We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Number One on My List”
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 9 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CA
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still Number One on My List”
Reviewed 27 July 2011

I just returned from the Highfield House for a four night stay after staying with Geraldine and Eddie in the summer of 2010.

My stay was amazingly perfect in every way. Again, Geraldine and Eddie did everything they could to make my stay as comfortable as possible.

The breakfasts were delicious . . . eggs cooked perfectly and Geraldine's scrumptious scones. (Nowhere in the U.S. have I been able to find scones that measure up to hers.) The food is even served on heated plates to keep everything warm.

The entire house is warm and inviting . . . I absolutely love the decor. It's a gorgeous house. The location is perfect. You can walk to the village and find several restaurants. I recommend a pub with great atmosphere named Brogan's . . . had a yummy dinner there.

The town of Trim is such a picturesque place. I enjoyed taking walks along the path next to the Boyne River . . . everyone I met in the village was friendly and helpful.
(If you go to Trim, don't miss the 12:30 mass at St. Patrick's. The soloists who sing at this mass have voices that are unforgettable!)

Without a doubt, Highfield House is a little slice of heaven. Thank you for sharing your warm Irish hospitality!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilnirish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    378
    66
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
117
242
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Beautiful home with a great location close to town and the castle. Mattress left a bit to be desired. However, the hostess provided us with early breakfast so we could make our flight. Excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIreland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We selected this B&B for its convenient location for exploring the many heritage sites in the New Grange area. Highfield House is located on a lovely landscaped lot just off the main road in Trim. There are large windows with great views and we appreciated the excellent heating system when we encountered a cool rainy day. There is a very attractive garden in back that would be perfect for sitting with a glass of wine and nibbling on some of that wonderful Irish cheese. We were greeted upon our arrival with coffee and fresh scones; a lovely touch. The breakfasts were delicious - as seems to be the norm in all Irish B&Bs! Breakfast without scones and Irish soda bread will just never be the same!
The location is excellent, a short walk to the main part of town and only a two minute walk to Trim Castle. Trim Castle is a massive structure dating back to 1172 and the guided tours are informative and entertaining; not to be missed. We also hired a local tour guide by the name of Derek Smith to make the most of our last day in Ireland. Derek picked us up at our B&B and took us to numerous sites, some on the general tour circuit, and some gems that the tour buses tend to neglect. Derek is a local lad and knows his history and was a most efficient and enjoyable guide.
This B&B is slightly different from the ones we generally choose. Highfield House has antiques, decorative pillows, ornate mirrors, etc. Our room had little in the way of practical surfaces and drawers. That was not a big issue and many guests would have delighted in the room. The only disappointment was the sad condition of our bed. It was lumpy and uncomfortable. It might have been caused by the lack of the box spring but, more probably, was due to the polyester pillow top that overlaid the mattress. We did our best to push and pull the pillow top to even out the surface but to no avail; a poor sleep and sore backs were our reality. Hopefully, the bed situation will be rectified because, in all other respects, we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kw37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, AB
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Extra helpful hosts who went out of their way to help us. Food was excellent, with wide variety of foods that were well presented and well prepared. Room was nice and comfortable.

We highly recommend this very well run B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LGH_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Very impressive entrance and exterior, matched by the glamorous interior. Beautiful grounds and flowers everywhere- overflowing hanging baskets and window boxes. Our host, Geraldine, extremely helpful, informative,friendly and charming.Great location, so close to Trim castle and a short walk to the center of town. Great base from which to explore the site of the battle of the Boyne, Bru Na Boinne and the hill of Tara. Close to Dublin so a good location for a first or last night out from Dublin. Loved our evening stroll along the river path out to the ruins of the cathedral. This was our favourite and best B&B experience in 2 weeks in Ireland and then a week in England. Ranks as one of our best B&B experiences and value ever. My husband was sure that I'd read the rate wrong!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diwaldo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

We received a welcoming reception upon arrival, with fresh baked scones and tea. The B & B itself is beautifully decorated. We stayed in the family room suite. It was beautiful and roomy. The breakfast in the morning was fabulous, especially the fresh bacon and sausage. Geraldine provided my 5 year old daughter with some tasty treats for the Trim Donkeys that live across the street. She really enjoyed giving them a snack. The owners were very friendly and accomodating. The bathroom was ensuite and spotless. The town of Trim is a great location, especially if you are starting your tour of Ireland. You can easily walk to the castle, abby, and Sheep's Gate. The B&B is right next to a beautiful river walk that you can take to a ruined abby about 10-15 minutes walk away. It was a stunningly beautiful setting. We loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lifesabtthejourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

The price is very good, and everything in the town (the castle, the main business district)is in easy walking distance, including the path along the river, our favorite part of Trim. Magical view out our room window of the ruins in town, all lit up at night. Parking right outside the door. Hostess was friendly and gave us good suggestions for food and drink. Landscaping around the front very beautiful. Breakfast was quickly prepared and top quality, good choices on the cereal/fruit buffet and the hot food menu had all you would expect. A few drawbacks, rooms are small, bathroom and shower tiny, mattresses a little lumpy but we did sleep well. Everything exceptionally clean. Walls a little thin in terms of TV noise from other rooms, could see how this would be a problem on a busy night. Location is right at a busy intersection, so early morning traffic noise was a negative.

Room Tip: Front rooms noisy in morning but good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NashTNtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
640 reviews
6.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
881 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Property: Highfield House
Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing