We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, Great views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, Great views”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. It is actually not in Sorrento. It is in Massa Lubrense, up on the hillside. Way up on the hillside !!! They have a free shuttle to town and back that takes about 15 minutes. Almost every room has a gorgeous view of the Bay of Naples and the island of Capri. The rooms are spacious by European standards as are the bathrooms. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. The free breakfast was outstanding. The restaurant offered many options for dinner. We ate there once and the food was good. The one drawback is the shuttle. It only starts running at 0900 AM. So you can't get an early start unless you order a taxi. It is too far too walk to town. So, you are held captive by their shuttle schedule. That varies on a daily basis. Other than that, we had a great stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the Bay of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLCparrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    520
    274
    74
    34
    7
See reviews for
239
471
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guaruja, SP
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The balcony is large and it's possible to have a great view; the room and bathroom are large too. The hotel has a free shuttle to downtown and it's really necessary. We did a lot of daily excursions, and the best it was full day by boat to Capri.
The breakfast is ok and the dinner has a excelent price for good food.
Finally, we have to do a special thanks: at last day we had our breakfast provided previously - an half hour earlier - because our transfer to Napoli. Extremely kind!
My group and me never forget our stay in Grand Hotel Hermitage.
Great experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomildaAquino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for ten days in August. The hotel staff were very friendly and they went out of their way to welcome you. It is a family run hotel with many guests returning each year. The facilities are limited with quite a small outdoor swimming pool which was in the shade by five o clock in the evening, when we were there. The rooms are adequate but take your own hairdrier as the ones in the bathroom take forever to dry your hair. It is great to have a fridge in the room and also free use of a safe. The area is wonderful, with a typical village five minutes walk away, which has cheap restaurants and a lovely ice cream shop. The roads are a bit scary with very steep,narrow roads with mad motorbikes and scooters everywhere who seem to have no respect for anyone. Pompei is fantastic and we spent five hours there! The coastal road is spectacular but again very scary! Be careful where you park.....we parked our hired car in a red parking area and got a 41euro fine! We attended the Assembly of God church in Sorrento and an interpreter was available to translate the whole service just for myself and my husband! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in August. Staff welcoming and friendly. Fantastic location near St Agata with lots of lovely restaurants. Fabulous view of bay from sea view room, definitely worth the additional cost.
My only Criticism would be too many "canned" food items served in the restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boom, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed at Villa Romita for one week in August and enjoyed our holiday. The staff are very friendly and helpful, food is very good with a choice of dishes every day. The shuttle service to Sorrento is handy, however you need to book well in advance in order to get a seat (only 15 seats). The rooms are very basic, but clean, we were hardly ever there as there is so much to see in the surroundings. The hotel has 4 stars, however, in my opinion is worth 3 stars. There is no free WIFI, but there is a laptop in the main hall that you can use free of charge. The pool is clean, but not very big. The free towel service is also very handy. There is a stunning view over the bay of Naples from the hotel. It is a quiet hotel where mainly couples stay, there were not a lot of children. From Sorrento you can take the fast ferry (40 min. - 25 euro) or the train (1.15 min - 4 euro) to Naples which is worthwile a visit. We also took a trip to Pompei by train (40 min.), a boat trip to Capri and a boat tour to Positano and Amalfi. The excursions offered by the hotel are very good and not too expensive, you get picked up at the hotel which saves you the bother of having to use the shuttle first to Sorrento and than walk down to the harbour which takes about 15 min. a lot of steep steps down (and when you come back up again). We enjoyed our stay and would come back, but next time in spring or automn as it was very hot and very busy in high season.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JojoShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Had a great stay at Grand Hermitage. We stayed at La Romita, which was great. The hotel is located in the center of Sant'Agata, a beautiful little little town with great food. The hotel has a great pool for those days where you just want to relax and enjoy the view, and a shuttle down to Sorrento. I would definitely recommend doing boat tours to either Capri and/or Positano & Amalfi, where the company picks you up directly from the hotel. I will definitely be recommending Grand Hermitage to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our Italy Art & Language school group stayed at Grand Hotel Hermitage in April and loved the whole experience. The hotel staff were magnificent to our students, generous, kind and organised several extremely successful day trips to Capri and the Almalfi Coast. William and Renato were impressed by our school group and praised our students on their good, friendly and respectful behaviour. The meals were amazing, we were even consulted the evening beforehand which dishes we would prefer! They even organised a 'special' last evening with candles, cake and entertainment. The accomodation really suited our school group, in the 'Villa' part of the hotel, it was perfectly well setup with teachers rooms and students nearby. San Agata the village near the hotel, also allowed a safe outing for teenagers to buy gelati, top up phones and to have a sense of freedom. A perfect stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the villa all are great, although the ones with a seaview are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80067 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing