We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views!”
Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic views!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Thomson travellers - we landed on Friday at 5.50 and it took 3 hours to get to hotel!!! There is one road into sorrento and it was so busy stop start all the way. Be aware it takes longer than the brochure suggests for transfer time! Hotel fab - our room 80 small but very clean. To upgrade to sea view it is 40 euros per night so up to you if you want this or maybe it's included in your package!
They stayed open late in the restaurant for us as they normally close at 9.00pm. It's a good hours walk down a cobbled steep hill which no one had really mentioned. Wear trainers! The hotel offers bus service 4 times down and back which you need to book the day before. We also bought a 3 day pass for the local buses so we had freedom of movement around and to our hotel. Hotel staff friendly and restaurant high class with staff wearing cream and gold uniform. Lift up to rooms or stairs if you want to get fit! Pool open 9-6.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mallardavenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    214
    92
    56
    12
See reviews for
116
273
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have just returned from two weeks at hotel Iaccarino/Jaccarino on a B & B basis. We had a very pleasant stay in the hotel and it seems churlish to pick holes. However, as a regular visitor to Trip Advisor when choosing hotels it would be unfair not to point out the good and bad of this hotel.
This is quite an old building which is well maintained by the staff and its location offers one of the finest views of the whole bay of Naples and Vesuvius. From the restaurant and terrace one can see Sorrento and the many little hamlets in the area. If you can manage it, do pay the extra for a front facing room and not in the attic as the experience of being able to sit on ones balcony sipping a drink watching evening fall on Sorrento is well worth the price. The rooms seem to vary in size as ours was one of the largest we have had in a major resort area. The furniture is genuinely antique with lots of storage space and the now usual safe. The bathroom however was somewhat dated having an odd blue tiling scheme and the mirror was spotted where the silvering on the back was deteriorating. The shower was very powerful with lots of hot water but it was damaging the door as it was impossible to stop the shower water hitting it.The pool is lovely with fabulous views and plenty of loungers and chairs for guests.
The staff are the stars of this hotel. The reception staff were always on hand to advise regarding transport and tours and the dining room staff lead by Nino and Luigi had a laugh and a smile for everyone each day. The late night bar man was also a lovely cheerful face to meet each evening and the housekeeper always had a cheery word each morning.

So why reservations? Location, location, location. The views are fantastic but it does mean that the hotel is 9km by road from Sorrento and this means that one needs to catch the hotel shuttle, which runs into town 4 times in the morning and 4 in the evening for free. If you want the shuttle at night it's €36 each way for the bus to run. Actually, that's not too bad when you consider that a taxi from Sorrento station is €44. The public bus from outside the gate, or better still from the village is the most efficient means of getting about, but watch the timetable which is a bit messy to follow at first. There is a walking path which is about €2.5km long into Sorrento but it would not suit anyone with small children or with walking difficulties and the hotel staff don't seem to be very aware of it anyway.
Other reservations would be the quality of the breakfast which was very basic with tinned fruit supplemented by two kinds of melon, poor selection of yogurt and breads.The only hot option was either a hard boiled egg or scrambled egg on alternate days. This was disappointing in an area producing fantastic food and in particular fresh fruit. The saving grace here was the crew who were cheery and helpful.
The towels provided in the rooms are quite old and should be replaced. They were only changed every three days or so, the exception being the 'serviettes' offered as hand towels/hair towels. These were changed daily but as a lady with a fine head of hair I laugh at the notion that these should be used to dry my mop!!
The aircon of course is retrofitted and doesn't really give the sort of instant relief one would like in an area like this and leaving the glass window open with the shutters closed works to some extent but can lead to unwanted visitors such as mosquitoes or even, as happened one night a bat chasing the insects (how he got in ?).
We didn't eat dinner or snacks in the hotel, but the bar was expensive and the measures small, so do walk into the village to eat and drink.
Would I recommend this hotel. Yes, it's restful and beautiful. Would I return to it, probably not if I could get somewhere in Sorrento instead.

Room Tip: Pay for a room with a sea view. Room No 8 is large and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AOBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Having read the Thomas Cook description and some Tripadviser reviews I was not disappointed by this delightful hotel. Staff all very friendly and all out to please the guests. Food was up there with some of the better offerings at this level of hotel. Location wise, perfect for me...away from the crowds with the hub of Sant'Agata a couple of minutes up the lane. Indeed I regret not making greater use of the bars and restaurants in town, but as a single traveller its always tricky enjoying eating alone and the hotel staff were very good company in the evening when dining. With a single room which was sufficient, but around the side of the hotel, however I was envious of those who secured a sea view looking down on Sorrento and the Gulf of Naples, fellow guests reportedly great satisfaction of the view from their balconies.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room, preferably in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JohnHywelDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Frendly staff, clean and good rooms with air-condition, balcony/terrace, mini bar and very comfortable beds. The hotel is located in a quite area with a hotel shuttle to Sorrento (free of charge). 5 minutes walk to local town Sant' Agata. We had half board and the food was good and an exceptional master waiter always ready for a joke.

Room Tip: Wifi was only in the reception area - no reception in the rooms. We had the cheeper room, first stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d57san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nice hotel. Old but well maintained. Rooms are a little small and with insufficient space in some of them. Just enough room to move around the bed, and in our case only 1 drawer to put clothes in. Our room DID have A/C, Sky TV and a nice en-suite and a small balcony/ patio area (with no view!). Staff are very friendly and helpful - reception, bar, restaurant. Food was generous, and in most cases very good, but on a few occasions very ordinary. Bar prices seemed a little high for me. You can walk out the back of the hotel and in 2 minutes be in village od Santa Agata which is small but offers alternatives for food/drink/shopping. Nice pool and sun terrace. I would recommend this hotel as it seemed to me to offer good value for money

Room Tip: Doubles/family facing the bay have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After booking through an online site and then reading other reviews I was keen to upgrade to a room with sea view and balcony. I immediately contacted the hotel by email with my request and was informed I would be put on a waiting list - which I found odd and a bit irritating! I did follow up my request several times then finally a couple of days before my travel I was informed there were no balconies available but a room in the attic was available with a sea view - I felt I had no choice but was determined to enjoy myself whatever. However I made a mental note that because it had been in my opinion a problem to upgrade even though I was paying for this I would be hypercritical in my review of this hotel
After spending one of the best weeks holiday of my life I can honestly say I have not one negative thing to report
The hotel was great, my room no 60 was great, the views were great, staff service and food were all 100%
I would recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Rooms in the attic with views over the bay are fantastic we had rooms 60 and 61
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine2322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A good hotel encompassing beautiful scenery and class. The staff were generally helpful, though the restaurant menu could have included more dishes notably for vegetarians. Having said that, the restaurant manager made sure that tailored made dishes were prepared.

Nearly every evening when I went on the terrace it was an exhilarating experience feeling the warm evening breeze, the clear night skies and meeting people from other walks of life!!

As a suggestion shuttle services provided could be more frequent from the hotel to Sorrento town and vice versa. Otherwise, the experience in itself was a wonderful and enjoyable one and I would certainly return to the Jaccarino hotel again if I was to visit Sorrento.

Room Tip: When booking, request a sea view room so you can get a panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,163 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Property: Hotel Iaccarino
Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing