We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

This hotel offers perfect "chill" with stupendous views over the Bay of Naples. The food is excellent with very friendly restaurant and pool bar service. Bar service is to the same standard on an evening and rooms cleaned every day, again by friendly housekeeping staff.
Some rooms had been refurbished, but all rooms I saw were appointed to a good standard. Note that some rooms (on the right side of the hotel in brochure photos) can overlook alleys and other properties and not all rooms with a seaview have a balcony. In June, additional air conditioning is not necessary - our rooms were a comfortable sleep without. The pool area of this hotel is excellent, not busy. On a down side I have to say the drinks prices in the hotel were very high (beer 5/6 euro, bottle house red 21 euro)
Bear in mind the Jaccarino is a 10 minute drive from Sorrento, overlooking the bay and the town itself below. It is an excellent walk down to Sorrento if you're up to it, but via a path with many steps but again some great views. Get directions though. Sant Agata is a typical Italian village for this region and if you're interested in walking you can walk to other nearby villages using the many paths in the area. Best try and get a book with directions, though.

Liked best: Pool, Food, Service, Quiet, Views
Disliked: Drinks prices

Overall this was a great family holiday at a good hotel on our third visit to this region.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Foggy122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    209
    90
    56
    12
See reviews for
112
268
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2009

The hotel location was just perfect,good views of the bay and mount Vesuvious..
The room we were in was located on the 3rd floor and was a good size for the two of us .
It was cleaned DAILY, the staff were very thorough.
We found nothing was too much trouble,in fact the hotel staff would go out of their way to help in any way they could.
We think what we liked best was firstly THE LOCATION and secondly the RELAXING surroundings

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HAPPYDUOScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

I stayed for a week, the hotel is absolutely fantastic. I had read previous reviews and was dreading what i was in store for. Glad i read them because the hotel well exceeded my expectations.

The drink prices are abit over the top but the local village, 2 mins walk away offers a great selection of bars and restuarants at half the price.

The swimming pool area is a sun trap and the pool is lovely and refreshing. All the staff are exceptionally polite and helpful. (Especially the American receptionist).

The food for breakfast had a wide choice and the dinner was okay. Try the strawberry mouse its to die for. The hotel has recently been re-decorated and it is suberb. I will return next year for two weeks. Well done Jaccarino!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BishopLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2008

have been to Italy 5 times and usually stay in a vila-self catering so this was a change for us.was a bit worried about the negative reviews but thought well there are some good ones too.
The hotel itself was ok nothing special but very clean and comfortable.we paid for a balcony which we got but it overlooked derelict buildings so we didnt really use it-the terrace made up for it as the view was amazing.
in the local town we found the Italians as always -very friendly.unfortunately the hotel staff were not. it was as if we were a bother to them-having said that the barman were polite and happy to make tea for me(at 3 euros mind!)
disaster struck on wed when 3 of us got sick and I mean really sick we hadnt eaten outside the hotel so think it was food poisoning.our 2 teenagers were sick all wednesday night and I couldnt even get out of bed for 2 days and was sure that i wouldnt be able to fly home on fri morning. The hotel staff did not once ask how we were even though we didnt come out of our room for two days and they knew we were ill-we found out later that other guests had asked after us as they were worried. my husband asked for help to buy medication and was told by the receptionist-i dont know the Italian for rehydration powders! so however desperate for a holiday do not stay here! or if you do dont eat the food its not Italian anyway!!

  • Liked — that we were able to leave
  • Disliked — the staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jules022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2008

Having visited Sorrento previously (three times) the reviews written about the rooms being dated didn't put me off, this seems to be the norm in Italy unless you have bags of money. However this Hotel although 'quirky', traditional', 'quaint' i was not prepared for the lack of attention to cleaning. The rooms where given some attention each day, new towels, beds made, however i never once saw anyone cleaning the communal areas, sofas were dirty floors never cleaned. Waiters wearing dirty coats, staff only friendly till you challenged anything. Guests were dropping like flys, nine people were ill all with sickness and 'the runs' my friend included, some people had to stay in bed for part of their holiday. Since coming home i have become ill also. I would not reccomend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Winnipeg50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire,England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2008

My partner and I have just returned from our stay at the Jaccarino Hotel - before arriving there we were concerned about the distance between the hotel and the resort of Sorrrento - we need not have worried - the distance was easily covered by either courtesey coach, public transport or even on foot going down the hill at least. The hotel is lovely - oldy worldy Italian, very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We booked late and our room was small and at the back of the hotel but we didn't mind this - we only slept in the room anyway - you can see the view any time from the terrace. The food served in the dining room was very good - some people may sniff at the size of the portions but we found them to be adequate. Yes, the prices in the bar and snack bar are a little expensive but isn't that the case wherever you stay? Overall with the small village location and the central position for visiting other resorts we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Davlyn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilkenny
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

having just returned from a week package stay at this hotel i would have to say that the hotel does not deserve its 4 star rating more of a comfertable 3 star .as mentioned in some of the previous reviews the hotel has the feel of a fadded glory .the rooms (we had a sea view on the third floor )are best described as adequate and functional with very visable cracks in the plaster etc the twin beds were comfertable and the room was well serviced during the time we were there .the bathroom was okay(tap shower with no attachment on the wall to provide overhead showering )but again well serviced.the public areas and the restaurant are nice without being outstanding .my real problem with this property was the dreadfull quailty of the food during our stay the breakfast consisted of poor quailty breads pastrys etc ,tinned fruit and poor quailty preserves etc(this region is the market garden of italy with some of the most bueatiful fruit and olives in europe grown just outside the hotel) the evening meals was considerably worse ,anglaised pasta dish ,overcooked mains and oversweetned cloying desserts ,the service felt rushed and intrusive with very little to recommend the whole experience ,what the hotel does offer is a glorius location close to the unpretenious village of saint agata with its frendily bars and restaurants ,staff at the poolside bar were always pleasant and unlike the eveing meals the fresh pastas and sandwhiches offered were consistantly good ,i would consider returning to this hotel as its location is so good and compered to other 4 star in sorrennto its rate are very competitive but be warned give the food a wide berth

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KilkennyFoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#24 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Property: Hotel Iaccarino
Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Region: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing