We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good staff, good food, perfect view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“good staff, good food, perfect view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Friendly, helpfully staff! NIce food. Stunning view over Sorrento, the bay of Naples and the Vesuvius. Good location to discover the Amalfi coast, Pompei, Heraculeum, Capri, Naples, The Vesuvius... Shuttle Bus from the hotel to Sorrento and vice versa (6 times a day but in the evening a lot of time in between the transfers)

Room Tip: If you aren't very mobile you shouldn't rent a room in the villa Romita because it is a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boeferkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    513
    270
    73
    32
    7
See reviews for
238
464
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We normally prefer private villa/apartment rentals to hotels but thought we'd give this hotel a shot for a week in Sorrento to avoid having to hire a car - don't think about doing that by the way, the roads/traffic is horrendous & best left to local bus and taxi drivers! Anyway, the hotel is in an absolutely beautiful location with the most fabulous backdrop overlooking the Bay of Naples, Sorrento and beyond to Mt Vesuvios. The rooms are traditional and very clean although best to pay a bit extra to get a balcony with 'that' stunning view. The staff and service were first class and very helpful when booking trips etc. Nice town nearby, Sa Agata which is a 10 min walk and has lots of bars and some nice good value restaurants. Not a huge pool but adequate for a quick dip and we could have spent hours on the terrace with a drink. Overall we had a really nice experience here and would have no problem recommending it to anyone. Would defo come back here again. Jim & Christine Clark

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We only stayed 4 nights but we had a really lovely time at the Hotel hermitage. One thing I would recommend is taking the airport shuttle bus 'Curreiviaggi' from Naples airport & takes you to Sorrento bus station, we then caught a Sita bus to Santa Agata, which dropped us outside the hotel. After that the Hermitage runs very regular shuttles into & out of Sorrento, so no worries about getting another bus to the hotel! We had wonderful views of the Naples bay & Vesuvius, form our hotel room these are so much more spectacular than the views from Sorrento. We had no problems booking trips to the Amalfi Coast, take the sight seeing bus not the standard Sita bus which is much more cramped, we then caught a boat back along the coast to Sorrento. We also went to Capri having caught a boat in Sorrento & also went to Herculaneum, highly recommended, on the Circumvensia train. Couldn't recommend a stay at the Hotel Hermitage or Sorrento more highly. The staff were very friendly & helpful. NB Air-conditioning does work, you just have to ask for it to be out on by reception!

Room Tip: Views from the front of the hotel are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, Uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked this after reading excellent reviews on trip advisor. Firstly the good points, the view from the room is stunning, whatever you do make sure you book a sea view room, secondly with the hotel being up in the hills so to speak, it is very peaceful and tranquil. For us though the bad points far outweighed the above. The food is what you would expect from a 2 star hotel, poor quality and tiny portion sizes. It may well have been a 4 star hotel many many years ago but believe me this hotel is living on its past reputation. Lovely outside space but under utilised, if you want something to eat after 3pm forget it, they stop serving meals/snacks, no form of entertainment at all and a 4 star hotel charging for WiFi? If you are over 60, seek no form of entertainment and are happy with food normally associated with a nursing home you will be okay. The courtesy bus and the amazing view kept us sane.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We arrived at the hotel in the early hours of the morning (2:30) we was offered a drink & a cold dinner we knew we was going to enjoy our holiday.

The hotel is nestled in the mountain overlooking sorrento we had a wonderful sea view on the second floor. It's a perfect location on the ss145 easy to access the amalfi coast and 10 minutes from sorrento.

Our room was traditional as the rest of the hotel is, spacious & spotlessly clean with comfortable enough beds and extra pillows requested were no problem. Clean & fresh linen with towel changes every couple of days. There is also a fridge in the room and to use the air conditioning just ask reception to switch it on for you it's free.

The restaurant was excellent a good choice for breakfast, and dinner was a la carte which you chose at breakfast. If you don't have a good appetite it's a good idea to skip the starter and have the salad bar instead which was all very fresh & the desert trolley was to die for! The drinks throughout the bar & restaurant were reasonably priced and a good wine selection. We also enjoyed the weekly 'sorrento themed evening'.

The pool area is clean with plenty of sun-loungers probably could do with a few more parasols.

The hotel offers excursions and a free return bus service into sorrento which is great if your not driving! Just up the road is the local village which has some great bars & shops & local wine at just 3 euros for a litre, naturally sparkling it was superb.

All of the staff were fantastic, very helpful & polite and nothing was a problem, they even offered us an extra few hours in one of our rooms as we returned home on a late flight.

If we ever returned to sorrento we would stay here, for sure!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view, the higher floor the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel because there was an issue with our booking. The accommodation provider had ultimately screw up. We were due to stay Hotel Sant Agata and were very disappointed when we couldn't stay there. Hotel Sant Agata went well out of their way to help and support us in finding something else and we stayed at Grand Hotel Hermitage.

Overall not bad, the front facing rooms are not great if i'm honest, walls are thin so we could hear the bathroom and all of the noise from next door. Restaurant and food is nowhere near as nice as going out to eat. We had a go so we could escape the hotels food so we only had to endure it for one night.

If i could choose again i wouldn't book this again, its supposed to be very grand and amazing but it did resemble an old people's home. It seemed everyone was over the age of 60 and was planning their excursions really not what we were after.

For such a grand hotel i think there is much more that it could offer and it seemed that it was charging for its reputation. Not bad but as said by fair the worst hotel that we stayed in, on our trip around Italy.

Room Tip: Maybe the back facing rooms facing the swimming pool might have been nicer the ones facing the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Unfortunately this is the first poor review I have posted to TripAdvisor.

We arrived at the hotel mid-afternoon on a Saturday in June and we were greeted by a slightly irate manager, who seemed to have no time for us. Anyway he spoke to us and said that the hotel had made a mistake and was over booked. He suggested that he took us to his ‘family hotel’ up the road.

As people knew where we were staying and I had researched what I thought was going to be a pleasant hotel I was reluctant to move to a hotel that I had heard nothing about . . . which could have been anywhere.

Eventually the manager gave us a key to a room on the 4th floor which was sea view. After all the confusion downstairs this was a welcome surprise as the view from the balcony was amazing.

However, when it came to check out from the hotel the manager confronted us with a 30 Euro charge for the sea view room. It was never agreed that we would pay extra for this room, as when we first arrived to the hotel the manager didn’t even want us to stay there.

When I challenged the extra charge the manager was very abrupt and said he got us a room, so we should pay the extra for it. I have never been dealt with in such a manner in any hotel that I have stayed in before, so I just paid the extra to avoid any arguments and left.

This negative review isn’t about the money but the principal.

Watch out for similar scams during your stay….

Some minor problems with the room:
Only 1 power socket
Hairdryer is from the 50’s
Air Con doesn’t work
Shower is either like a kettle or the artic

Plus points to the hotel:
View
The village of Sant’Agata is beautiful and we watched the World Cup in one of the bars, which had a great village atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmangan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80067 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing