We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday- Worst Italian Food I've ever tasted.”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonia
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Holiday- Worst Italian Food I've ever tasted.”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

This was a confusing holiday, anything the management of the hotel was responsible for was a disaster,the staff are ill trained and miserable, with the exception of Francessa on the front desk who would ask if there was anything she could do for you, unfortunatley she wasn't allowed to. It could be that they don't speak English and get frustrated.
On our first night we had the classic italian dish Spaghetti alle Vongle, this was a pile of spaghetti with 4 clams on top. Roast Pork that was processed with salad and chips, and a basket of fruit which was not ripe. HOWEVER, the rooms are ok, it's very cheap compared with other 4 star hotels, the situation is supberb, on the beach and in the village square.
Despite the management we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view full balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    29
    15
    14
    10
See reviews for
25
40
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

OK, it's a nice hotel on the beach, but ...
Like other guests wrote:
Even as a guest of the hotel you have to pay for the sun loungers on their own private beach!?! On all beaches to the left you find them cheaper.
And no enthusiasm. They are just sitting behind their desk. Had to wait for 5 minutes for an answer, because the girl was on the phone.
Oh, wifi didn't work during our visit. The way they told me, it felt it didn't work all season.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rolandinho2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed in Sonia for a few days before we got married - we were treated very well with a bottle of Preseco sent to the room from the staff to congratulate us. The only thing I would say about this hotel is that is has one of the most amazing views in Santa Maria and the balconys are right on the beach but the rooms really do need to be updated and improved.
Breakfast was fine - typical continental brekkie. The sun loungers were very expensive - 20 euro for 2 per day even though we were staying in the hotel - we got them for 4 euro each on another beach which was just as beautiful by the Lidos.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Bute
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2008

Our arrival at the New Hotel Sonia on the 18th Seotember from Agropoli station confirmed the reports of its great location - walking from the terrace directly onto the sandy beach was wonderful. We arrived to watch a great sunset. Overall, the staff are very pleasant and helpful - with the glaring exception of the lazy beach boy who makes no effort either for the guests or for the hotel (he is supposed to ensure everyone pays 10 euros for beds; no-one does). Our bedroom was comfortable, probably the same or adjacent to the previous reviewer. Their electronic key system was new to me, rather like a London Oyster card.

The continental breakfast was fine, but dinner was disappointing; most people were on half board, so we were not expected.

What the hotel desperately lacks is hospitality. The management does nothing to enhance the holiday experience. There is no bedroom information pack about the hotel's facilities; no local information including no bus timetable which is so easy to obtain. The instruction not to put anything in the minibar is rather petty, and a beach hotel should have beach towels available.

I can recommend the Hotel Sonia, but would urge them to make the guests' holiday memorable with just a little enthusiasm.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Poor management
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank YHH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2008

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Hotel Sonia. It's in a good location, right on the beach and very close to the main piazza and the pedestrian shopping street.
We must have had the best room in the hotel, on the second floor with French windows leading onto a large private terrace overlooking the beach and sea. It would have been nice to have had sun loungers but we managed with the 2 chairs provided.
The hotel was quiet and spotlessly clean and we enjoyed our stay there.
We were disappointed with the standard of the food, having booked half board. Dinner consisted of 3 courses with a choice of 2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 vegetables and dessert. Twice one of the main courses consisted of mashed potato with some ham and cheese mixed in, hardly the quality expected of a 4 star hotel. I had warned them on booking and arrival that I was vegetarian but had to ask each day what I could eat and twice had to make do with a plate of sliced cheese. We wouldn't recommend anyone to take the half board option, particularly if you are vegetarian
Breakfast was Ok with a reasonable selection of cold items, ie cereals, rolls, cheese, ham, yogurt, but no hot food. The juice was so watered down as to be unrecognisable as orange.
Santa Maria is a good place for a holiday with clean beaches, and it's close to the Greek and Roman ruins at Paestum.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisymay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2008

We’ve just returned from a week at the Hotel Sonia in Santa Maria di Castellabate. It’s a return visit after some 20 years and it’s fair to say that the hotel hasn’t changed hugely. Its location is fantastic – on a gorgeous beach with good views from many rooms. The rooms are air-conditioned but simple. Beds firm but OK. Breakfast was included and is classic ‘Italian hotel’ fare – jam-filled croissant, yoghurt, fruit, cereal, ham and cheese, terrible juice and so-so coffee. You can eat it in the beach bar which is a real plus. We didn’t eat at the hotel otherwise. We left on the last day of July, but if you stay in August (when it will be unbelievably crowded) you have to take half-board. They are a little flexible in that they are happy for you to have either lunch or dinner though.

We arrived late at night and found the one major change from our earlier visit. The streets are closed at 10pm – pedestrian only – which is a good thing once you’re in the town, but it meant that we couldn’t drive up to the hotel. We had to park (and pay!) and wheel our cases. The night porter tried to explain where the hotel car park was but as there was an all night ‘party’ (notte bianca) going on in the square and the town was teeming with people we gave up trying to find it. From the following day we paid to park in the hotel car park (6 euros/day). It’s outside of the pedestrianised area so no problems coming and going.

There is a fee for the beach 7 euros a day for umbrella,
sunbed & deckchair. By current Italian standards this is relatively cheap. The hotel umbrellas are also fairly spread out. The beach has had a blue flag since 1999 and the water is fantastically clean.

The staff are pleasant but don’t offer information e.g. if you want a remote for the TV you have to ask!

Sta Maria is a real Italian family resort with only a handful of foreigners although they seem to speak English in lots of places. There are a few good restaurants. We especially liked the Beach bar on the Sta Maria Lido for great salads and the Arlechino for everything!

We still really like the place but would probably choose to come at a quieter time if we went again. We’d probably think hard about renting a car too as parking is tough everywhere and the reputation of Southern Italians on the road is more than justified!

  • Liked — Beach location
  • Disliked — The juice at breakfast!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneBerkhamsted_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2008

We have just returned from a 2 week stay in this delightful hotel. One of our party had some mobility issues and it was marvellous to be right on the beach and so close to so many nice restaurants.

The two little gripes I would have is that breakfast does not vary at all and could show a little more imagination. The other the fact that sun beds are not included in the hotel charges and are extra.

Otherwise would recommend strongly.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness
  • Disliked — Breakfasts
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillicentDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
220 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
232 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Property: Hotel Sonia
Address: Via Gennaro Landi 25, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sonia Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing