We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“food disappointing -such a shame”
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Arch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“food disappointing -such a shame”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

stayed last weekend on a grabone voucher not really expecting the red carpet treatment and initally was quite pleased-- staff were welcoming and helpful, room was spotless and spacious and things were looking up and then we decided to have our evening meal - suffice to say it was awful, from starter to dessert and next morning my wife asked for an omelette, to be told a fry was her only option so i'm afraid we took ourselves off to the trim castle hotel and ate there which incidentally was first class so guess where we will stay next time. Sorry Castle arch your food is a big letdown

Room Tip: room only folks eat elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weecleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear weecleo

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I would like to thank you for your positive feedback on our Staff & Accommodation facilities.
In regards to your comments regarding the food, obviously I am very disappointed you did not enjoy the food, I am however surprised you didn't report your issue to our Food Supervisors, to reception or indeed to the Manager either on the Night or on departure.
The Hotel is known locally for our wonderful food and is popular with all of our guests, so on this occasion I feel we must agree to disagree.
Should you wish to discuss this matter in more detail please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you for your feedback.

Shirley Brady
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    112
    43
    18
    21
See reviews for
90
158
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Really nice Hotel, Staff we're very friendly and couldn't have been more help-full. We were upgraded to the bridal suite upon arrival. Both breakfast and lunch were excellent..very tasty! Clean and comfortable! We would defo stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear TimC

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Arch Hotel in the Not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hi Guys my review this time is of my Wedding which took place in the Castle Arch Hotel Trim. From the early days of planning the team of the Castle Arch under the guidance of Shirley Hotel Manager were without question the A Team. I cannot not thank them enough for the care and attention they gave us and made our day the best we ever had. From Linda,Ruth, Theresa, Ian and all the staff we thank you so much. But the best compliments came from our guests who all had great things to say. The food was superb and plenty of it the wine splendid and the atmosphere out of this world. All I can say if your a guest staying overnight or your planning a party or a wedding you have got to go and see them at the Castle Arch Hotel. To me they have the best wedding package and at an affordable price check them out. I can only say it was a home from home. We also recommend there carvery lunch or there evening A La Carte super. Thank you all again see you soon.

Room Tip: They are all warm and cosy. I did have the bridal suite wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear thefullmooney

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Its wonderful to hear such great comments. I will pass them onto the Team.
It was our absolute pleasure to look after such a wonderful couple and your guests on your wedding day.
We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.
Enjoy your Honeymoon!

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed with friends on a dealrush voucher deal,, on October 12th .Fabulous!!! excellent value for money. Hotel is better than the 3* it is advertised as, food was delicious, staff friendly and the town of Trim is well worth a visit. Will defo be booking to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melani C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear Melani C

Thank you for your review.
I very much appreciate all guest feedback and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We Hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This is a great hotel, friendly efficent staff, nice clean rooms, great value and fantastic food, I must mention the lovely waitresses who served us, they were so friendly and accomodating!! Really enjoyed the food, complements to the chef, would not hesitate to stay here again. Trim is also a lovely town, well worth a visit

Room Tip: If you are a sensitive sleeper, maybe not for you as there is a nightclub next door, didn't both...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Dear louise s

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and I will pass your kind word onto my team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

16 of us stayed in the hotel on sat 28th sept. Not a huge hotel but rooms were lovely and clean, we all had lunch when we arrived which was lovely and price ok. We also had a two course meal with a glass of vino as part of the deal we got. Food again was nice, but a 7 euro extra charge for a steak was a bit much. Service was slow but then again we werent in a hurry. It does advertise on the hotel web site that there is entertainment every sat night, but there was none the night we stayed so check when ringing to book. Breakfast was ok, not much variety bar the cooked breakfast, We all enjoyed our stay and thanks to the hotel for putting up such a big group

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear Jenny F

Thank you for your review.
I appreciate all guest feedback and I am delighted that your group enjoyed your stay with us.
I have also addressed some other points you raised in your review.

We hope to see you all again.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My cousin and I recently spent two nights here. We had a lovely big room, with space for a table and chairs and plenty of packing space as well. The room was comfortably and tastefully furnished. The only pity was that the windows looked out on to a slate roof, but that was because we had asked for a quiet room and there was to be a function with live music the one night. We also ate at the hotel on both nights and the food was very good indeed, and reasonably priced too. The staff was very helpful and kind. I just feel that the housekeeping needs to be tightened up a little. Our room did not look immaculate when we returned to it on the second night - pillows still in a pile on the floor etc and the first night there were no bath towels. Despite this little hiccough it was a wonderful stay. The hotel is also in a good location for walking to the castle and then driving to New Grange etc the following day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Dear HelenZA

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor.
I thank you for your positive comments and for bringing any issues you had with the hotel to my attention, these small problems have now been remedied.
Thank you for choosing the Castle Arch Hotel for your visit to Trim.
We look forward to seeing you all again

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
356 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Arch Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Property: Castle Arch Hotel
Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim's most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 21 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing