We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel is 7 kilometers far from Sorrento”
Review of Villa Romita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Romita
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
32
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jordanstown,N Ireland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

Lovely setting overlooking Sorrento-particularly peaceful after the town's hustle and bustle. Courtesy bus could run a couple more times per day but local bus stop is right outside the hotel.Get tickets at hotel beforehand as not all "Tabac" sell them. Rooms in villa are basic but clean and comfortable. Didn't see why people complained about breakfast. The choice seemed fairly good to us and the evening meals were pretty good too. The staff were very welcoming as were the 3 dogs who often accompanied us on the walk uphill to the villa.Many people seem to return year after year.Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelkidx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I stayed here with my Mother and Aunt for 1 week in June and we were thrilled with the hotel and the location. The Villa is basic but clean and comfortable with a nice rustic feel. Initially I was disapointed with our room as it had no balcony but I quickly overcame this as we found that there was an emormous roof top terrace just a few steps from our room. Breakfast was fine, not amazing, but dinner was very good compared with other half board hotels. We eat at the hotel 4 evenings and went to Sorrento and Saint Agata to eat the other 3 nights. Recommend Los Stuzzichinos in St Agata, past the Church, also the Forreigners club and Restaurant 'o Parrucchiano in Sorrento - great food and atmostphere.
We really enjoyed the location of the hotel and felt we were getting the best of both worlds being set up in the hills near a pretty village and also 15/20 mins drive from Sorrento. We walked down 2 mornings which was really lovely. The courtesy bus worked really well for us and we also got the local buses on a few occasions which were easy to use - just be sure to get a ticket BEFORE you wait for the bus - either at the hotel reception or at newsagents.
One piece of advice, if you're traveling from Ireland and haven't booked yet, deals seem to be much better from belfast rather than Dublin. I found out that a couple who traveled from belfast paid half what we did!! athough, in saying that, it didn't spoil my mood, loved every second of this holiday, great hotel, location, food, the most beautiful views and weather....highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mudwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2009

Villa Romita was just as we had expected from the other reviews. The rooms were very basic but clean and we had a wonderful view from our balcony. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Although we were half board we only had dinner twice over the course of a week - we feel that there are so many other fab places to eat in Sorrento that we didn't want to miss out(half board had been our only option). There is a lovely pizzeria in Sant Agata called Mimi's which was amazingly cheap and the most wonderful pasta and pizza. Also order wine by the carafe and its very good and so reasonable. If you are a fooie, there is a renowned Michelin star restaurant in St Agata called Don Alfonso which is supposed to be amazing. We didn't go as we had already been, earlier in the week, to a Michelin star r'ant in Sorrento called Al Buco which it fabulous.St Agata is generally a nice wee village with excellent value in authentic Italian food, gorgeous icecream and very cheap to have drinks, coffees etc. If you do tire of the breakfast at the hotel, I would recommend going to the village for coffee and croissants, yum!
We travelled down into Sorrento alot - as we had been there before we felt a bit disappointed that our villa was so far out. We has numerous fiascos with waiting for buses for what seemed like far too long. They are fairly unreliable and the coutesy bus is too infrequent to plan your day around. I didn't feel that it was walking distance even though we do walk alot - in the heat it would be quite a trek.
All in all it was a great holiday and Villa Romita is a tranquil, quaint release from the business of Sorrento but if you like being near lots of shops, restaurants, bars and liveliness I would suggest staying somewhere closer to Sorrento

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanne_mcturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

As already mentioned in other reviews, the villa is linked to the Grand Hotel Hermitage. We stayed half board, and although the breakfast is just OK - dinner is great value. Salad Bar, pasta, main course and dessert. " choices for each course, and if you don't like anything - just ask for something else - the staff were very accomodating. In fact there were the best !!

The only thing I did'nt like was that the local bus service is not very reliable. Buses from Positan and Amalfi tended to be overly full, which could mean a long wait. This was also problematic on a Sunday when the hotel service to Sorrento does not operate.

Sant Agata is a nice little village, do eat lunch there. Very cheap. There is alittle pizza place just as you enter the village from the Villa laneway. Definitely the best pizza I've ever had.

Views from the hotel are beautiful - do try the walk into Sorrento via the path. 20 minutes into Sorrento. Don't try walking back up though - very very steep.


Rooms are nothing special but very clean and do have Sky. Fresh towels etc every day.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisbon1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
281 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2009

Only a pleasant tree-lined 50 yard stroll from, & operated by the 4 star Grand Hotel Hermitage, which is just down the hill from the center of Sant' Agata. This small villa is a gem of a place to stay. We had room #10 with a large wrap-around balcony overlooking the entire town of Sorrento, The Med & back across the mountain valley towards Positano. One of the most strikingly beautiful views I've ever had from a hotel room. Large room with big recently remodeled bath. Perfect. 60 Euros double with breakfast. Get room #11 as a 2nd choice. During season breakfast is served on the first floor of the Villa, which also has a small bar for evening cocktails, & a lovely outdoor seating area. Unfortunately, this will translate into lots of noise in the AM & PM, since these lovely old cement structures echo noise terribly. Off-season breakfast is taken in the main hotel dining room. Breakfast is fairly standard fare. OK, but nothing great, & would is truly monotnous after the 2nd day since nothing changes. It is also the only place in Italy where was saw powdered eggs every monring, which were horrible. The place is of better quality than to serve such. Internet access is available for 3 Euro's an hour & they provide you a laptop. They were also installing Sky TV for English language stations while we were there, & the front desk staff speaks fluent English if that is important to you. The main hotel also offers truly stunning views from every public room, & has a fantastic deck & pool area for evening drinks to take in the sunset of The Med & Sorrento, which is only a 15 minute drive away. If you visit the area be sure to drive down to Marina Cantone which is right on sea, after passing through Nerano. Enjoy a great meal of fresh caught seafood at 1 of several restaurants. We have enjoyed Capitano's on several prior visits.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smvhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

The Villa Romita is a separate building but really a part of the Grand Hotel Hermitage. There is a short walk up a steady incline, not very steep, from reception up to the Villa Romita. The hotel's 3 friendly setters are always nearby when you are walking. We had 3 rooms for 6 people for three days. The rooms are simply furnished, but roomy, comfortable and clean. We had our own rented van and were able to park right next to the Villa Romita.

The reception staff are very professional, helpful, and speak good English. The setting is very peaceful and relaxing, with wonderful views over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples from the rooms' balconies and the hotel pool terrace. The hotel is very convenient as a base to visit Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. The private walk to the town of Sant'Agata is very pleasant, as is the town itself. It has a couple of hotels, shops, and several restaurants. Our last night we enjoyed a great meal at a very reasonable price at Lo Stuzzichino, a family-run restaurant in town.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting and views
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHFlutist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#43 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
Ulisse Deluxe Hostel
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Romita

Property: Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Romita 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Romita Hotel Sant`Agata Sui Due Golfi
Romita Hotel Sorrento
Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing