We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemstone! Great room, refreshing pool, delicious food!”
Review of Hotel La Colombaia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Colombaia
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Agropoli
Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gemstone! Great room, refreshing pool, delicious food!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We absolutely loved La Colombaia - and wish we could have spent more than one night - but they were fully booked the following night.

The road up to the hotel made us wonder if we were on the right track, but once parked we were stunned by the beauty of the location and the hotel. The swimming pool was nice and refreshing and really sets the calm and relaxing atmosphere.

The rooms are personal with air condition and blinds to keep the morning sunlight out. The bathroom was like most Italian bathrooms, small, but clean and welcoming. Plenty of towels (they have special towels for swimming by the pool) and what you need with regard to soap/shampoo.

Do not miss eating dinner here! We had gourmet meal in the evening (even though we arrived late, and dinner was supposed to be finished). We discovered the Michelin recommendation at the door the morning after - which made perfectly sense. The food was delicious! So was the breakfast buffet. If you wanted dishes not in the buffet they could be ordered separately.

The next day we took a walk in the old town - and also went back there the following evening. A charming area, and highly recommended place to spend a relaxing weekend.

Room Tip: Plan in good time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kakaduen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    23
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albox
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel is situated high on a hill with beautiful views of the sea. The drive up to the hotel is very steep and bumpy, but when you arrive, the hotel and its gardens more than compensate for the white knuckle ride!! . Luigi is an attentive host, the food is wonderful and our suite was elegant and super clean. We used the hotel as a base for the Amlalfi Coast and found the drive a bit too far, however if you are looking for peace and quiet you will find it at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piccolo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2010

I stayed with my 11 year old son for 2 days. The hotel is situated up a bumpy lane on the hillside above Agropoli, about 10 minutes drive from the centre of town. (Not suitable for walking into town from). It was fine and friendly, with fantastic swimming pool and views.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AManFromBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Hood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We came down to the Salerno area to do some research on the Allied landings in September 1943, and found Hotel La Colombaia in the gorgeous hills above Agropoli. Luigi runs the daily operations here and treats everyone like family. Our accommodations were awesome, the pool and view from the terrace spectacular, the flowers and floral displays beyond belief, and the food...absolutely wonderful! I know this sounds a bit superlative but this place is QUITE superlative and will not disappoint! From the time you dip in the sparkling pool through a day on the beach or at Pompeii and through the impeccable dinner....Prepare to be endulged!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynSheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2009

We want to thank Luigi and his staff for a fabulous vacation at his hotel. Luigi not only drove us every where, but gave us history lessons, share personal stories, and made as feel welcomed at all times. We still talk about the dinners we had at the romantic terrace, and the view from our room. After learning that we were trying to visit my husband's grandmother's house, he made calls to the people who currently own the place (in Rome!), and took us for a personal tour: all this while a wildfire was burning the hills surrounding the hotel! We left planning our next trip to Agropoli, and we have recommended the place to friends and family. If you want to understand why Italians are the best hosts, please book a room at La Colombaia.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaHNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2009

A friend and I stayed at the Hotel Colombaia for a couple of nights in May. This hotel was recommended by another friend and we have him to thank for a lovely experience. The sunsets each evening from the terrace were amazing. We were a bit disappointed when we arrived because the pool was being serviced and the restaurant was closed because there were so few guests. Luigi could not have been more helpful. He recommended a nearby restaurant (and even drove us there!) the first night and called in a chef the second night so we could enjoy dining in the lovely room by the pool. He also gave us great suggestions for places to see nearby. I cannot wait to go back there and, hopefully, stay longer and explore more of the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I have to start by saying every summer for the past 10 years I travel to Italy from New York and stay the entire month of August. I have stayed in many different B&B's hotels and motels. After My stay at La Colombaia I can assure you that I will only return there, I will never stay at a different hotel again! The staff is fabulous everyone is so kind, corteous and extremely attentive. My personal favorite was Luigi what a warm wonderful person. I really felt like I was part of a family there. The rooms are gorgeous, clean. The food is wonderfully mouth watering. The pool an amazing oasis amidst the mountains with spectacular views of the ocean. In closing I would like to say thank you once again to the staff of La Colombaia and to all people reading this I vow to only stay at La colombaia every summer from now on. Agropoli and La colombaia are superb.

Christina Mkaiki

  • Liked — I can't choose just one thing. Everything!!!!!!!!
  • Disliked — Nothing! Everything was spectacular
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank georgeswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agropoli
2.6 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#3 of 14 in Agropoli
287 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Insonnia
Hotel Insonnia
#6 of 14 in Agropoli
158 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Terrazze Residence&Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Il Ceppo
Hotel Il Ceppo
#10 of 14 in Agropoli
74 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Serenella
Hotel Serenella
#2 of 14 in Agropoli
233 reviews
5.4 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Colombaia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombaia

Property: Hotel La Colombaia
Address: Via Piano delle Pere | Zona Moio, 84043 Agropoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Agropoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Agropoli
#6 Family Hotel in Agropoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Colombaia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just five minutes from the legendary Paestum, in the green Park of Cilento, Hotel La Colombaia offers its guests a spectacular view of the Gulf of Salerno, the Amalfi Coast and the island of Capri.The rooms, all with sea view with balcony or terrace, are equipped with all modern comforts.The Relaxation Room, the Bar, a large swimming pool, covered parking, gardens and a wide range of included services, complete the offer for demanding, exclusive and refined guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Colombaia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Colombaia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing