We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolutely beautiful property” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Francesco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
San Francesco Resort
Ranked #5 of 61 Agropoli B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An absolutely beautiful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I was expecting this place to be pretty nice based on the pictures I had seen on the website when booking but, having parked up outside what I thought was the property, I was a little apprehensive as it looked very ramshackle. it turned out the hotel is actually not what you see from the road and in fact round the back (I think what I am saying is that if you book don't panic when you get there!) and once you step inside it just takes your breath away. The entire building is incredibly tastefully furnished, crammed full of antiques, and has possibly the most elegant lift I have seen in any building ever. We had a superior seaview room and it was stunning and the sea view itself was to die for. I would definitely recommend paying that little extra for the view. The bed coverings are individual to the rooms and the linens themselves are silky and clearly of a very high thread count (leading my husband to demand the same at home). You will feel like a princess sleeping there. The breakfast room overlooks the sea and you can have drinks on the balcony. The staff don't really speak much English at all, which is a bit of a disadvantage, but they are very lovely and always smiling and happy to help. My husband managed to snap one of the curtain pulls within 5 minutes of arriving and they were truly gracious about this. Parking is just in front of the building and it is a 10 minute walk into town. I would say it is worth making the sacrifice of not being central in order to take advantage of the peace and quiet and also the views. We only stayed in Agropoli for one night following a visit to Paestum but we were really sad to leave as we found even just our short stay very relaxing and we are planning an excuse to go back to the hotel next year.

Room Tip: The whole building is beautiful so you won't be disappointed with whatever you opt for, but if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPANDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    23
    3
    1
    4
See reviews for
11
77
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We spent 18 days in Italy and our 3 day stay at the San Francesco Resort was the highlight of our trip. We wished we could have stayed much longer. The inn is a remodeled monastery and it has been impeccably renovated. Very charming and romantic. Everything has been done first class right down to the smallest detail. Our room had the most incredible sea view and meals were on a lovely terrace overlooking the sea, as well. The service was outstanding and the food very good. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had upgraded to a sea view room. Well worth it. Large terrace with a gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We decided to have our wedding in the beautiful nearby village of Castellabate. From the start the hotel personnel was very helpful in providing support with all the agenda required. When we arrived we were surprised how nice the room is and how quality the wooden furniture is. Of course everything was perfectly clean and the staff kept it this way for all 10 days of our stay. The owners are very helpful and extremely kind and this attitude applies for every member of their staff. In fact due to their kindness and assistance they made our wedding even more beautiful we expected. The resort itself is very nice and I would call it a luxury 4* boutique hotel. We also felt in love with the town of Agropoli and we didn't get used to have walks there every evening. The whole area is very nice and having a car is a big advantage.
If I have to mention any negatives the doors to our room had bad sound isolation and all the noises from the hall were very loud.
All in all we would love to come back again and we will recommend it to anybody without a doubt.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KubaJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

my husband and I have already seen many beautiful hotels but this elegant hotel set in an extraordinary landscape overlooking the sea to two sides and a small port on one side really exceeds our expectations by far
rooms are exquisitely decorated, overwhelming view
normally we go out for dinner but as the terrace faces sunset we already had dinner here twice and the food was outstanding (having already lived in Milan For quite some time my expectations are rather high)
don't miss this great opportunity!

Room Tip: room 13 with a balcony to one seaside and a window to the other seaside is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m11artina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Feeling seriously blessed to have stumbled across this hidden away piece of magic! Decor is incredible, and immaculate. The finish on everything is to an exceptional standard. I cant stop admiring the breakfast room furnishings.

Then the staff..... i want to take them home with me. So quiet and kind! Arriving late, in the middle of a storm, with no other guests around, they raided their fridge for us, made up a romantic candle lit table, and created a vegetarian (on request) 4 course (not on request) meal for us. It was amazing.

Gutted our time is so short here, we saw but didn't get to try the gorgeous looking spa. Would be back in a flash given half the chance!

We love this place!!!

Room Tip: We had to take a sea view room, but having a nosy into some of the other unoccupied rooms, they'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

This small hotel is a hidden jewel. It is not excellent: it is EXCEPTIONAL. The old convent, in which it is located, provides a unique ambiance which is complimented by the distinctive furnishings. The resort is located on top of a cliff and the views are nothing short of spetacular. An ocean view room is a must. The service, the attention to detail, the moment you walk in it is obvious that your needs are their number one priority. We arrived early and hungry so they made us lunch (not a meal they offer). The owners and staff are very friendly without being intrusive. The spa is a nice added touch. I recommend the waterfall massage. Last but perhaps the best is the food. Breakfast offers a variety of items to suit many tastes. All are delicious but I particularly enjoyed the homemade marmalade. Suppers were gourmet dinning every night. Local fresh ingrediants prepared in a fashion of simple flavor enhancement. Their wine pairings are excellant.
Sitting on our deck with a bottle of prosecco kept chilled in a silver ice bucket, drinking out of crystal goblets looking across the bay with Mount Vesuvius in the distance - nice.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMCMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agropoli hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mare
Hotel Mare
#4 of 14 in Agropoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.5 mi away
La Civetta
La Civetta
#5 of 14 in Agropoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Insonnia
Hotel Insonnia
#8 of 14 in Agropoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Serenella
Hotel Serenella
#2 of 14 in Agropoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Colombaia
Hotel La Colombaia
#9 of 14 in Agropoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Il Ceppo
Hotel Il Ceppo
#10 of 14 in Agropoli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Francesco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Francesco Resort

Property: San Francesco Resort
Address: Via Del Convento 2 | Cilento - Salerno, 84043 Agropoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Agropoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Agropoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Francesco Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SAINT FRANCIS' RESORTTreading on St.Francis' footstep,you get to the 1300 old monasterywith the little stone church and the rockbearing the Saint's name.From this magic place - they say -He spoke to the creatures of the Earth.Living in history gives youdeep feeling and emotions,while you look at the wiseaccurate restoration works,the fine material, and precious drapery.Overhanging the sea, you viewembraces the "historical centre",and you seem to touch the harbour,the rock coastline and St. Francis' rock.You experience meditation and peaceof the mind, but also relax and wellbeingwhile you have breakfast near the warmantique fireplace and the night aperitifson the terrace straight above the sea.Romantic evenings and breathtakingsunsets.Cultural and sporting excursions,trekking.Outside it is beautiful but insideit is just fascinating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your San Francesco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing