We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort over panoramic view”
Review of Villa Romita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Romita
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Despite the size of the hotel, we received a heartfelt welcome. It was on the last night before the hotel was shut down for the winter. We were upgraded to a lovely room with a panoramic view overlooking the bay. For dinner, they recommended 'Lo Stuzzichin' - a fantastic family run restaurant. All in all, it was a much welcome stop over, but for the breakfast, which lacked the same personal touch.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is very difficult to review, as with any review it is always a matter of personal opinion.


The location is excellent, views of Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples, spectacular ! Villa Romita is spotlessly clean. St Agata is a 5 minute walk and has a couple of nice bars and restaurants, also a couple of supermarkets, so very convenient. The Hotel Hermitage (down a small incline) has a free shuttle bus service every hour to Sorrento. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble. In fact the staff make the place, I am not happy giving a negative review as the staff were so lovely, however, you cannot run a business on the basis that the staff are superb and I feel I must be honest.

Villa Romita is a 2 star at best and I think we had one of the best rooms. We were on the first floor with a side view of the Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. The room and the bathroom were really clean. The room was tiny with 2 single beds pushed together. The linen is ancient and threadbare, the sheets were changed twice over a 7 night stay. The room is so small that the wardrobe door opens onto the bed (you cannot pass without closing it). There is a small fridge in the room, this is locked and the power cable is inside, you have to request it to be unlocked and then pay 10 euro to use it (odd !). There is a small safe in the cupboard, this is free. The curtains are hanging down in the room. There is no bath, only a shower, and nowhere to put any toiletries. There are 2 pillows supplied (we used a spare blanket folded up as an extra pillow, which the maid kindly refolded each day !) Two towels were supplied each day,no hand towels so washing one's hair was difficult. IT I WAS REALLY NOISY in the Villa, tiled floors and staircases so unavoidable whichever room you had. It was quite busy so there were people coming in at midnight and 1am, just talking normally and walking to thier rooms but so noisy you woke every time. Also anyone getting up early distrubed you in the same way, it was really quite distracting. The walls are paper thin, you can hear conversations, televisions, and snoring, unfortunately for us there was a very loud snorer in the room above, we were so fed up we had to laugh about in the end. The Villa was full as was the hotel so no chance of moving, although in all honesty it would not have made a difference, it is a noisy building. It has a roof terrace with a couple of chairs and a lovely view.

The Hotel Hermitage is not a lot better, you only sleep in Villa Romita - thank goodness - everything else is provided by the hotel. Considering what we paid for the 7 nights in the Villa (and we got a discount) I would have expected 3/4 star accommodation at least. We were charged 145 euros for the Saturday night of our stay and on average 90 euros a night for the other 6 nights. The Hotel Hermitage is much more expensive so we expected the facilities there to be of a much higher standard. Unfortunately not - as mentioned the staff are wonderful but it ends there.

The breakfast is the worst I have ever had, orange juice that was so sweet it was undrinkable, coffee from a machine with powdered milk, rock hard pastries, boiled eggs that were black inside. The only hot offering was scambled egg and mini frankfurters sitting in trays and not very appetising. There was bread that you could toast, yoghurt and a small selection of cheese and meat, all in all not nice at all. However, the room itself is pleasant enough and there is an option to sit on the terrace. This is not a 4 star standard of breakfast.

The pool which we could also use was OK, only OK, very small, freezing cold, lots of sunbeds but mostly they were very dirty, the tiles were sticky and there is grass and weeds growing up between the stones along the outer section of sunbeds. Not what you expect for 4 star accommodation.

I could go on but I won't. We loved the area and hired a car for 4 days, the shuttle is reliable but only goes to Sorrento and there is so much to see. We were however very disappolinted overall, considering the cost of the Villa for the week, we expected some good 3/4 star accommodation, this was not the case.

I wouild return to the area in a flash but not to Villa Romita or Hotel Hermitage. such a shame as the staff are fantastic.

Room Tip: Don't stay there !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annabelle040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

This is a stunning place that is not in the centre of Sorrento, so be prepared to travel 20/30 mins into the centre. There was a free bus into Sorrento with taxis/car hire easy to organise.
The Villa, which is a 2 minute walk up from the Hotel Hermitage, is a much better place to stay than the hotel, due to its location and history. If possible get a top floor room as the view of Sorrento and Vesuvius in one word - breathtaking.
Near the end of the holiday it was noisy a few nights it was catering for travellers over 1/2 nights. So, with people coming and going it could be noisier than usual, however it was very very quiet for the most part until the start of June kicked in, but this also didn't spoil any of the trip. It is just something to be aware of.
You feel connected to the culture and people by staying here. This is a 19th century Colonial villa and captures a traditional - rustic Italy, particularly as you are surrounded by the hills, orchards and fruit.
Upon on the terrace roof you can relax and watch the ships roll in and there are books to read in the hall if you don't have your Kindle with you!
At the back of the villa is a long path surrounded by lemon trees. This nice short walk through labyrinth like back streets lead into the local village of Sant' Agata sui Due Golfi.
The bells of the old church in the village ring out for mass regularly and beckon you to visit and here you can sink into the village life.
There is a great little place to grab some take away pizza and pasta, also a couple of restaurants, cafe bars, small supermarkets and few shops for some interesting gifts.
Sant' Agata is a great experience for all ages and I highly recommend the Villa Romita for some peace and quiet. You have the option of Sorrento and all it has to offer in nightlife, arts and shopping, but the villa is an ideal place to relax and even get some paper work done!
I do not recommend the Hotel Hermitage for food, crowded, some expensive and just basic snacks and overall basic choices.
Spend your time in Sorrento with its varied choice of places to eat and Sant' Agata, which truly creates a non tourist feel.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, housekeeping are great and the villa captures a lovely rustic feel in look, but is a very clean place to stay.
If you want a traditional treat with the bonus of being close to the options of Sorrento, then Villa Romita is the place to visit.

Room Tip: All top floors for the Villa - or any compared to the hotel - avoid the Hotel if possible, saw these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rubyrouge79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

Stayed at the grand hotel hermitage.
Dissapointed firstly with the location around 5 miles to the main town which the hotel supply a shuttle bus, if you don't book in advance you don't get on. Taxi is between €25-40.
Staff are very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very basic and the orange juice wasn't fresh considering everywhere you turn is an orange grove.
Now to the bedrooms: you can hear the comings and goings of all the guests leaving and arriving to their rooms, pretty annoying when some are getting up at 6:00 am!!!! ( your on holiday!!!) has a very small television with sky news that's all. if you want to get English channels you have to pay €8 a day. But wasn't that bothered.
Lovely views.
Pool was freezing!! The sea was warmer (no joke).
Stay at a hotel closer to Sorrento if you can.
But Sant Agata is a 5 minute walk and that's a beautiful town with some great restaurants and café's.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joegilis10086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Our twin room was a decent size but had a smallish window,fortunately lots of sun and light most days.The bathroom was nice, plenty hot water.The views , pool, lounge etc at the attached hotel Grand hermitage were all lovely, fantastic views over Sorrento day and night.The staff were excellent , friendly and helpful.The courtesy bus was good but needed to be booked.Local buses were also good and cheap but i imagine could be busy in high season(and so dont always stop)food was goood.Breakfast had hot food as well as a range of rolls,croissants, cereals, yoghurt,chees, ham sweet things jam, juice,coffee,a variety of teas etc,what else could you want?
Dinners were very good,waiter service,food ordered at breakfast, good service.A salad table every night then 3 courses Wine wasnt cheap but neither was it outrageous. We passed on Sorrento of an evening having usually been trailing about in the day seeing this and that .we walked to the village which we loved and had coffee and a large brandy for 5 euros , pretty good!! Nice places to eat in the village should you choose at night or lunch if you have a space ! All in all really good value , peaceful and easily repeatable, ps very reasonable beauty treatments if wanted!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank opinion1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Villa Romita is adjacent to The Grand Hermitage Hotel which is situated several kilometers from Sorrento.The rooms are very basic but clean. There is no lift and 3 flights of stairs to the top floor so it might not be suitable for those with mobility problems However, the views from the bedroom window were the most stunning I have ever seen. We were disturbed by noisy guests several times on the 1st night. The Management moved us to a quieter room after we insisted on being moved.
The main hotel is charming and the food was very good. If I was returning I would book a room in the main hotel. This hotel has an "old world charm" and would appeal to couples.The staff are polite and helpful. Sorrento is stunning and we enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PISCESCo_Down
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

I was a little disappointed with my recent stay at the Villa Romita. It is located on the same property as the Grand Hermitage. The location is about a 20 minute drive into the town of Sorrento. We would have preferred a hotel closer to the town. The view from the roof of hotel was beautiful, but we did not have windows in our room in which we could enjoy the view. The windows were smaller than those in my basement. The hotel claims to have parking available, but if you are out late at night, you will have trouble finding space. The hotel offers a free shuttle into Sorrento, but you have to book your time in advance. We drove our rental car to Sorrento and parked in one of the paid areas. The address provided does not take you to the correct location when using navigation aids - it is about 300-400 m further up the road.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mtntrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Pergoletta
Hotel La Pergoletta
#8 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romita

Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range: £78 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Romita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Romita Hotel Sant`Agata Sui Due Golfi
Romita Hotel Sorrento
Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing