We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, relaxing stay just out of Rome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tenuta Cusmano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta Cusmano
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing stay just out of Rome!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Wee stayed for 2 nights and loved our stay. Big comfortable rooms with comfortable beds and great views looking out to Rome. Very clean, and great service. Maurizio the owner was very friendly and helpful. He Made our stay very enjoyable. The pool was also great. Went for a trip round the lakes. Loved Nemi, which grows the smallest and sweetest strawberries! Tenuta Cusmano was a great place to base ourselves and just explore the outskirts of Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    19
    2
    2
    7
See reviews for
86
132
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
114 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the end of our holiday and I don't think I have ever been so enthusiastically welcomed to a hotel as here by the owner. We arrived early as the weather was so bad and were given complimentary coffee, fruit and cake whilst he checked our room was ready - it was. Our room was a little small but that didn't really matter as the balcony had a wonderful view over to Rome and the adjacent vineyards. Everything was really clean and comfortable and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for the price. Breakfast was fab and it was so nice to be offered freshly cooked eggs as well as all the other things on offer. We asked to try their own wine one eve and were given a complimentary bottle of Frascati, which was wonderful. Such a shame the weather let us down and we weren't able to try out the pool, which did look very inviting. Good local restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights with our daughter at the end of our Italian adventure. Firstly the owner Maurizio is a credit to his business and chosen field, he was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for him. When we arrived he made us feel like we had dropped in to see an old friend. The property is gorgeous and we spent relaxing afternoons by the gorgeous pool looking out over vineyards and 20 hectares of beautiful land. The property is outside of Rome but because we had a car it made it easy to visit and then escape back to our sanctuary. The rooms were perfect for us and the little balcony was a great spot to enjoy a glass of red at the end of the day. Breakfast was always bountiful and we never left for a days adventure feeling unsatisfied. The little town of Grottaferrata is to far to walk to I think as it is about 1km away but is a fairly busy road, but it is easy to drive there. My daughter loved being able to run and explore the gardens after a day of museums and history in Rome. Thanks Maurizio for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsvmummuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in this B and B and were charmed by the proprietor and his staff who couldn 't do enough for us. We were visting local notable gardens in the Frascati region and this place was convenient , clean and friendly with views across to Rome but nestling in glorious countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ravenglass, Cumbria
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights and couldn't have been happier. The owner Maurizio is the nicest person you're likely to find in the hospitality business. The rooms are spacious and well appointed, for breakfast we were treated to wild strawberry pancakes but the agriturismo's jewel is a wonderful pool set in a lovely garden with outstanding views. There is also a tennis court for which it is possible to borrow rackets and balls. On our final night we walked into town (1km on along a pavement) and found Grottaferrata to be lively but cosy. There are many restaurants as well as a 1000+ year old abbey that is nice to walk around with a gelato. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buona_f0rchetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was really disappointed with this property. We chose it as a "nice place to stay" before we flew home from Rome. We wanted to avoid the hassle of Rome at the end of our vacation. The reviews on Trip Advisor were good but the rooms and reality were a major let down. The rooms haven't been updated since the 70's and there were mosquito corpses all over the walls. There were also ants crawling around the bathroom. The property itself was very nice and picturesque on the outside but the inside was awful. The good news is that both front desk people were really nice and wanted to talk. Also - don't "walk into town" for dinner. The walk is kind of far on a busy road and the food wasn't very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuriousTraveler503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My wife and I recently had the pleasure of staying here in April of this year. I have read reviews highlighting the many positive aspects of people's experience at Tenuta Cusmano and, frankly, I think it has been articulated so thoroughly that anything I say will sound redundant. Suffice it to say, ALL of the positive things you read about this place are true. We have been all over the world and have never met a more gracious, helpful host. His attention to detail is top-notch. It is obvious that He truly loves his work. And the location, the rooms, the views--everything--was simply outstanding. Great memories, indeed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grottaferrata
0.8 mi away
Locanda dello Spuntino
Locanda dello Spuntino
#4 of 5 in Grottaferrata
83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Residenza d'Epoca Pietra di Ponente
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#3 of 5 in Grottaferrata
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Tuscolana
1.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Cusmano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Cusmano

Property: Tenuta Cusmano
Address: Via Anagnina 20, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Grottaferrata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta Cusmano 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tenuta Cusmano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Cusmano Rome/Grottaferrata, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing