We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay”
Review of Trim Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trim Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

After more than a week of B&Bs around Ireland, we decided to stay In the Trim Castle Hotel one night. Excellent choice! Our large, clean and comfortable (almost luxurious) bedroom and bathroom was only 68 Euros total for the two of us. This included a WONDERFUL breakfast and parking in the garage under the hotel. Breakfast included a large and varied buffet, including the freshest, flakiest yummiest pastries plus a variety of other offerings. You could also order from the menu if you chose to and again, all included. The lobby of the hotel is very attractive and the every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gottagetupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear gottagetupandgo

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the Hotel to be good value. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    334
    96
    26
    21
See reviews for
243
535
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I attended a wedding reception at the hotel and found the whole experience to be great. The food was excellent and presented well.
The staff were very friendly and professional and nothing was to much trouble.
The room allocated to us was a great size and spotlessly clean.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Derek G

Thank you for your recommendation we very much appreciate your kind comments.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meath
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We enjoyed a lovely meal in the bar with our 4 year old. They cater for children and to be honest the fish & chips portion for children is lovely plus the portion size is just right. The red thai curry was nice but the portion was on the small side for my husband, probably could have given alittle more for the price you pay, however presentation was nice. I would also recommend the Rhubard Fool for dessert. Prices probably a little too much for bar food if you are working off the bar menu. There is an option for 2 & course meal, they just did'nt appeal to us on the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tashamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Tashamum

Thank you for your review. We have increased the portion size of our curry dish.It was ,as you mentioned, a little on the small side.
We hope to welcome you back soon.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at Trim Castle for just one night as part of a hectic tour of Ireland that had us on the move everyday. We mixed B & Bs with hotels so our experiences were quite varied. However, our rooms (2) at Trim Castle were luxurious and a welcome respite at the end of a long day. They were spotlessly clean, with modern furnishings that made our stay very comfortable. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarlawIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear ImeChicago_IL

Thank you for staying at Trim Castle Hotel and I appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for a wedding and was very impressed with a style and detail in the main areas, the bedrooms were beautiful although you'd have to be careful to keep the curtains pulled at night as there's seating areas outside the windows (3rd floor anyway) :P - would have got an excellent except the hotel charges patrons for using its car park its a small thing but..and I would worry if you stayed here on the night of a wedding you weren't part of as we could hear the music from the 1st floor function room in the 3rd floor - but having said that its a top hotel and of course its views of Trim castle are second to none

Room Tip: If your planning an early night check out if a wedding is on - if so ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdoogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear pdoogon

Thank you for your recommendation, I am delighted that you enjoyed the Wedding celebrations.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

On a recent 2 week trip to Ireland we found ourselves in Trim at the end of the day without a reservation. The staff was very friendly and helpful and didn't balk at showing us the available rooms before we committed. Rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel is located directly across the street from Trim Castle and many of the rooms have wonderful views of it. Large parking garage located under hotel with easy entrance/exit. Hotel food pretty decent. Didn't experience any of the negative issues other reviewers did, but our stay was mid week so no loud events were going on. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pestywestie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear pestywestie

Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Trim Castle Hotel and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Warm Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markham, Ontario
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We, two couples, stayed at this lovely hotel the final night of a great Irish trip. The midweek special was exactly as advertised and met our needs perfectly. Front desk staff gave us a warm welcome and answered all our travel questions. She arranged for a very early continental breakfast to be waiting before we departed. It was a wonderful finale before we flew away.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaverskins24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NoelComer, General Manager at Trim Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Beaverskins24

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments.

Regards

Noel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.1 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Castle Arch Hotel
Castle Arch Hotel
#3 of 3 in Trim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
15.6 mi away
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
Pillo Hotel Ashbourne
#1 of 3 in Ashbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
6.1 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
8.1 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trim Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trim Castle Hotel

Property: Trim Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Trim Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Superbreak UK, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Trim Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing