We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location. Shame about the food!”
Review of Villa Sirio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sirio Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2007

The hotel is situated right on the sea front and we had a room with balcony overlooking the sea. We slept listening to the surf every night - amazing. The sun set right into our bedroom. Santa Maria di Castellabate is a friendly village with atmosphere but there is little English spoken. The hotel itself is welcoming and well furnished. However, our bed was not particularly comfortable and the bathroom was a bit grungy - the tiles needed regrouting and whilst the bath had jacuzzi nozzles, they were all gunged up and had to be cleaned before they worked! But the biggest disappointment was the food. We went half board and therefore had a limited menu to choose from. We had to make our choice of evening meal whilst eating breakfast and, to be honest, the selection was never very extensive. The food itself was often overcooked (tinned peas!!) and greasy. Even though the village was a fishing village, fish rarely featured on the menu and wasn't particularly appetising when it did. Service was not impressive and I think they could have done with more waiting staff (although I suppose this was getting towards the end of the season). We selected a 2005 wine from an extensive wine list and were presented with a 2006 vintage - which we were told was the same thing! Yes, the dinners are served outside by the sea in candlelight and the atmosphere has potential - but our candle kept going out and had to be relit ... happened several nights. Although our half board rates were reasonably priced, when eating, we felt like the poor relations, eating the cheapest menu possible as a bait for passing trade who were offered an amazing choice from the full menu.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Elizalilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sirio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2007

The Hotel Villa Sirio is a tiny gem. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms almost all overlooked the ocean with only a sidewalk between you and the waves. If you love a good value, clean room, balcony with surf pounding outside your window, this place has it. Go to the Saturday farmers market in town. Don't expect to meet American tourists in hords. This is off the beaten path. The closest train is in Agropoli. Great place for couples and weddings.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vailite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2006

We loved our two night stay at Villa Sirio, a friendly, family run small, serene inn located in a picturesquel fishing village, Santa Maria di Castellabate, south of the Amalfi Coast. (To say it's in Salerno is really inaccurate as it is a number of miles south and far more tranquil than Salerno.) The owners recently renovated a historic villa and did so with impeccable taste. Truly a lovely property.
Perhaps because we were actually there on our 25th anniversary, we were given the prime room -- the corner room on the top floor, with a balcony overlooking the sea and another window looking out at the picturesque fishing area and beach. The room was exceptionally clean and the bed very comfortable. It was wonderful to sit on the balcony and just take in the lovely views. There's also a small area right on the water where the hotel maintains chairs and umbrellas; they also have chairs at the sandy beach a short, two minute walk away from the hotel. The water is crystal clear.
We had a delicious anniversary dinner at the hotel. As a surprise the restaurant manager, Andrea, who is the son of the owners, had his chef make us a decadent chocolate truffle cake. And did I mention, that dinner is served right by the sea by candlelight? Quite a romantic, memorable evening!
The owners couldn't have been nicer nor made us feel more welcome. They were also generous with the use of the hotel's computer for internet access.
If you do venture to Villa Sirio, which is somewhat off the beaten path (in our view, that's a plus), be sure to take in Paestum, which is the site of magnificent Greek temples and other ruins dating from the 3rd century BC. It's not overrun with visitors, but is a first rate archeological site well worth seeing. There's also a fabulous restaurant right by the site where we enjoyed a peaceful and delicious lunch.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank RockyMountaintravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ilaria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lavella007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank vipigna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
467 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
351 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Punta Licosa
Hotel Punta Licosa
#1 of 2 in Ogliastro Cilento
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sirio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sirio Hotel

Address: Via Lungomare De Simone 15, 84072 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range: £112 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Sirio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sirio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Sirio Hotel Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing