We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Agree with the bad comments”
Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
Reviewed 21 September 2011

Stayed at the hotel from 7th to 14th Sept 2011. Really helpful staff especially in the Resturant, where we were treated with the utmost courtesy. Yes we were asked to give a preference for dinner sittings BUT this was not adhered to at all. Luigui (head waiter) was prompt with the menu and wine list which arrived promptly after ordering. The whole hotel was kept spotless whilst we were there, and yes our room was small,but we had a lovely terrace. Very good public transport right outside the hotel, or from the town centre. If we were thinking of coming back to this area it would be a return to this Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank britlady38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (574)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

I wouldn't normally write a report about a hotel but I'm so disgusted with the so called complimentary bus service from the hotel to Sorrento (which is 7km's away!) The bus service was restricted to 4 times during the day and you had to book in advance, which isnt ideal when you are on holiday! However the 'free' evening bus service which allowed you only 3 hours in Sorrento was 6 euros per person, that was if you were lucky enough to have other guests travelling with you (it wouldn't operate if there were less than 6 people). 3 nights in a row as we were so desperate to escape the boredom of the hotel and the other guests who were tucked up in bed by 10pm - we were encouraged by the hotel to join up with another couple and pay 18 euros per couple to compensate for there only being 4 of us!!! As we refused to line the pockets of the hotel any more we decided to get the rather unreliable public bus service, as this was now operating a winter timetable (from 14th September) the hotel had provided us with the wrong bus times and one night we were stranded in Sorrento.
Luckily we were bed and breakfast as we heard reports that the evening food was quite poor. The hotel is in a beautiful position but that's about all it has going for it.

Room Tip: book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank zoe n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Hotel Iaccarino sits proudly on the Nastro Verde, just below Sant'Agata, some 3 km above Sorrento. Its layout is slightly eccentric, seemingly put together from more than three separate buildings on a number of levels. This may add to the individual charm of the place, though it can make finding the reception or dining room a challenge on day one.
Staff address patrons in a way that is almost extinct in the Anglo Saxon world and a million miles from ‘American’ customer service values. They are courteous, efficient and take great pride in their expertise without over familiarity. The head waiter at all meal sittings is an excellent example of this, immaculately attired, he greeting guests one by one, while barking fierce commands to his staff in Neapolitan dialect. The menu is as conservative as one might expect; traditional Italian dishes stay within the range of the tourist palette and while not inspirational, the cuisine is varied and adeptly served. The second sitting at dinner is probably the best bet in terms of atmosphere, as this when the Italians naturally eat. Be warned however, service can sometimes be slow as a result. You may also witness regular patrons being served ahead of the package holiday guests, which can be frustrating in the extreme. The Iaccarino is a four star hotel and it seems to just hang to this rating yet in a very Italian way - by creating 'La Bella Figura', a refined and dignified atmosphere in the food, bar and main seating areas. They may have overdone the provision of chairs however, as my partner and I counted some 94 separate seats on the ground floor bar and reception area alone! The rooms are not generously appointed, the bathroom fittings appear 50 years old and some of the views are disappointing to say the least, but the Iaccarino makes for a very pleasant stay, in a charming location and manages to retain much of the splendour of a bygone era.

Room Tip: Speak Italian but don't tip staff directly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GiantSteps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I read review before I went and we booked late so not surprised to get the box room overlooking someones courtyard. Room very shabby with smell of drains. They have two sitting for dinner and ask you to be prompt and then leave you sat there for half hour with no drinks and no menu. very badly managed and staff mostly rude and unfriendly. I'm sat here now with stomach upset. Could've picked this up elsewhere but shared panino etc with companion and they are fine. only ate different things at hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mumandteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My friends and I loved it here! We ended up extending our stay and had a wonderful time. The hotel offers a bunch of excursions to the surrounding islands, so you can just book a ticket the night before and spend the next day in Capri, or Almafi and have the transportation, etc. all taken care of. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly, beautiful accommodations, loved the pool, AMAZING view!!!! Book a room overlooking the sea, totally worth the extra few euros:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We had a great week at this beautiful hotel in July. It had wonderful communal areas & a spacious dining room. The food was traditional Italian and of a very high standard. There were always four starters & mains to choose from and it was waiter service which made it more of an occasion. Only once did I not like what I had ordered but this posed no problem & another choice was served to me. Breakfast was superb with freshly brewed coffee and tea with a selection of cereals, meats, fresh fruit yogurts,scrambled egg and breads to choose from.
The sea view we opted for at extra cost was a waste of money as if a balcony is not also paid for the sea view is from a small attic window - a tad disappointing!!

Room Tip: Pay for a balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank SarahnJ0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The hotel is about an hour and a half from Napoli airport. We were looking for a relaxing break and this was the perfect spot. It is in Sant Agata where there are some little shops and restaurants.The hotel bar was pricey at 6 euros for a beer so we spent most evenings at Bar Orlando, a v short walk from the hotel.The beer here was far better value at 3 euros and twice the size!

There is a courtesy bus to Sorrento from the hotel which can be booked.The times are a little limited though.There are also SITA buses running past the hotel.

The food and customer service in this hotel cannot be faulted.

If we were to return we would probably hire a car.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thesmileyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range: £71 - £822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing