We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residenza d'Epoca 1861
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

What a stunning building, beautiful rooms and Carlo was great. The location is fanatsic, right on the sea front you can hear the sea all day long, definatly the balcony rooms are best as you feel regal walking out on to the old stone balcony.
As the previous review says about the bar next door, a real shame, but dont let it put you off, as she says get into the italian way of life and stay out later.
Breakfast is simple but lush, sitting right outside watching the world go by.
Would go back again in a heartbeat even with the noisy bar, the whole place outweighs a bit of noise.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    21
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
81
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
witley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We have just returned from a stay at Carlo's Residence D'epoca in Santa Maria.

My husband booked it as a surprise for our mini moon and it was beautiful.

Really rustic rooms that make you feel more like you have moved to Italy than you are on holiday. We had a slight issue with a double booking which Carlo sorted by giving us a suite rather than the room we had booked.

Breakfast is served out on the terrace overlooking the sea ten metres away and is simple, bread, spreads, fruit, yoghurt, cereal etc but delicious and everything we wanted.

Therese, Carlo's wife serves breakfast and she is friendly and soft spoken and generally gorgeous.

Carlo really did make our holiday, he made us feel like we were his only guests and he couldn't do enough for us, reserving us sun loungers on the beach so we didn't have to go down early, booking private boat trips, getting us the best table at The Belvedere up on the hill at Castallabate and generally going out of his way to make sure we were happy and welcomed. We came away feeling we had made a real friend who wouldn't forget us.

The whole place was very clean, good powerful shower, air con units, comfy bed with lovely floral vintage bedspreads, my husband asked for champagne and fresh flowers on arrival which were ready and waiting.

The views from the rooms are breath taking and you are literally ten seconds walk to the beach where the sea is clear and warm and the beach restaurants delicious and friendly.

we felt like we had dropped off the world and were in our own private Italian dream, just gorgeous.

Only down side and I hate to write it as this hotel is such a find..but a bar has opened right next door,we were there thursday to monday and it was busy and quite loud. I really don't want to put people off going there as the day times are so wonderful, but it's open til 2am and even if the music is quiet the people are loud! we were literally right next to it and Carlo complained on our behalf and then gave us the keys to an attic room which was quieter so we slept there one night, he is wonderful! Please don't let this put you off if you are travelling out of high season as I'm sure it's not as busy and also when you book ask for one of the rooms on the beach side of the hotel as then you will be just that little bit further away from the bar and I think it's better.

I feel bad mentioning it as I feel personally attached to the hotel and Carlo, but if you want early nights and romantic silence with just the waves lapping the rocks then you will get that from 2am tl 11pm the following day but 11pm-2am is noisy! We ended up just eating later and getting into Italian life and then we were home later and had mainly missed it!

The hotel is beautifully run and a real treat, keep Carlo in business and book now!!

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from the bar next door as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed at 1861 for 5 nights during a 2 week trip to Italy and it was definitely one of the highlights of our holiday. The town in lovely with a nice beach, there is not much to do and we did not have a car but we were there to relax and the hotel is the perfect place to do this. It is not your average hotel, and for those looking for lots of facilities and a 24 hr reception this is not for you, but with only 6 rooms and the Hotel owner Carlo always around should you have any questions, it felt almost like staying with friends than in a hotel. We had a superior room which was beautiful and so large you did not feel cooped up should the afternoon turn rainy or you wanted to laze inside for the morning. The view was definitely the highlight and on the odd weekend night when the road outside (not a through road so no cars) was busy with holidaying Italians this just added to the atmosphere.

We climbed up the hill to Castellabate for lunch one day and the little town is worth a look as well as being packed with Restaurants. We also sampled both of the Lido restaurants for lunch and both were very good. We did find that of a week night some restaurants were shut as we were there out of peak season but there was also the simple but good pizzeria on the corner that we could rely upon.
Definitely the best hotel we stayed in during our trip - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryony82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

When I was looking for a beach getaway in Italy, this was exactly what I was looking for. The people in the restaurants, shops and bars are very friendly, and the town is a charming one. The beaches are very sandy and the water is very clear and blue. Our room was perfect for relaxing, and we took several naps in three day trip. Carlo and Theresa were very helpful and friendly, and always available. We went at the end of May and it was during the week, so it wasn't very busy, which was ideal. I bet the weekend gets a lot busier, but if you can stay during the week, you can get restaurant seating easily throughout town and feel completely relaxed as the streets are quiet. The breakfast was either inside or outside depending on your preference and the weather. This hotel has only six rooms, and they all have a beach view, but we loved the Superior Room with the large terrace. If you want a beach town that has nightclubs and parties at night, this isn't for you, but if you want to relax and take deep breaths looking at the beautiful blue ocean from a sandy beach, or falling asleep to nothing but the sound of the waves outside, I would recommend this hotel and Santa Maria di Castellabate.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It was a gorgious place with a traditional palazzo style building. The room was spacious and clean. The view is breathtaking, going in early May was a really good idea. I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perecza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to S M di Castellabate at this perfectly located small hotel with spacious accommodation. The web site does not exaggerate the beauty of the location. Carlo the owner is the epitome of helpfulness, and did his very best to make up for the unseasonably cold and wet weather we encountered. From behind the small private bar he also dispensed drinks in the evening before we set out to visit one of the many and varied restaurants he recommended. Out of season, parking was ok, but peak season will be a different story (not that S M di Castellabate is unique in Italy in this respect!)

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick_and_Moose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

'Great small hotel' (Google it!) says it all - even when the rain lashed down and the sea, just 50 meteres away was in full roar, this place offered an away-from-it-all refuge. Our Superior Room (24) was spacious and airy, the welcome from Carlos genuine and always helpful for local restaurants, all be it slightly out of season, and places to go if you really wanted to be drawn away from this totaly enchanting hotel, and small town.

Super comfortable bed, good and well equipped bathroom, loads of wardrobe and cupboard space, satelite TV, AC., and comfortable seating within the room. All cleaned and tidied whilst having breakfast - a real treat! And Carlos can mix a mean gin and tonic, and Campari and sodas from his adequately stocked ground floor bar. And has been written before breakfast, with fresh fruit, cereal, croissants, locally baked bread and selected cold meats with freshly ground coffee, or tea, was everything you could wish for.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea - the higher ones might be a little quieter than others but all have a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank normalguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
0.2 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
447 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Residence Pompeo
Hotel Residence Pompeo
#13 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Epoca 1861? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca 1861

Property: Residenza d'Epoca 1861
Address: Lungomare Perrotti, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza d'Epoca 1861 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca 1861 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1861 Residenza d Epoca
Residenza D'Epoca 1861 Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing