We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza d'Epoca 1861
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I stumbled across the details for this place while looking at places further south and north and am so happy we changed our plans to come here. I've previously visited the Amalfi Coast but never ventured further south but I'm so pleased we made the decision to visit Castellabate instead and avoid the crowds and nightmare roads around Positano and Sorrento. With only 6 rooms the hotel is small but perfectly sited, right on the seafront in a quiet part of the old town. All the rooms look out to the sea and because of traffic restrictions there are no vehicles allowed to park outside on the promenade, which makes for a fantastic car-free setting.

If you do come by car and have heavy luggage, you can at least arrange with the hotel to drop of your luggage outside and then park you car back towards the main square. We had a bit of a nightmare trying to find the hotel when we first drove in to town, assuming from the slightly vague driving directions on the website, that Santa Maria would be small enough for us to find the hotel without problem. This is not the case and as the location of the hotel is not normally accessible by car, I strongly advise getting better driving directions from the hotel staff before you set off. The one way system is challenging to the uninitiated - more information on how to drop off your bags and parking details on the website would also be really useful.

Aside from this one small hitch our stay was fantastic - the room was spacious, light and airy with a very comfortable bed and big sofa, plenty of storage and a great balcony facing west towards the setting sun with uniterrupted sea views. The weather in mid-September was beautiful, so we had breakfast sitting outside each morning and watched a steady procession of locals and tourists passing by as they made their way towards the beach at the end of the promenade. We could also watch them return in the evening as we sat out drinking our aperitivo...

Most of the other guests seemed to be return visitors, hooked by the friendly and laidback atmosphere of the hotel, the town and the Blue Flag Beaches. Talking to the hotel staff, it seems many people come back year after year. I can see the appeal and would be more than happy to return too if it weren't so far from home. I guess in the high season it's a very different place - buzzing with Italian holidaymakers, but in September it seems to be mainly foreign tourist. Santa Maria is a lovely place to walk around day or night and the walk along the beach to nearby San Marco is also worthwhile. We didn't have enough time to head inland but we did stop at Paestum on our drive down and this is fantastic.

The 'Mad' Bar that has opened up nextdoor and mentioned in several other reviews wasn't open when we first arrived on Thursday night but it did open up on Friday night. The noise from the bar wasn't too bad, but the number of people hanging around outside until the wee small hours was not great. I'm not sure how relations work are between the two establishments but I hope they can sort something out. We had our windows shut as it wasn't too hot and the noise levels weren't bad, but we were also in the room furthest from the bar and I imagine it could be quite annoying on warmer nights.

Altogether this was a fantastic find - both the hotel and the town and I hope we can go back one day for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Like all the other reviewers we found this hotel to be excellent. The position is fantastic and our room was like a small apartment. We arrived in torrential rain and crashing seas which added to the drama of the seafront position. Carlo suggested the beach restaurant next door for lunch which again was excellent. He was also a mine of information regarding sites to see and where to eat. Everybody was very pleasant and made our stay very enjoyable and there is nothing like enjoying G&T on your balcony watching the sun going down!

Room Tip: We had a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed in a superior room and as previous reviewer has stated it was not unnecessarily cluttered with furnishings or furniture but very light and airy with high ceilings and a nice mix of contemporary and antique furniture and a sea view from the balcony. The room is air-conditioned but there is only a small unit in the bedroom area and we did not think it really did its job. Additionally the air con kept cuttting out and we had to re-start etc. This did let the room down as when we were there temperature were in the high 30's.

Breakfast is served outside and was the usual standard for Italy (pastries, fruit etc). Only used the bar once and noone else was there. We were given some great recommendations on restaurants both in santa maria and castellabate and these were also booked in advance for us which meant all we had to do was find them. The hotel does not have a pool but it does have some fabulous beaches on its doorstep however, when we arrived we had no chance of getting beds and an umbrella decided to buy an umbrella (10 euros) and a chair (5 euros) and we used these each day.

The biggest let down for this hotel is the bar next door (Mad bar). I beleive it has opened recently and during our stay this had music blasting out to 3 or 4 each morning. With the patio doors and shutters locked it was manageable for most of the time however on a couple of nights i also had to put earplugs in and we were the furthest room from it. It has big groups of young people congregating outside so if you do sit the balcony late at night there is no peace and quiet. In the day there is not a problem. This is not the hotels fault and I hope it can be reolved for future visitors as it really does let down this great hotel.

It is probably also worth pointing out that we visited the area it was peak holiday season (mid august) so santa maria was busier than oxford street on a saturday morning at night and this may have contributed to the amount of people using the beach and the bar next door. If i do return it would not be in August again.

Room Tip: as far away from mad bar as possible!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We loved our time with Carlo and his colleagues at Residenza D’Epoca. We stayed in a superior which was not unnecessarily cluttered with furnishings or furniture but very light and airy with high ceilings and a nice mix of contemporary and antique furniture. The view from our balcony was stunning with the beautiful sea directly opposite and unopposed, the beach is just steps away (reserve your beach at Franko’s Lido Azzurro early in peak season!!) – you have to eat lunch here, one of my favourite restaurants!! We were a group of 4 and our friends staying in a standard room above us had an equally sized room with the same view. Breakfast was the standard for Italy (pastries, fruit etc) but a good standard. The cocktails/wine were all delicious and complemented perfectly with the setting sun as we drank outside. Some may view the lack of hotel restaurant as a negative, don’t! Santa Maria has plenty of excellent restaurants to choose from (Carlo will give you his recommendations) so it gives you the perfect opportunity to enjoy the evening life in this beautiful town. The hotel does not have a pool, but why would you when you have a beautiful beach seconds away?! This is a classic boutique hotel, perfect for couples and friends and we will definitely return again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsuk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Arrived to a warm welcome in swealtering heat, we were offered a glass of refreshment on arrival and the slowness and ease that surrounder the staff was infectious,,,,, Chill out central Italian style. Nothing was too much bother for the staff and the chat at reception was always polite.We stayed in the attic room (27) and we felt we had the best view and room in the hotel. 34* in late June .

Room Tip: There is no lift so if you are on the top floor 6 fights of stairs, but the views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiri49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed with our children for 5 nights in June and loved everything about the hotel and the village. Our room was enormous, with a sitting room meaning the children were in their own room and in separate beds. Carlo couldn't have been more helpful with suggestions and restaurant hints. We will be back next year. Santa Maria di Castellabate is a lovely village, very safe and with lovely beaches.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahC65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed her for 3 nights recently and loved everything about the Hotel and the area. We had a sea view room with a balcony and waking up to the lapping of the ocean in the morning is fabulous. As previous reviewers have said Carlo and his wife could not do more to make guests feel welcome. They are always on hand to help and advise and going down for breakfast is a treat - as close as you will get to staying with friends. Sitting outside with no traffic going past and nothing but a low wall and some rocks between you and the sea is just perfect. No high rise buildings to be seen. The bar next door did not bother us and it is not anything like a Bar in the UK. No drunks, no lewd behaviour and we could hardly hear the music from our room which was close to the bar, so nothing to worry about. As it so hot in the summer it is best to eat out late and enjoy a long warm evening "italian style" taking afternoon naps to the sound of the waves. Perfect!

Room Tip: If you can choose a sea view room as it is hard to get anything like this at these prices anywhere e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theflyingpa111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
0 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
244 reviews
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
493 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Santa Maria
Grand Hotel Santa Maria
#6 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#8 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza d'Epoca 1861? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza d'Epoca 1861

Address: Lungomare Perrotti, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range: £82 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza d'Epoca 1861 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residenza d'Epoca 1861 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1861 Residenza d Epoca
Residenza D'Epoca 1861 Italy/Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing