kilkenny we cut our visit short and booked back in to Headfort Arms again and right from reception to when we booked out today 31 july we had a fabulous time and the best en-suite room I have ever been in.

Room Tip: ROOM 1 as there was a concert in function room and we never heard a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Mary, thanks so much for taking the time to review your recent stays with us in Kells, we were delighted to see you return to us and glad that we made your break a relaxing one and that you enjoyed our food and hospitality. Feedback like this is really important to us as a team and hugely appreciated, we hope to welcome you back in the near future, thanks again and kind regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked a two night break with Grab one deal, Great value 2 nights B/B with afternoon tea what a suprise to get lovely food & Champange in the nice surroundings, Rooms a good size Beds very cosy & best pillows we have ever slept on, Well done,& a choice of dining in the hotel was a great bonus, will be back again, Thanks for a lovely break,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank george q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olivia D, Owner at Headfort Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind review of your recent Golfing Break with us in Kells! We were delighted to know that you sampled different areas of the hotel during your stay and enjoyed all, we hope to see you return to us again in the near future, keep an eye out on our website for great Golfing Specials with our Golfing partner Headfort Golf Club, kind regards, Olivia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kells
12.5 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
13.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
9.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
1,555 reviews
9.7 mi away
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Lakeside Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Virginia
574 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headfort Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headfort Arms Hotel

Address: Headfort Place, Kells, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Kells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kells
Price Range: £71 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Headfort Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heritage Town Kells, the Duff family celebrate 40 years at the helm of one of Meath’s hospitality landmarks in the Heart of the Boyne Valley of Ireland. The hotel boasts 45 bespoke rooms, Headfort Spa Rooms, Vanilla Pod Award Winning Restaurant, Cafe Therese Casual Dining Cafe, Kelltic Bar Traditional Pub, Banquesting Facilities and beautiful gardens . Those years of commitment to excellence was recognized not only by its Gold Medal Award for Best Three-Star hotel Ireland, but also most recently at the Kells Chamber of Commerce Business Awards, when receiving the award of ‘Best Customer Service’in Business. ‘We were delighted with this award said Olivia, as it is thanks to all of our loyal team of staff who offer the Headfort welcome and service to our guests, old and new’. The Headfort is the life and sole of the Kells social scene. It offers so much to its visitors in it’s selection of outlets from the Award Winning Vanilla Pod Restaurant to the thriving Kelltic Bar and the Headfort Spa Rooms which focuses on using only Irish products. According to the Duff family, it’s not easy doing business at the moment, price competition is relentless and the customer has never had such choice but the Headfort is committed to providing value, supporting local producers and retaining the personal touch on every guest encounter. The hotel is delighted to report an upsurge in bookings for 2013, according to Vincent ‘the customer really wants the personal touch, the knowledge that you are there on their special day and that family run atmosphere, they have been and tasted the large branded chain hotels and we feel there is a return to good Irish hospitality and a guarantee of freshly prepared local food’ As a member of Irish Country Hotels, the 26 Independent hotel marketing group, the Headfort is one of only 26 hotels in Ireland and the first service industry in Ireland to receive the accreditation of being ‘Guaranteed Irish’. This is demonstrated in the hotels commitment to using local suppliers, employing local and using local and Irish produce at every opportunity. In this way the hotel serves as an even greater support to the local economy and there is no doubt that this is what the customer wants for the future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Headfort Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing