We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel”
Review of Castle Arch Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Arch Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

OK - so the hotel is a little 'dated' but the friendliness of all the staff make up for this in no small way. Its a good localtion - only a few minutes walk from Trim Castle and the centre of Trim. Room adequate - lovely and warm - and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room - away from nightclub if staying at the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear MarySandyford

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the no too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    110
    43
    16
    21
See reviews for
86
157
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
navan co meath ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

On January 26th we had our annual Young @ Heart Party in the hotel. From start to finish the staff were welcoming efficient helpful & made the party great for all our guests. Food was hot &. tasty. Room was decorated beautifully, warm & ideal for our 100 guests.. We would recommend this hotel for any occasion set in Trim historic town in the shadow of the castle.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear angela_smyth

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your afternoon with us.
It was our pleasure to host such a wonderful event.

I will make sure my team receive your compliments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Castle Arch Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Spent 2 nights at this hotel. After a long flight and drive to Trim, was annoyed to be given a room without a bath on arrival. However on complaining the staff did give us a room with a bath but forgot to mention that it was directly over a loud intermittent motor which was going all night. Had 2 rubbish nights sleep. Would not recommend. Room decor was also very tired with non working lamps. Breakfast was definitely the only redeeming feature.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear MarcNbong

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We strive ensure that all guest requests are answered where possible and I am glad that you were able to move to a more suitable room, however reception could have facilitated another room had they been notified about the noise from the air conditioning unit.
Our bedrooms have also only been renovated with new furnishings so I am disappointed that you feel the room décor was "very tired".

Should you wish to return to the castle arch hotel in the future I would be more than happy to assist you with your booking.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We were a party of eleven for a family gathering on 18th January for Dinner Bed and Breakfast.. Staff very helpful and considerate. Dinner menu was varied and food was of a high standard. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent, cooked to order and served to the table. Would have no hesitaion in recommending this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Peter M

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us.

It was our pleasure to look after you all.
I will pass your kind words to the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next family Gathering.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Had a fantastic time here.lovely staff great room.plenty to do in town.definitely be back,got the deal on line.guided tour of the castle a must,and a short distance to newgrange.if using Jacuzzi Don put in too much bubble bath lol

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Wladimir S

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and had an opportunity to visit some of the wonderful landmarks Trim has to offer.
It was our pleasure to look after you both.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Westport United supporters away for the night for a big game on Sunday 12th January against Trim Celtic.. Food excellent and staff very friendly. Went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Highly recommended to anyone visiting the east of the country

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Marie K

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Guest feedback is essential in order to make sure our customers and guests receive the highest level of service.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you all again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We just had our wedding in castle arch, it was a fab day , staff were very helpful with all the guest , and even provided a children's room with TV and DVD which all the kids loved, food was also amazing ,even came around with seconds! 10/10 for the castle arch will be down soon for another relaxing weekend! Edel & joe.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastleArchHotel, General Manager at Castle Arch Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Edel D

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
It was a pleasure look look after such a wonderful couple and your guests on your special day.
I will pass your kind comments to the team.
We look forward to seeing you both again very soon.

Kind Regards
Shirley Brady
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trim
1.3 mi away
Knightsbrook Hotel & Golf Resort
0.3 mi away
Trim Castle Hotel
8.4 mi away
Newgrange Hotel
Newgrange Hotel
#2 of 4 in Navan
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Ardboyne Hotel
Ardboyne Hotel
#3 of 4 in Navan
353 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bellinter House
Bellinter House
#1 of 4 in Navan
854 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Johnstown Estate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Castle Arch Hotel

Property: Castle Arch Hotel
Address: Summerhill Road, Trim, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Meath > Trim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Trim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Arch Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castle Arch Hotel is nestled in the heart of the heritage town of Trim and over the years has become Trim's most established hotel with its genuine charm the elegance of this hotel will captivate you. The Castle Arch Hotel is surrounded by local history and the famous castle of King John is only a short walk away.With 21 bedrooms the Castle Arch is an ideal venue for a break away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castle Arch Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Castle Arch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing