We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The landscape is amazing! Reception staff helpful. Service personnel in the dining room - not polite. Not interested in contacting that request, and turn your gaze from you, so that you contact them. Answer impatiently.
The wi.fi hotel - poor standard. There disconnections and need to connect every time.
Room 92 (near the elevator), particularly noisy. Hear all the noise from the lobby and the people that come to the elevator (including the cleanliness night at the bar).

Room Tip: Room 92 (near the elevator), particularly noisy. Hear all the noise from the lobby and the people th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tamilon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

I normally do not do writeup's on tripadvisor but use it to look at hotels in the uk & abroad before booking them. I have so impressed by the hotel, receptionists, waiters/waitresses that I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough if you are stopping in/around sorrento.
We did not arrive to the hotel until 11.30pm due to delays at the airport, We where surprised to find a bottle of water, wine & two meals, this was a really nice touch after a long day.
The hotel is well situated with a shuttle bus to sorrento departing regularly.
We did various trips & others have documented well on how to do them so I will not go over the points again.
The staff have been excellent & are always helpful.
It is our last day today & came upto the room & found a bottle of limoncello which was so thoughtful.
I would book this hotel again.
Thanking all the staff at the hotel for a great holiday.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Johnsupport1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My wife and I have recently returned from this wonderful hotel.This was the third time we have stayed at the Due Golfi and it still is a brilliant hotel.
The location is first class the staff are outstanding the girls on the front desk the waiters in the dinning and the chamber maids are first rate team, it's people who make great hotels
As you can see I am no wordsmith
Once again the Due Gofi hotel gave my wife and I a five star holiday.

I hope I can give you some tips
Make sure you come back on the courtesy bus if go you in into Sorrento because the taxi fare is 45 Euro the bus is free
Try going on trips yourself they are so much cheaper
For an example go to Pompeii on the local train 2.20 Euro,s each way
Entry in to the site 11 Euro.....I big tip if you are an European pensioner it's free yes free but you must have your passport
From the hotel his over 60 Euro
Go to Amalfi on the local bus and return on the boat full day out for 15 Euro
From a tour operator from 75 Euro
Take care going in to the village mind the traffic but go in to the village were there is a really good pub think is called the Olando not sure of the spelling it's the pub with cats beer 4 Euro yes,also my wife said the a proper church
Hope this helps
Have wonderful holiday

Room Tip: Go on push the boat out opt for a room with a sea view you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mackam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The high praise lavished by other reviewers regarding the location of the hotel is well deserved.We had a sea view view room with balcony - well worth the extra cost.

The proximity of a host of other attractive venues, Sorrento, Vesuvius, Pompeii, Amalfi, Positano and Capri are a wonderful bonus. It is a much better option to stay at the Grand Hotel due Golfi and use the frequent shuttle bus service to visit Sorrento than it is to stay in Sorrento itself. The times allow you to go to Sorrento for lunch or dinner as you choose.

There has to be a down side of course and this hotel has two. The food is uninspiring compared to nearby restaurants. But access to Sant'Agata is along a narrow and very busy road with no footpath for about 300 metres. So it can be quite daunting to set off for a more interesting meal in town rather than stay in the hotel.

Also don't hire a car if you are a nervous driver it is hairy to say the least.

Room Tip: Pay extra, if necessary for a sea view room with balcony. OUrs was on Flooe 3 - superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 513Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I have just returned from a week at this wonderful hotel. My room had a balcony with a table and two chairs which allowed me the joy of watching the day break over the Bay of Naples with Sorrento in the foreground and Vesuvius in the distance. The breakfast is buffet style but the title doesn't really apply. Everything you want is offered: eggs, meats, fresh orange juice, pastries, croissants (several varieties), breads, cereals, fresh fruit....well the list goes on and on. We were on the half board plan and every dinner was memorable with many choices and all made from fresh, local meats, produce and fish. The lounge with its wall of window overlooking the bay was the perfect meeting place for cocktails and live music was offered on at least two evenings. The short walk into S'Agata is lovely (don't fret that there is no sidewalk....no one has been hit yet) The town is charming. Stop in the Farmacia dei Golfi and stock up on their own private line of skin products. The gelato shop next to the church has a great selection of real gelato and the large bakery and cafe on the corner as you come into town is a must stop as well. There's plenty to do in the surrounding area. We caught the Sita bus at the Sorrento train station for a day trip to Postiano and Amalfi, then took the boat back to Sorrento. The hotel offers regular free shuttles to and from Sorrento which makes life much easier and saves a great deal of money. This will not be my only stay at Due Golfi and I thank each and everyone of the staff for making this probably the finest vacation of my life.

Room Tip: Insist on a bay view and a tub. The tubs are like small pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SCAmicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Grand Hotel Due Golfi is located at about 7 km. from Sorrento. The nearest airport is Naples. From there you can either take the train from Napoli train station to Sorrento train station or the bus from Napoli airport also to Sorrento train station. We took the bus, which is a ride of about 1½ hrs. The stop of the free shuttle bus to the hotel is a 800 mtrs. walk from the train station. You have to book the shuttle the day before you arrive. Once in the hotel, you can book the shuttle every day for the next day. There are 7 round trips a day. There is also a Sita public bus directly from the Sorrento train station to Santa Agata, via Nastro Verde. If you enter the bus ask for Hotel Due Golfi, the bus stops near the hotel, otherwise you have the risk to go to the Village Santa Agata, which is a 10 min. walk to the hotel. The bus trip from Sorrento to the hotel takes about 20 min. on a beautiful, winding road. The last free shuttle bus to the hotel leaves at 23.30 hrs.
The hotel has a stunning location in the hills of Sorrento, with a beautiful view on the Bay of Naples. We stayed there from 13 – 20 May 2014 and we had to pay 100 euro extra for a room with that view, which is completely worth it. The hotel has a monumental entrance that opens into the large hall. Behind the large desk is a large lounge with easy chairs, a TV and a bar. Staff is very kind and professional and always willing to help you. E-mails are answered within 24 hrs. Trips can be booked at the desk and even tickets for the public bus are sold there (2,20 euro for a single and 6,80 euro for a day ticket). Near the entrance of the hotel you will find a large swimming pool with many easy chairs. The breakfast/dinner restaurant is in the basement, but has the same stunning view as other parts of the hotel.
We asked for a quiet room and we got one (309). It is a rather large room with an impeccably clean, tiled floor. There is a large double bed with two very good and firm mattresses. Two lamps in the room did not work, but were immediately repaired during our dinner. Under a worktable there is a minibar, which is leaking some water inside, which was not corrected after our notification. There is a large linen cupboard with two large mirrors outside. The LCD TV has a lot of channels in several languages. The room has a balcony with a table and two chairs with a view on Sorrento and the Gulf of Naples. We did not need to use the air-conditioner. The bathroom is rather small with a shower, a washstand, a hairdryer and a toilet in it. The shower is excellent, but showering with the hand shower is somewhat problematic: the white handle is loose, causing the shower to turn easily. Alas there is no safety grip on the wall. Towels (3 per person) are changed every two nights, although not always necessary. There are several kinds of amenities.
The hot/cold breakfast buffet is excellent, surely to Italian standards: at least six kinds of bread and ten kinds of sweets/pastries, a lot of milk, meat and cheese products. There are several kinds of juices and fresh oranges are squeezed by the staff. The hot breakfast buffet consisted of scrambled eggs, ham, sausages, etc. We once had diner which was of good quality (25 euro for a three course menu). A bottle of white wine costs 9 euro. Here too, staff is very kind and helpful.
All in all, the hotel is very recommendable. We booked through Travelbird and paid 692 euro for 7 nights including breakfast.
Tip 1: there is a hop-on-hop-off bus along the coast from Sorrento to Amalfi leaving from the train station, with a stop in the magnificent Positano. It is the same route that the public bus follows, but the latter is about 10 euro less. You can take this bus at the bus stop near the hotel and you can have your day ticket at the desk of the hotel. The only problem is that the bus may be overcrowded and that you have to stand in the bus till Positano. In my opinion, Amalfi is not worth a visit, but Ravello the more. So take the bus to Ravello, which is all included in the same ticket.
Tip 2: about 100 mtrs. from the hotel there is an excellent Italian restaurant called ‘I Quatro Venti’ (the 4 winds). It is very cheap and has an acceptable white wine at 8 euro a bottle and a very good red wine at 12 euro a bottle.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have just returned after a 10 day break and have nothing but praise for this hotel and its staff.
The hotel is in a wonderful setting with amazing views. All the staff were both pleasant and extremely helpful nothing was too much trouble. We took the shuttle bus or caught the Sita bus from right outside the hotel to Sorento. We enjoyed the food and the house wine was very reasonably priced. This hotel is not in the centre of things however after a hard days sightseeing we were glad to get back to the peace and tranquillity that the location offered. The village is only a 10 minute walk where there are some very good restaurants and local shops. We will be returning

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank street56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,026 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
574 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
178 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,246 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range: £78 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GRAND HOTEL DUE GOLFI FOUR STARS, BOUNDLESS ELEGANCE! Walk through the doors and past the reception desk to the soaring windows of the guest lounge and you'll see that you have chosen the perfect spot for your holiday in Sorrento: Grand Hotel Due Golfi. The whole of the Italy's Bay of Naples, Sorrento Peninsula, and Mount Vesuvius stretches out before you. Beneath, the hotel's lovely new infinity pool, lush garden, and quiet gazebo beckon. Indulge yourself in a swim with a view, followed by a drink in the shade. Savor the exclusive view of Italy's most famous stretch of coastline from morning to night Unwind in the peace of the pristine coastal village of Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi Relax in the infinity pool overlooking the sparkling waters of the Mediterranean ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing