We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little guesthouse” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highfield House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield House
Ranked #2 of 10 Trim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
142 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice little guesthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Clean, good location, nice choise for breakfast and a friendly owner.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lomaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    66
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
106
227
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed for two nights here and had a fantastic time! We had been traveling for quite sometime and when we arrived, our host gave us tea and scones! It was fantastic! The house is amazingly decorated and felt as though we were staying in an 19th century home. We had fantastic conversations with our fellow travelers at the large breakfast table and thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkgirl831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Highfield House was perfect for our stay in Trim. Geraldine was the perfect hostess and provide a great recommendation for dinner in Trim and what to do in the area. B&B is within walking distance of the castle and everything in Trim. Breakfast was yummy and a great start ot our day in Trim. Thank you,
Laurie, Bill, Emily & Aimee

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lamgoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband, children (ages 5 and almost 3) stayed here for 2 nights and were very happy with everything about it. The rooms and common areas were very nicely appointed. Everything was very clean. The grounds, with garden and outdoor seating area, were particularly lovely. The owner was friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was extensive and delicious.

Just one small negative. While I found the bed we had very comfortable, my husband thought it was terribly uncomfortable. I have no explanation for this discrepency in our perceptions!

The town of Trim was really pleasant, small and quiet with nice walks by the castle and along the river. It was also very convenient for visiting Newgrange and for getting to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamoftrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antrim
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We stayed here with friends for eight days for a world wide golf championship. Its a beautiful house with wonderfully decorated. Friendly, very clean and on site parking. As the golf started at 0830 there were many mornings Geraldine and her husband got up to do 6.30am breakfasts with out fus (alot of B&Bs refused this request) and whether it was 6.30am or 8.30am, the breakfast was the same good quality. They were so kind and helpful to all of us. We took up 6 rooms and I saw all of them and they were all different sorts and sizes, so bound to have what you require. This was actually our second stay here, having stayed for another golf do about 8yrs ago and we would return again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Just explain exactly in detail what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeryHappyStayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

I just returned from the Highfield House for a four night stay after staying with Geraldine and Eddie in the summer of 2010.

My stay was amazingly perfect in every way. Again, Geraldine and Eddie did everything they could to make my stay as comfortable as possible.

The breakfasts were delicious . . . eggs cooked perfectly and Geraldine's scrumptious scones. (Nowhere in the U.S. have I been able to find scones that measure up to hers.) The food is even served on heated plates to keep everything warm.

The entire house is warm and inviting . . . I absolutely love the decor. It's a gorgeous house. The location is perfect. You can walk to the village and find several restaurants. I recommend a pub with great atmosphere named Brogan's . . . had a yummy dinner there.

The town of Trim is such a picturesque place. I enjoyed taking walks along the path next to the Boyne River . . . everyone I met in the village was friendly and helpful.
(If you go to Trim, don't miss the 12:30 mass at St. Patrick's. The soloists who sing at this mass have voices that are unforgettable!)

Without a doubt, Highfield House is a little slice of heaven. Thank you for sharing your warm Irish hospitality!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilnirish3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Michigan
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Beautiful home with a great location close to town and the castle. Mattress left a bit to be desired. However, the hostess provided us with early breakfast so we could make our flight. Excellent service.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILoveIreland2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
0.2 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
1.0 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Station House Hotel
The Station House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kilmessan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
2.9 mi away
Boyne View Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield House

Property: Highfield House
Address: Castle Sreet | Trim Co Meath, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highfield House is an elegant 18th-century period residence situated on an elevated site, overlooking Trim Castle and the River Boyne. Located in a perfect position for you to enjoy the magnificent views of medieval Trim, the historic Boyne Valley including nearby Newgrange, Hill of Tara and Bective Abbey. Tastefully decorated with antiques, art and history, you can expect a relaxing and friendly place to stay. All the bedrooms at Highfield House are en-suite and furnished to a high standard and have been designed to make your stay a comfortable and memorable experience. Family rooms are also available.Conveniently located within 2 minutes walking distance of Trim town and Visitor Centre. Motorist travelling North from Dublin Airport can park in our private car park before visiting the many quaint shops, first class restaurants and magnificent medieval ruins to be found in the immediate area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Highfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield House Hotel Trim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing