We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury”
Review of Palazzo Belmonte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Belmonte
Noosaville, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Luxury”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Stayed here 3 nights & loved it. Found the Palazzo easily enough but we do have a GPS, you enter the property thru 2 black gates, press buzzer & speak to enter the property.reception is only open certain hours so make sure you inform Hotel when booking approx time of arrival as we walked around for 15 mins trying to find some-one. Eventually found lovely lady who spoke fluent English I think a member of the family & organised to take us to our room which wasn't ready but no problem showed us to another room to wait. Their is no lift & many stairs to climb but that's ok (trying to keep the kilos off whilst on hols) bags are carried to your room so no probs. walked into town which is literally 2 mins away & had lunch. Our suite (which we booked) was ready & was divine, sitting room, 2 bathrooms 1 had huge walk in shower the other huge bath. Luxuries towels & bedding. Room gorgeous overlooking beach. Breakfast when you find where it is served is like stepping back in time, glorious antiques, paintings. Adequate, cakes, breads, cereals, fruit. It is all served on 2nd floor but a sign would be more helpful even though we were told where when we checked in still couldn't find it on first morning. The restaurant is closed until end of May I think which was a shame, they are still getting ready for tourist season so literally had hotel to our selves. No problem finding somewhere to eat as Town is full of them & good too. Walk to Il Vichingo a superb wine bar run by a Norwegian guy who knows everything about the area (review to come on that) fantastic wines/beers all reasonable price. Palazzo Belmonte is a great place to stay & thoroughly enjoyed our time here in beautiful Castellbate. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Stay in Suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KazaPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    56
    24
    21
    29
See reviews for
49
120
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2,519 reviews
378 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,330 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Pssst..... if you get easily intimidated by the grandioseness of Rome, the glamour of the Amalfi coast and the temperament of Naples,then this pile of real-estate will reconstitute your safety valves.
This coastal region in Campania,remains down to earth,as it has, i would venture a guess,throughout the centuries. Its tranquil,country life, amidst unspoilt beauty is enviable. this area needs exploring.
The best part of our experience, was without a doubt, our host,Angelo whose regal countenance belies the heritage of his upbringing. he welcomed us into his family manor with all the charm and charisma that tired,but seasoned, travellers need.
Its a peaceful place, where socialising is elegantly practised with decorum and a discipline of softly-softly.
The rooms are furnished with a refinement equal to the best the Mediterranean can offer. Wicker chairs ease your travel pains,beds that are solidly comfortable and curtains that dispel the gregarious sunshine when a cat-nap is due. The pool is gorgeous and a soothing depot for de-stressing . If you are fond of fish,let alone seafood,you have found nirvana. We ate regularly in-house,because the quality was so good,and tasty,and zesty,and spicy......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We arrived on the wrong side of midnight in a torrential rainstorm and, when the night watchman showed us to our room, in one of the hotel's two modern annexes, we unpacked, cleaned our teeth and went to bed. The next morning, we opened our shutters and gasped. There before us was the Mediterranean, the Amalfi Coast a larger-than-expected smudge in the distance, and right in front us was a canopy of trees. This, I later learned, was the Palazzo's mature gardens, and the best bit of the hotel by miles.

Every morning we wandered in them before sitting down to breakfast--in fact, any excuse we had to walk through the grounds, taking the long way round instead of the more direct route to the main buildings, we took. The hotel is situated on the edge of Santa Maria Di Castellabate, a picture-postcard Italian seaside town, with a dinky beach that was hosting a 5-a-side football tournament the evenings that we were there, and a promenade where we could sit and have a beer as we watched the sun go down. We hit the town every night as, this being a mid-season trip, there was no dinner provided by the hotel, and ate very well.

Our room was immense--about twice the size of most hotel rooms I've been in, with a wonderful sun terrace and large bathroom, with bath, shower room and twin basins. The flooring--white tiles--was a little bit bare but, hey, we had pretty dire weather for three days. We never saw our neighbours, but it was easy to strike up a conversation with other guests--two of whom we have seen in London since.

The only black mark for me is the lack of a drawing room down at the main palazzo for guests to use. The weather didn't really brighten up until the last few days--this was the tail-end of May, however, and European weather never really scorches until well into June (I should know, I spent a decade in Madrid)--and so we were slightly stuck in our rooms when it was too chilly to sit in the gardens.

Would we go back? Definitely. Not only is the hotel so glorious, with its own private entrance onto the beach, but the town is so much more than the holiday resorts that you find further down the coast--i.e., ghostly--that when you tire of the tranquility of the hotel, you can venture out of the gates of the Palazzo and be entertained on the beach or in the town's bustling streets.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view--it is astounding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AddleBaddle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The hotel and its grounds are a little piece of heaven dropped on earth. The situation is perfect and the views back to the Sorrento peninsula are stupendous. We arrived after a nerve-jangling drive from Naples airport with torrential rain all the way and were immediately soothed by Angela and her staff who took our luggage up the villa block and, having allowed us time for a shower and change, rustled up a splendid lunch in the breakfast area.

It is the most relaxing place with beautiful gardens, a fine pool (and bar), easy access to the wonderful little town of Santa Maria di Castellabate, easy access to the beach and comfortable and stylish accommodation (great views from the balcony). The first night there was a Cilento buffet for a party staying at the hotel so we joined in with that, while for the other evenings found two perfect restaurants under the walls of the Palazzo facing the beach.

It is an ideal base for exploring the area or an equally ideal place for just chilling out. The only drawback would be for those with limited mobility. The grounds are on several levels with steps or uneven gravel paths. Should you wish to keep contact with world outside there is wifi in the reception area. I preferred just to forget the outside world! I cannot rate it too highly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottieLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Palazzo Belmonte as part of our honeymoon. The setting was unique and classic chic and the service exceptional. By far the best martinis in Italy, rivalling Dukes in London thanks to Tofi.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedemeetsbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Location is breath taking: the Cilento coast, just south of the Amalfi riviera. The village of Santa Maria di Castellabate is a charming, untarnished and untouched example of past times Italy... where the grand tours of English nobility would stop for a taste of southern Italy.
The Hotel is not really a hotel so do not expect hotel level service: no room service and the restaurant is not always available in the evening which is not a minus point since there are plenty of options within 5 minutes walking distance in the village.
This is the (inhabited) palace of Angleo Granito-Pignatelli, prince of Belmonte. A 600 years old family who's lineage is recorded in Italian history books.
Many of the rooms are suites and even the smaller ones are ample and all are clean and functioning.
The property has extensive relaxing gardens, its own pool and its private strip of golden sandy beach, right in front of the pool.
Breakfast is not lavish but hand made dishes are of exquisite preparation.
If you are used to 5 star hotel service this is not for you.
But if you seek for a romantic or family with kids, perfect retreat in real Italian style, in a real castle, hosted by a real prince then you won't find anything similar anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Chose a room overlooking the bay. It's more expensive but the sunset is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tommaso_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

as refugees from a truly terrible hotel in Castellabate, we found this gem and stayed here for 3 days in October, when the place was empty but the weather still warm and beautiful (out of season prices!) Had a day on the beautiful wide sandy beach, which either side of the Palazzo's private part does need attention as to cleanliness etc.
Our rooms were really nice, spacious and comfortable, including massages arranged with very good and competent masseuse. Loved the ancient atmosphere of the place, the lush, spacious gardens and had some really good food sitting outside on the terrace, with wonderful service provided by Tofiq, who was apparently persuaded to change to the Palazzo after 17 years at Boodles of St. James's.
Niggle, though: breakfast not up to scratch - too basic.
Planning to go again next autumn!

Room Tip: Suites are well worth the extra in terms of space, comfort etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
133 reviews
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
129 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Belmonte

Property: Palazzo Belmonte
Address: Via Senatore Manente Comunale, 22, 84072 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Belmonte 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Palazzo Belmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Belmonte Hotel Santa Maria Di Castellabate
Palazzo Belmonte Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing