We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza d'Epoca 1861
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It was a gorgious place with a traditional palazzo style building. The room was spacious and clean. The view is breathtaking, going in early May was a really good idea. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perecza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Residenza d'Epoca 1861
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to S M di Castellabate at this perfectly located small hotel with spacious accommodation. The web site does not exaggerate the beauty of the location. Carlo the owner is the epitome of helpfulness, and did his very best to make up for the unseasonably cold and wet weather we encountered. From behind the small private bar he also dispensed drinks in the evening before we set out to visit one of the many and varied restaurants he recommended. Out of season, parking was ok, but peak season will be a different story (not that S M di Castellabate is unique in Italy in this respect!)

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

'Great small hotel' (Google it!) says it all - even when the rain lashed down and the sea, just 50 meteres away was in full roar, this place offered an away-from-it-all refuge. Our Superior Room (24) was spacious and airy, the welcome from Carlos genuine and always helpful for local restaurants, all be it slightly out of season, and places to go if you really wanted to be drawn away from this totaly enchanting hotel, and small town.

Super comfortable bed, good and well equipped bathroom, loads of wardrobe and cupboard space, satelite TV, AC., and comfortable seating within the room. All cleaned and tidied whilst having breakfast - a real treat! And Carlos can mix a mean gin and tonic, and Campari and sodas from his adequately stocked ground floor bar. And has been written before breakfast, with fresh fruit, cereal, croissants, locally baked bread and selected cold meats with freshly ground coffee, or tea, was everything you could wish for.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea - the higher ones might be a little quieter than others but all have a vi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights near the middle of October after visiting the Amalfi coast. We stayed in Room #24. It was the largest room we had the entire trip, and was tastefully decorated in a beautiful, minimalist style. The bathroom was also well-appointed. The first floor bar and breakfast room were also exceptionally handsome. The best part was the small balcony (Lower and possibly larger rooms appeared to have larger balconies). It overlooked the wide street, and boulders (to break up waves) and was only about thirty yards (meters) from the edge of the Mediterranean Sea. My wife and I sat here morning and night. Despite overlooking the street, the room was quiet, because the street was not a through street. Carlo and his wife Theresa (who served breakfast) were very pleasant and helpful. We hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinb787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We spent 3 nights at the wonderful hotel, and just loved it. We spent hours sitting on our balcony overlooking the sea and the road - the people watching was fantastic! ;o) Carlo and his wife were extremely welcoming, and we had a lovely drink one evening with Carlo outside the hotel. We would definitely go back, and ideally to spend a few more nights - proximity to beach, restaurants and the town was perfect. Our room was lovely and airey - I wouldn't say all of the furnishings/bathroom etc were necessarily top end luxury, but it was very comfortable and location, friendliness etc were great. Just lovely. Also - the recommendation to Per Bacca (restaurant just up the road) was much appreciated. Delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Santa Maria is a fantastic city, 1861 Residenza is a fantastic hotel. Big and calm rooms, friendly service, great view. Absolutely perfect, we will definitely come back.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
2  Thank LOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

This was the sixth time we have stayed with Carlo & Teresa in 4yrs, it is still the most wonderful place with the nicest people, can't wait for next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
0.2 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#6 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
239 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
350 reviews
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Epoca 1861? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca 1861

Address: Lungomare Perrotti, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range: £87 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza d'Epoca 1861 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca 1861 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1861 Residenza d Epoca
Residenza D'Epoca 1861 Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing