We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel in a stunning location”
Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed in Room 39 in August which coincided with Ferragosto on 15th August, the biggest summer feast day in Italy. On arrival are luggage was promptly taken to our rooms, all reception stay were extremely friendly and helpful. Don't understand some comments about the receptionist with american accent, she was very helpful and cheerful. We requested a minibar for cold water which promptly arrived at our room. The room was sizeable and good standard, the lack of air conditioning was not a problem at all. We had one minor problem in the room with the shower and this was resolved promptly, can't ask for more than that.

It felt like you were in a proper Italian village with the church bells ringing from the town of Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi and the occasional sound of the cockerels.

The Hotel reception area was stunning and the restaurant served good quality food. Breakfast offerings were basic but perfectly good. The bar and it's terrace offered stunning views over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples including the impossible to miss Vesuvius. Bar staff very friendly and drinks were high quality, naturally more expensive in Hotel than local bars, but isn't that always the case with hotels. People staying at the hotel were all lovely and not chavs. The swimming pool was a perfect size and our daughter loved it and made friends. The pool had a lunch time bar area which served good quality and generous food portions/snacks.
Our favourite night was the 15 August, all the restaurant tables were moved from the restaurant to around the swimming pool (see photo attached). You shared a table with other families/guests which was fabulous. Music and Fireworks followed the meal.

At the back of the hotel and a short 2 minute walk, you arrive in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi which is subtlety touristy with a couple of bars/restaurants including the very welcoming and family run Bar Orlando. Sant'Agata was lovely and had real Italians living there. We actually preferred it vastly to Sorrento town itself which was very touristy and most shops sold the same tacky items. The hotel offered a great and free shuttle service to the Sorrento.

If you do one excursion from the Hotel, then the Amalfi drive is the one to do, the scenery is unbelievable.

We don't normally stay again in the same place, but we will definitely be going back to the Jaccarino in a couple of years time. Fantastic holiday.

My wife says she could retire in Sant'Agata.

Room Tip: Ask for a minibar to store your own water you buy. You don't pay for it unless you take what'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BrunoScalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2013

Hotel was spotless. The meals were fantastic and the service in the resturant was excellent. The manager of the hotel was really nice and his time were very efficient. Young Simone on reception was a gem, she was excellent, pleasant and efficient. Everyone was so nice.

The hotel is in a quiet area and there in no trouble getting into Sorrento as there is a shuttle service. This wasd very efficient as was the driver. I would love to stay at this hotel again without any hesitation. Views were spectacular and there is a small village behind the hotel call Saint Agata which is lovely with places to eat etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lou_Lou84Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We travelled to this hotel as part of a package booked very last minute, having been diverted from our scheduled trip to the Almeria region of Spain which was flooded out. My 83 year old mother travelled with us and we were all more than satisfied with this hotel - accessibiity was excellent - lifts to all floors - the only steps to negotiate were from the terrace to the pool but there was adequate support. Rooms spacious and well equipped - communal areas very much in Italian style with comfortable sofas - restaurant and food - what more can we say - the Maitre'D Nino and his staff ensured that all guests were 'special' (especially the ladies of all ages!) Food and wine excellent - prices of drinks etc were reasonable for a hotel. Sunloungers very comfortable and pool clean. The views of Mount Versuvious from the hotel terrace were breathtaking. Whilst the hotel was a few Kms from the centre of Sorrento, the fact that you could be in the cent of the village of St Agate within a couple of minutes allowed us to feel part of a community, not just stuck in an isolated hotel. There was good local bus services from the village, including the hop on hop off bus and the local gelateria was worth a visit. We would recommend and happily return to this hotel if we were visiting this part of Italy again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook Mt Versuvius and have a small balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SqueekMorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

The first my husband and I stayed here was in July, two nights only, purely by accident but I can say that it was well worth it. We returned again in September! The view from our sea view balcony was absolutely amazing. While we are used to a bigger hotel with larger pool area and closer to the town of Sorrento, we were so surprised by the relaxing atmosphere and feeling of space although the hotel was fully booked. The staff were very helpfull and friendly, especially the head waiter, Nino. He could not have done enough for us, coping with a husband who is a fussy eater and myself who requires a special gluten free diet. So if you have any dietery problems please don't worry about eating in his restaurant. No meal was a problem for him.
Rachelle, Scotland

Room Tip: Just make sure that you book a room with sea view. You will not regret it, 1st or 2nd floor above re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachellescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This hotel was part of a package organized by Walkers' World out of Toronto. We were a group of 17 and upon arrrival our bags were taken by porters to our rooms..easy peasy! We stayed for a week. Was worried because of previous reviews, but I had a great room, #6, with a huge balcony, beautiful bathroom, and comfy bed. Room was spotless. Lobby area was neat, and also spotless. I must disagree with previous posters about the food. I found it excellent! You are in Italy, after all...it ain't gonna be roast with mash and veg! One of our group was celiac, and maitre d' ensured she got gluten free at every meal...toast, cereal, pasta etc! Location is excellent, an easy walk into the village, which is wonderfully Italian and quaint. Hotel bus to Sorrento a treat, but easy enough on public transport too. Barman was nice, glass of wine €4, but I guess standard for hotel. Good wine by the bottle available in village grocery stores though...LOL.
Only two complaints: no wi-fi except in the lobby, at a cost of €5 for an hour! Get into the 21st century, people! This was a major pain. Secondly, no ice machine! Bartender could not be persuaded to provide ice for guests who might have wanted a martini in their room. More importantly, as we were on a walking trip, one of our guys wanted to ice his knee but thebarman feared for his job by providing ice!
All in all though, would definitely recommend this hotel. Front desk staff were amazingly helpful too.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank peggv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We booked this Hotel on a last minute holiday 6 days before arriving. On first impression the Hotel seemed very quiet and we requested to pay for an upgrade to a Sea View with Balcony-- we were not disappointed the view from the higher floor was stunning -- The room was very bright, clean & spacious with Maid service every day. We stayed on a Half Board Basis-- both the Breakfast & evening meals were delicious with plenty of choice. All the staff were fantastic. Free Shuttle Bus although not available on a Sunday ( the driver did try to overtake on sharp bends and could have taken more care but it seems that is the way everyone drives in Italy!
To summarise we will definitely return & recommend this Hotel--- Just Lovely .

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view with Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 945Cat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

On arrival at hotel porter was there to take suitcases. which were promptly located to our room. Some rooms a little dated, but expected. A few have been Refurbished. Cleanliness excellent. Clean towels every day. Rooms tidied if needed. Staff were helpful. Would have been nice to see the manager of hotel mingle with guests. Was seen but at a distance.
Food was good but was repeated week later. Breakfast was a good selection for all. Nino head waiter was freindly. as was all the staff in the Restruant. Head waiter in bar was excellent. polite and profesiomal.
The hotel has good mini bus service down to Sorrento. Morning and evening.
If your a walker you may enjoy the walk down to Sorrento (30 mins) from hotel. But you may think twice about walk back up (60 mins). with a few dtops on the way. So book mimi bus for return to hotel. Buses pass hotel regular.

Room Tip: Room 91 could be a problem for some guest due to traffic passing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MutleyTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,026 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
1,034 reviews
2.2 mi away
Residence Gocce di Capri
Residence Gocce di Capri
#9 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range: £71 - £822 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing