We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome seafood dinners; 2 nights in a row!”
Review of Vecchio Saracino

Vecchio Saracino
Ranked #5 of 135 Restaurants in Agropoli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$47
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The real home of the Mediterranean diet. Our Cilentan kitchen is closely linked to the Mediterranean diet, a typical nutritional model of the ancient Cilento. The first to notice the benefits of a diet based on the products of the Cilento, and also on his way of life, it was the American Dr. Ancel Keys, who reported in his book "Eat well and stay well, the Mediterranean way" the reasons why these foods, and the way of living, they might makes more long-lived the humans. The main characteristic of the Cilentan cooking is quick, simple and full of passion for tradition. The fresh and selected ingredients, such as fish, vegetables, herbs, grains, olive oil, cheese, wine and fruit together with the famous buffalo mozzarella in the land of Paestum, are, braids, the secret ingredients of the Mediterranean diet. The fresh fish that arrives daily in our kitchens, tuna, anchovies, sardines, amberjack, snapper, bream, gurnard fish, redfish, shrimp, cuttlefish, octopus rock, which is abundant in our seas, is the main product of our dishes.
Evanston, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood dinners; 2 nights in a row!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our B&B owner recommended Vecchio Saracino as the place to go for seafood in Agropoli. It was only a block away from our B&B and his recommendation proved to be spot on. We had an incredible dinner, starting with the octopus and potato salad starter, which my wife and I shared. This was followed by the mixed seafood grill and the black ink pasta with cuddle fish. All were excellent, as well as the wine that our waiter recommended. The next night, we went back to Vecchio with a couple we met at our B&B. We had another memorable, relaxed dinner and our new friends were impressed. The service was superb; our waiter patiently translated the entire menu (in Italian only) to us before we ordered. Heartily recommend Vecchio Saracino if you're looking for seafood in Agropoli!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jondutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    500
    211
    57
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Late night business dinner”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel upstairs and had a late night business discussion over dinner in the downstairs restaurant regarding buffalo mozzarella, which we have made into a 90 days shelf life. Yipee! As the wonderful fresh michelin star type mains continued (portions could be smaller), to flow and I mean everything absolutely delicious with some (a lot) locally made red wine completely natural nothing added which is common in the area. We drank a litre between the two of us and woke up without a head ache. This place makes me feel like Im in Byron Bay in North Australia, a little jewel in Agropoli. Nice rooms too. Friendly staff and welcoming owner. late dinner at 11pm cost 68.00 euro.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Simply The Best”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed at the B&B and ate at the restaurant. Our stay was simply the best we have ever experienced in any of our vacations. The rooms in the B&B were modern, clean, and nicely appointed. The food was exceptional and service was great. Franco and Giovanna were lovely hosts and responded to our every request. We can't wait to return this summer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scientific23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible food!!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

As we stayed in the B&B "Vecchio Saracino" we thought it would be a good idea to go to the restaurant as well.
Except the wonderful service, the food was exceptional, and the wine, made by France, was so tasty, we ordered some more the next day to have in our room.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mirjam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great food. Shame for the slow service.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Nice ambiance, more elegant than the average restaurant in this area, with very polite and welcoming service. Perfect place for a birthday celebration or a special occasion.

Everything we ordered was tasty, fresh and well presented. The home made bread with crunchy crust is great! Do not miss their fresh tuna starter, served with cherry tomatoes, rocket salad and olive oil: it is simple but so delicious. Their pulpo starter with mash is lovely. I was not impressed by the paccheri with pulpo, black olives and pumpkin, but that may just be personal taste.

The service, although extremely polite and friendly, became extremely slow towards the end of the evening. The place was full, yes, but there's quite a few people working there so they should figure out how to keep things going. We had to ask three times for an extra bottle of water, and it finally came after 40 minutes. When it's warm and people are thirsty, not very nice. Also it took a long time to get the bill. Not a reason for me not to recommend this place, of course, but just to make others aware that those otherwise lovely waiters do need a nudge on some occasions!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPerfectBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vecchio Saracino also viewed

Agropoli, Province of Salerno
Agropoli, Province of Salerno
 
Agropoli, Province of Salerno
Agropoli, Province of Salerno
 
Agropoli, Province of Salerno
Agropoli, Province of Salerno
 

Been to Vecchio Saracino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing