We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
Broughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed there as a family of 4 for 12 nights at the begining of August. Fantastic staff, nothing big or small was a problem for them. Clean and functional room with an amazing view of the bay, Sorrento and Mount Vesuvius. Lovely food, nice swimming pool, free shuttle buses to Sorrento and easy walking distance of Sant'Agata. If you are going to Italy with your family I would highly recommend booking in at The Grand Hermtiage

Room Tip: A sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    268
    71
    32
    7
See reviews for
235
461
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great hotel . Lovely food. Free pool towels. Nice rooms but not all rooms have a balcony so be careful when booking and definitely specify what type of room. We had to pay extra €10 per night to have a room with a balcony even though we had our view spoilt with a big tree and I mean big tree. So I felt duped. No other complaints really exept everything you buy at hotel is put on your room so you pay at end of your stay. This doesn't help with spending cos it's too easy to go overboard. Wine at dinner very expensive. You have to specify exactly which wine if you want the cheapest because even if you ask for the house wine they will then give you an expensive bottle and you don't realise because you don't pay and don't get a receipt or anything until end of stay. Clever way of them making money. But the waiter service in restaurant is top class ands really makes you feel like in posh hotel too. Also lunch at pool bar bit on expensive side.

Room Tip: Definitely specify high floor and balcony. Not terrace as you just get a bow shaped railing with har...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corinnekj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 7 nights in July. The hotel was everything we wanted, in a nice quiet location away from the heart of Sorrento. The best things about the hotel were the amazing views and a surprise local village which made a nice change from going into Sorrento.
The hotel had great facilities and pool area, there was an overall friendly atmosphere. The staff were always happy to help even offered to make us a special breakfast at 5am when we had to check out for an early flight. The selection and variety of choice at breakfast was excellent and delicious.
The only one draw back was that the shuttle bus provided by the hotel to take us to Sorrento town was too irregular, as there were only set times. So there were times when we would have liked to have left earlier from Sorrento but had to wait until a 11pm bus. The other issue was that the bus only held around 15 people so if there were more people waiting they would need to have another bus sent out.
Overall our experience in Sorrento was glorious and this is mainly because of the hotel! Thanks!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I spent 1 week half board with my partner and two children aged 11. The staff were very welcoming and engaging with both adults and children.

The hotel is approx. 10 minutes walk from St Agata which is a lovely village with several bars and shops, more reasonably priced than Sorrento. We took the local tourist train from the village square at 10 euro for adults and 5 euro for children a delightful 3 hours spent.

Courtesy bus from the hotel to Sorrento was regular and very punctual. On one occasion the bus was full so the hotel organised for another to take us down to Sorrento within 5 minutes. Great Service. On another occasion at the last pick up time from Sorrento at 11am the mini buses were both full, the hotel arranged for another to return to pick us up. This did make a late night with 2 children but I cannot fault the service (other than perhaps a larger bus!).

The hotel I have to say is very traditional which my partner and I both like, but it is tired and requires updating. I have never had an issue sleeping in any bed in any hotels but this one was extremely hard and made sleeping very difficult. My sons slept in a metal bunk bed that had a very thin mattresses and scrape marks on the ends. The room was very cramped with the bunk bed in the room also. The food at the hotel was fine and plentiful and always served with a smile and efficiency.

The swimming pool was clean and warm and provided a safe and fun place for the kids. There is only 1 table tennis table for the kids to amuse themselves with. Football therefore united the kids from several countries on an evening which was lovely to see.

This was a difficult hotel to review as we enjoyed our stay, and the hotel, but after staying at other hotels this would be a good 3 star hotel but not a 4 star as it really does need some money spent on it.

Room Tip: 5th floor has fantastic views but only 1 lift so be prepared to use the stairs a lot. The rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janep2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

We've just got back from having spent two weeks as this hotel. To start with the negatives - we had a family room which was very cramped; I think it was actually a normal double room with bunk beds squeezed in for the kids. The bed was the most firm I have every experienced. For the first few days the weather was rainy / overcast and other than walk in to Saint Agata or get the shuttle to Sorrento (neither of which fills a full day unless your eating out), we did feel quite isolated and somewhat bored as there was nothing to do but sit around and read. Other than the pool and a well used table tennis table there are few facilities. We were half board and the food was generally no more than ok (on occasion it was very good), though there was loads of it.

Now the positives - it is kept very clean throughout and the staff were wonderful; they were all extremely helpful and friendly. If all you want is a base to see this part of Italy or (providing the weather is good) to relax by the pool then it cannot be faulted. It is very cosmopolitan with guests from the USA, Belgium, Holland, France and obviously the UK. What was also pleasing was that generally, all the guests were great; it was fantastic to see kids from all nationalities playing in the pool together and on our last night playing football together on the forecourt between the pool and bar. If at all possible, get a room facing the sea - the views across the Bay of Naples are exceptional.

If you are planning any trips, then I would recommend either doing them through the hotel or independently rather than through your tour operator. We went to Pompeii and Vesuvius by train from Sorrento at a fraction of the cost that we would have been charged by our tour company.

Room Tip: Sea view across the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our road trip. The hotel is set high up above Sorrento, so if you have not got your own transport you are confined to relying on the hotel shuttle or the buses. This was not applicable to us but we did hear that the shuttle was full on some nights ! Warmly greeted on arrival by reception who were very friendly and professional. Our room was lovely as we had an upgrade overlooking the pool and the bay of Sorrento. Everything in the hotel is very clean and we slept well. The breakfast was a very good spread with scrambled eggs, bacon as well as the usual choices of cold meats fruit etc. The pool was a major disappointment for us as it seemed to be closed in with no views to be had. The steps getting in and out were a bit loose and slippery, in fact I grazed my shins climbing out, so I decided that was the end of my pool time. Lots of children shouting, I know I'm getting old, but I really don't expect or want 18 to 20 year olds hollering in my earhole. But hey, just a heads up. You can walk to a nice village to sample the restaurants which is well worth a look. We drove down to Sorrento station to catch a train to Herculaneum which is well worth the trip or Pompei which is on the same line, much easier than driving there. So don't get me wrong the hotel is fine but just not for us. We would not return to this hotel for reasons already stated. Sorrento itself is lovely but if you want to be in the heart of it, this is probably not the hotel to choose.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Had a lovely night in the hotel last week. We had the most perfect walk into the neighbouring town of Sant'Agata for dinner at Ristorante da Mimi. Thank you to boss man Renato for looking after us.......please remember to send Anna one of your amazing bath mats !! ;-) Peter & Anna

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghReds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,954 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80067 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing