We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not long enough”
Review of I Filadelfi 1828

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
I Filadelfi 1828
Eumundi, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not long enough”
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent two nights here in summer 2011, our only regret being we did not stay longer. It was quiet with a wonderful view of the lake/dam, and the room spacious with a verandah. The hosts were helpful and friendly and the pool was welcoming in the hot summer weather. I Filadelft was only a 30 minute drive to Paestum where we spent many hours in the museum and at the site.
Gerry and Jill, Australia.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill and Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    7
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
42
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We came to I Filadelfi last month during our holidays in the South Italy's countryside.
It's a lovely and quiet place with a great view on the Alento lake in the National Park of Cilento,very close to the ancient Greek site of Paestum.
Rooms are very clean,confortable,with an amazing view on the lake and on the swimming pool.
Food is delicious especially the home made products form the farm.
The owners are friendly and very helpful in every moment.
We really suggest to spend some days in this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neitzert_igor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

If you want a quiet place to stay outside but close to Killarney this is hands down the one. Wonderful accommodations, scenic views the owner are wonderful hosts and very helpful with suggestions, directions, etc. We chose this accomodation because we needed rest.You'll feel there like at home. The typical ital food was amazing. Lovely swimming pool, nothing negative to say except that it's very difficult to find even with GPS as road works going on all over the place.... But you'll get there in the end!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katykate77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We revisited for 6 days in April 2010 and 5 in August 2010 and both times could not believe the amount the Amendola family had done to improve their country house in the time. They have added hens, pigs and goats to the farm and have planted an orchard and vegetable garden, to add wonderful home cured sausage and seasonal home grown food to the menu. I asked for fresh eggs for breakfast, such a treat. They are now offering riding lessons on Mazanuela, their gorgeous horse! There is now a great BBQ area near the pool, and a changing hut. You just have to ask for suggestions and advice on trips and they will lend you walk books and maps. However, they don't always remember closing times of attractions so it's worth following up at a tourist office before travelling too far. Basically, never be afraid to ask for an alternative dish or something that you are used to from your own country as they are so happy to oblige and you can't expect them to think of all your needs before you do!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruffanreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I Filadelfi is a stunning, family run Country house, newly built on the site of a small farm, with land running towards a tranquil lake, over which all the rooms have blissful views. A find, well worth the short trip inland. All the family could not do enough, or wait to try out their very good English on us. So it was easy to ask for advice and suggestions as to where to go for an amazing, quiet and clean beach, the best ways to visit major tourist attractions of Pompei, Herculaneum, Vesuvius, Paestum and inside knowledge of local attractions and village fetes. They even offered to act as guides and introduced us to friends! So we had a genuine experience of Italian life. All food in the restaurant was local, fresh, beautifully cooked and tasty, served with wine from their vineyard or other choices. Already booked our return visit.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruffanreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashbourne England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2008

I Filadelfa is a place of peace and tranquility. Set in the Cilento National Park this is a place where the most disturbance you will get is the noise of distant Cow Bells. The rooms are well equiped and have lovely big double beds with windows that open onto a balcony with views that can only be describe as amazing. The owners have their own vineyard behind the property, the wine is served as part of your meal if you wish to eat in their restaurant, and they are in the process of building a swimming pool to add to the options available. Don't let the rather long drive put you off travelling to this Country House as you will love it when you get there. We spent 5 night there and could have easily have stayed more. It is perfect for exploring the local coast line, the hill towns not to mention the amazing Paestum.

  • Liked — The location and the great food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank b0bp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agropoli
24.7 mi away
Le Terrazze Residence & Resort
24.8 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#4 of 14 in Agropoli
296 reviews
26.8 mi away
Hotel Il Ceppo
Hotel Il Ceppo
#10 of 14 in Agropoli
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 mi away
Hotel Insonnia
Hotel Insonnia
#7 of 14 in Agropoli
167 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Salerno
Grand Hotel Salerno
#9 of 13 in Salerno
1,888 reviews
26.8 mi away
Dolce Basilico
Dolce Basilico
#10 of 35 in Agropoli
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Filadelfi 1828? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Filadelfi 1828

Property: I Filadelfi 1828
Address: Via Selvitelle SNC, 84053 Agropoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Agropoli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Agropoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to experience the real traditional Italian way of life with a family who all speak excellent English and who have a real love of their own country and their own region of cilento, then have a unique and memorable holiday in this small establishment, the Country house of " I Filadelfi 1828 ", run by Amendola family. It's set in idyllic countryside on an autentic working farm, but the main purpose is to share with their guestes the best that Italy and the region have to offer, culture, nature, true relaxation, activities and real Italian hospitality. Here, in a friendly atmosfer, you can enjoy memorable moments in close contact with the superb natural surroundings of Cilentoshire.The country house has been completaly restructured from an old farmhouse near the medieval village of Cicerale. It has the atmosphere of an old farmhouse, but every modern convenience.We have four confortable bedrooms, every rooms has its nice badroom. All the rooms are equipped with high-tech amenities such as air conditioning, Tv-sat, private telefone and mini bar.Each rooms has a large private sout facing terrace where guestes can relax in the open an enjoy wonderful views of the lake and all the landescape of the wild Cilento area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your I Filadelfi 1828 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing