We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tenuta Cusmano”
Review of Tenuta Cusmano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta Cusmano
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Tenuta Cusmano is without reservations one of Italy's most beautiful hotel, with views of vineyards, valleys and gardens. Best, it is about 20 miles from Rome's airport. Tired as we were from the long flight, this was our reward, where our spirits were lifted by the beauty of Tenuta Cusmano's. Meeting the proud owner and his sons, we felt honored to be there in the special way Italinas can make you feel welcomed. Elegant, spacious rooms and beautiful views from every room making it difficult to leave.

Room Tip: I don't know that there are any "bad" rooms in such a setting. We were on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spider1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Outstanding customer service, very friendly and accommodating staff, beautiful setting, very comfortable accommodations, good size room and clean, the opportunity to stroll around the grounds and view the beautiful landscaping including Rome and the vineyards made this a wonderful few days just outside of Rome. Beautiful pool. Maurizio is e a very helpful host, with all the information about the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueDoyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Just returned from a trip to Italy and Croatia where, upon our arrival in Rome, we stayed at the delightful Tenuta Cusmano, and enjoyed it so much that we returned for our last night before departing from Fiumicino. The Tenuta is a family-owned and operated villa and winery in the Roman countryside on the outskirts of the elegant town of Grottaferrata. It was conceived and constructed as a family home by the Pater Familias, and the attention to architectural beauty is seen in every detail, from the tiled bathrooms, to the hand-carved door frames, to the winding staircase. The gracious home features a wraparound terrace, giving each room a spectacular view of the surrounding family winery and vineyard, the hilltop towns of the Colli Albani, across the valley the lights of Rome twinkling in the distance, and ultimately, on a clear day, the sparkling sea. For the active guests, there is a lovely pool and tennis court, set among beautifully landscaped gardens. Even in late September, the carefully tended rosemary shrubs perfumed the air and brilliant pink roses lined the pathways. The tenuta is well located, in close proximity to both Rome airports, the ideal starting point for a tour of the charming hilltop Alban towns (notably Frascati and Castel Gondolfo), and the perfect choice for those who wish to visit Rome by day but return home to the serenity of this vineyard oasis.
The true gem of Tenuta Cusmano is the hands-on attention of Maurizio Cusmano himself. His passion for gracious hosting and his pride in his wonderful home shine through everything. From his warm welcome, to his thorough knowledge of the area, right through to the ample breakfasts where he personally attends to coffee orders and choice of eggs, while cheerfully and enthusiastically providing annotated maps, helpful touring suggestions and invaluable restaurant recommendations.
Attention Royal Watchers: Tenuta Cusmano was the choice of Princess Anne when her daughter Zara participated in a nearby equestrian event!
We heartily recommend this little piece of heaven.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 13Lynne2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Our stay at Tenuta Cusmano was indeed first rate. Maurizio Cusmano, the host and owner was fabulous, although the villa was completely full with all the guests taking part in a wedding at the grounds that weekend, we saw that he was attentive to each guest's needs, providing information, individual services and special orders at breakfast all with the friendliest smile and demeanor. Pretty amazing considering the different nationalities and needs that come with families and special occasions. (Peggy and Pete Got Married!) Rooms, grounds and pool were clean, well tended and relaxing with balconies and spectacular views of the Roman countryside. I don't believe you can go wrong at any of the restaurants in nearby Frascati and surrounding towns. We visited Grottaferrata and Castelgandolfo(beautiful), and only desired a longer stay with which to extend this exploration. Tenuta Cusmano is only about 40 minutes from Rome, but what a breath of fresh country air and hospitality. Go here to rest, refresh and see a new side of Italy with the aid of a friendly guide and spectacular view. This is a fantastic venue for a wedding...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusieCU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is our second visit to this delightful Agriturismo Hotel, so we must like it a lot. And we do - from the warm friendly and ever helpful host, Maurizio, to the beautiful surroundings, large and usually quiet pool, and good quality breakfast. The rooms are a good size, most with balconies looking out over Rome or towards the hills, where Castelgandolfo and Rocca di Papa can easily be seen. Rome is about 20kms away if you want to go there for the day*, but the real delight in this place is the peace and quiet, the easy access to lovely little towns like Frascati, Palestrina and Niemi. Or you can just relax in the grounds, read on the balcony or take a dip in the pool. There is a large selection of local restaurants less than 1km away. Either take the car or walk - it's about 15 minutes - to the village centre. Maurizio will give you a list of recommendations.
We're going back again!
*To Rome there are trains about every hour from Frascati (2kms) and a big (though expensive) railway car park. The journey to Rome (Termini) is about 35 minutes.

Room Tip: This is a quiet location set back about 300 metres from the main road, so all rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently had the good fortune to stay at the charming Tenuta Cusmano in Grottaferrata just outside of Rome. The host, Maurizio Cusmano could not be more helpful and friendly. He helped us with anything we asked and then some. He gave us printed out and hand written directions to local restaurants and Ostia Antica for sightseeing. He made reservations for us at a local restaurant as well. He even made a gift to us of his family made wine which was delicious and which we enjoyed on our lovely terrace overlooking the hills and valley. Our room was very comfortable with a large washroom (shower only), air conditioning and walkout to a shaded terrace with chairs and a table. There is a lovely pool which overlooks the valley and there are comfortable lounge chairs with pads. He will give you the beach towels upon request.
Even though there was a wedding at the neighbouring facility, there was no disturbance to our enjoyment of our room. We were able to walk to the nearby recommended restaurant where we enjoyed a good meal. The walk back, however was a bit dark as the streetlights were either not working or burnt out, but that is not the hotel's problem. Perhaps a flashlight would be handy to have with you.

The next morning Maurizio made us any type of coffee we wished and had on offer eggs any style as per individual orders as well as an extensive delicious breakfast buffet.

It is located close to Ciampino, but you never hear any planes and is about half an hour from Fiumicino.

I highly recommend this hotel and will definitely return when next I travel to Rome and need a place to stay either upon my arrival or before I leave as it is very handy to the airports.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesignatedPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stay here for two days and the owner Mr. Maurizio Cusmano was really really nice to us. I was having some problem with my rental car and it was almost 9pm but he was very helpful to call and make some arrangement with the rental company.
He also recommended many nice places for us to visit and good restaurants, with printed maps!
The view from the back yard is magnificent, overlooking some hill view and country side small towns.
Thumbs up to Tenuta Cusmano and you will feel at home when you are here.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KP117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grottaferrata
1.2 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#2 of 4 in Grottaferrata
562 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda dello Spuntino
Locanda dello Spuntino
#4 of 4 in Grottaferrata
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verdeborgo
Hotel Verdeborgo
#3 of 4 in Grottaferrata
85 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Cusmano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Cusmano

Address: Via Anagnina 20, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Grottaferrata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Price Range: £97 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta Cusmano 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the Castelli Romani area, Grottaferrata's Tenuta Cusmano is an elegant country manor with panoramic views of Rome, the surrounding hills and the sea in the distance. The grounds include a seasonal outdoor pool with sun loungers and parasols, as well as a tennis court. Parking and WiFi are free. Tenuta Cusmano is surrounded by centuries-old olive, pine trees, and vineyards. The air-conditioned rooms feature parquet floors, a private furnished terrace, and an en suite bathroom. Some have hand-crafted wooden furniture. A varied buffet breakfast is served in the breakfast room with fireplace. The property's wines can be enjoyed on the terrace in fine weather. Ciampino Airport is 9 km away, while Fiumicino Airport can be reached in around 35 minutes by car. Frascati is 4 km away, and Anagnina Metro Station on Line A is a 15-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tenuta Cusmano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Cusmano Rome/Grottaferrata, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing