We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand building, great view, tiny rooms and a journey to the past”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grand Hotel Santa Maria
Athens, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Grand building, great view, tiny rooms and a journey to the past”
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Hotel is 7-10 minutes walk away from Santa Maria di Castellabate. It is housed in a monster building, that has nothing to do with the beautiful surroundings. Although the building is huge, my room was the smallest I have ever seen (and I have visited too many hotels). There was hardly any space to move next to my semi-double bamboo bed. The bathroom was spacious but unclean and water supply completely stopped unexpectedly two times. All of these handicaps are forgotten though, if you book a sea view room. The view of the Tyrrhenian sea and the nearby village is breathtaking.
Breakfast is OK, but they have a strange sign in the elevator, warning customers that they are not allowed to take away anything from breakfast tables, or they will be charged!!!
Staff is really friendly and very helpful. They can also provide power adapters for Italian plugs.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geog81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    41
    22
    18
    12
See reviews for
52
40
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
esses,uk
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

I arrived at the hotel at around 12pm and the very nice Massimo on the front desk let me check in then rather than later (i thought i'd have to wait until 2pm!) took me to my room and I settled in straight away!

Fantastic sea view! Big bed, clean bathroom, air-con, TV, mini bar - everything you need!

I can't complain about anything - I don't know why people are moaning about this place. Yes, ok a lick of paint on some areas may need doing, but it's still a beautiful hotel....right on the beach, 5 minute walk into town.

Absolutely fabulous!!

Room Tip: Room 216 is lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sallyp89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My partner and I began travelling to this hotel when it was indeed the concrete block described in one of the (presumably quite old) reviews. Regardless of whatever shortcomings the building had in the old days - we loved it so much we have returned every year since 2001 - when we were able to. In fact twice a year, until our small son arrived. He and we have since continued our trips and between 2006/2009 the hotel has been beautifully refurbished in a way that harmonises its appearance externally whilst providing comfort and glamour internally. The staff are enormously kind and efficient, the food delicious - whether you're eating main meals in the restaurant or enjoying the less broad menu at the beach bar. The beach has deckchairs and everyone is allocated those but you can upgrade, if you wish for a small sum, to a sun lounger.

The hotel is set apart from the main town area and is thus very peaceful, and the views are beyond breathtaking - out to Ischia, Capri and the Amalfi coast when visibility permits - the sun sets into the water and the atmosphere is terrific. We also eat along the beach at other beach bars too, for variety.

Taken altogether, I think this hotel is a jewel. The only drawback being that without a swimming pool you do have swimless days if the sea is rough. Otherwise though, the hotel is just about all you could wish it to be. No matter where else we like to go for a change, we just keep coming back to Grand Hotel Santa Maria.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Italybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

The "Grand" hotel is a 1970's concrete block perched brutishly above the beach at Santa Maria. It is completely out of place among the low rise traditional village buildings, and dominates its neighbours. It looks as though the owners have tried to go up another floor, but building work has stopped, suggesting either that money has run out, or that the project never had planning permission.
It is however popular with coach parties. Enough said.
We spent most of our holiday outside the hotel, exploring the villages of Santa Maria and San Marco, and eating at a range of good local trattoria. We discovered after our arrival that there were several better hotels in the village. Tripadvisor is sadly not an infallible guide.
If your choice of entertainment consists of comunal singing of the Birdie Song this is the place for you. If you are in search of a rural seaside Italian adventure choose an agriturismo.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrs_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Maria di Castellabate hotels

Rochester, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2008

What can I say..?

The best in the region, amazing staff and food, really great place with the private beach with extremely friendly staff and attention to every little detail. Will DEFINITELY go back and recommend to friends, already booked for next year.

If you are looking for a quality time, you should book your place here!

  • Liked — The place in general, the food and the sea
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank christiano007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

Not really sure what the lady (Nina) is talking about, I had a great time. It was my brother's wedding, the staff was very helpful in organising a wonderful time for all our family.

The staff was quite fluent in German, English and Spanish, in fact most of our guests were foreigners and had no problems whatsoever comunicating.

The food was amazing, it was all fresh and reflected the real taste of Italy, I also used the beach and the man was really really friendly, he even took us for a trip round the coast.

I also did not have any problems sleeping, the rooms are well ventilated, it has a very good air con system, and the room was extremely clean.

The only trees I could see was the native pine trees, which in my opinion are typical to the area and only adds more seclusion to the rooms.

All in all it was an unforghattable experience

  • Liked — Polite staff and the incredible beach
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bi_mont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Horrible Honeymoon!
We booked a beautiful doubleroom with sea view for our honeymoon - we got one of the worst rooms with view on the parking place and the view to the sea was affected by trees. Of course we complained at the reception, they told us that they are fully booked , so we had to stay in these room.
The first night was horrible, the bed was very old with poor matresses. We slept this night about 4 hours. I tried to complain again, but we booked the room through an local agent, who couldnt be reached by phone due to the big public holiday on 14th august.. We also had problems with the man responsible for the deckchairs, a very impolite person. The waiters didnt speak english. For breakfast the hotel didnt even serve scrambled eggs. The towels in the rooms were not terry cloth, only linen and we had no beach towels.
Finally we left the hotel one night earlier than booked.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
0.4 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
138 reviews
1.2 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Santa Maria

Property: Grand Hotel Santa Maria
Address: Via Senatore Manente Comunale, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Santa Maria 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Santa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Santa Maria Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing