We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay!”
Review of Hotel Duomo Salo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Salo
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Salo
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

On arriving we were initially worried as it didn't look like much however when we got into our room we were pleasantly surprised! The room is a little out dated but this gives the hotel a rustic sort of feel. It was meticulously clean! Each of the staff members greeted us whenever we walked in or out of the hotel and made us feel very welcome! We did not use the sauna and fitness suite but heard that it was pleasant! Equally, we did not eat at the restaurant as it was quite expensive but looked fantastic!! We had breakfast each morning at the hotel and it was delicious! There was a fantastic choice from patisseries to omelettes and ham and cheese. I would definitely return and would definitely suggest taking advantage of the free city bikes!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Kittykattypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    62
    25
    17
    8
See reviews for
28
89
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This not a four star hotel. The evening meal has the same menu for three consecutive nights and the portions are very small. They have an a la carte menu which is for passing trade which you can upgrade to if you wish. Suggest you have decent breakfast in the hotel and have lunch in one of the excellent restaurants in Salo. The cheapest bottle of wine to have with dinner is 20 euros. We booked a last minute deal and saved £300 each so we couldn't complain but we would have been disappointed with the food if we had paid the full price. That said the hotel is very clean and it is an ideal spot right on the lake, near the ferry port. Salo is a beautiful place with a promenade and extended walkway with plenty of places to sit and admire the scenery.

Room Tip: We booked last minute and had a room on the back of the hotel on the street but it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Firstly this is my first review and am writing this as a warning to over people who book via hotels.com (haven't checked other brokers) as it appears they are incorrectly advertising the hotel, which we had a big surprise when our final bill arrived.

Secondly the loacation and the hotel itself was nice - I stayed in the suite so didn't have a spaces issue. The breakfast was pretty dire for a 4 star but this would have been the only complaint and certainly nothing to review about.

However the issue we had was parking, the additional 8€ a day the hotel charged us even though it is advertised on hotels.com as free parking.

Once I pointed this out to the lady on front desk the rudeness in her reply was laughable. She stated this was our issue with hotels.com and not the hotels?!

The rudeness shown by the hotel, even after I showed the live advert showing free parking, put a sour note on our stay so be careful as this can be a costly conversation at the end of your stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Rooms in this hotel are tiny. We ended up having to put half the furniture in the balcony to be able to maneuver around the room. 40 Euros on top of the 100 rate for an additional person in the room (total of 2) seemed over the top. Loved Salo but would not stay here a 2nd time. Desk staff were outright rude, refusing to help our friend in another room with a broken tv. The desk lady just waved for him to leave because she didn't have time. Restaurant staff were very nice but overall our stay here was not welcoming. We've dubbed this the 'hotel of Doom'

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Naya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

In outseason I had to visit a fair in Garda Lake area. The crise closed all my precedent hoteles in uwinter. In this case I was forced to find other. By look i find this hotel. Warm,nice and clean with a professional staff realy imprest me. The location of the hotel is realy splendid and can be a nice hollyday destination following my oppinion in summer.Good brackfast in italian style.All of this are a realy great, outseasoun in crise time. I will recome with pleasure.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Iulian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Abbiamo alloggiato per tre giorni in questo hotel. Ottimo tutto, iniziando dalla professionalita' e dalla gentilezza del signor Corrado e a tutto il suo staf, per non parlare della cucina che ci ha deliziato di eccellenti cene. Ottimo hotel lo consiglio sicuramente. recensione della mia compagna Americana in inglese:
What a wonderful experience for me! I was welcomed with the beauty and grace that I anticipated coming to Italy. Corrado made our stay very warm and comfortable without being intrusive. The room was exceptional, clean and well managed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, and the location perfect and romantic. We will tell our friends and definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAVALE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

As with most older hotels the rooms vary greatly. We were 2 couples travelling together, When we booked the hotel had one suite and one standard room with a lake view. The standard room was the better deal, with a better view. The restaurant is quite good, the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are not 4 star, they are a very good 3 star, the furniture and beds need updating. The bathrooms are new and modern and kept very clean.

BTW don't rely on your GPS. To get you there. The hotel is on a walking street and they told us people using GPS always get lost. Put the Papillon Restaurant into the GPS and park in the lot across the street, walk down to the hotel, they will get the electronic post lowered and you can drive in to unload your luggage.

Room Tip: Book standard room with lake view on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salo hotels
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#7 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#4 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vigna
Hotel Vigna
#2 of 16 in Salo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#8 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Salo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Salo

Property: Hotel Duomo Salo
Address: Lungolago Zanardelli 91, 25087, Salo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duomo Salo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duomo is located in a splendid position on the lake promenade of Salò. Pleasant homely atmosphere, professionalism and service, in a classical elegant modern 4-star hotel. Directly in the pedestrian precinct, quiet location next to the Renaissance cathedral. Famous and exclusive Restaurant Rosa in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duomo Salo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Salo Hotel
Hotel Duomo Salo Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing