We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way! Worthy first place & great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vigna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vigna
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Certificate of Excellence
Chester
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way! Worthy first place & great views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked our holiday to Italy quite late and were fortunate enough to have one room remaining which also had a lake view. I'm so glad we booked this hotel and after reading so many reviews on here we could see they were well-deserved as our stay was First-class and we were given lots of useful information prior to booking. The hotel is small and family run which makes it even more special and we were made to feel really welcome from the moment we arrived. The views from our bedroom and breakfast room, and location of the hotel are amazing and we were delighted from the moment we arrived and made to feel at home. It's in a perfect spot on the lake front which must be the envy of most of the hotels nearby and don't be put off that it is breakfast only as there are a great choice of restaurants nearby and Filippo and Roberta and the friendly staff there will offer you advice and help on where to go for trips and food and will also book anywhere for you. It's a lovely size hotel and the breakfasts were fantastic with lots of fresh food on offer. I think I ate everything available as I am pregnant and the staff were just brilliant in helping us every day. We'd recommend this hotel to everyone we know and it's just perfect. The family run aspect makes it even more unique and personal. Thank you for making us so welcome and being great hosts during our stay for a week in Salo. We had an amazing trip we will never forget and hope to be back one day soon with our soon to be new addtition

Room Tip: There is a public beach and swimming pool nearby as we wanted to be able to swim and also a private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_tickledpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    35
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
181
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Having stayed in quite a few hotels around the world, only a few matches the friendliness and hospitality of Hotel Vigna. Filippo and Roberta are super nice and super helpful.

Location: Just by the seaside promenade, it's very centrally located. If you arrive by car it may be a little difficult to find at first, since Salo is a small town with parts of it restricted for cars.

The room: We booked last-minute, and got the last room available. (Also big plus for allowing direct bookings from the hotel website! Perfect for travellers who go with the flow and don't plan the trip extensively) When we checked in, Filippo was apologetic about the fact that he didn't have a lake view room for us, but that wasn't a problem for us at all. We got room 6 on the 2nd floor, which has a view to the small piazza in the back - but it's quiet so it wasn't a nuisance at all. The room is nicely furnished, big enough for 2 people who are spending most of the time outdoors anyway, and with a very nice and spotlessly clean bathroom. Excellent value for money!!

The breakfast: Large and generous breakfast with lots of choices catering for various tastes. Great seating area with views of the lake.

Hotel Vigna is great value for money and and we had a lovely stay there. As the price indicates, it's not a luxury hotel, but it's definitely the best 3* hotel I've stayed at - the service level would be as good as a 5* hotel. We had to leave very early on our check out day, and as we were informing Filippo about this, without requesting (or even thinking about it) a takeout breakfast, he suggested that he would have some breakfast ready for us to take with us.

We can't recommend this hotel highly enough!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dechirant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

I coul not praise the hotel and its owners enough. There is nothing they would not do for us and they genuinely cared about our stay, wishing to make it as perfect as possible. The room was clean and functional with quiet and effective air conditioning. Breakfast was delicious and catered for all tastes: coffee and hot milk, choice of teas, fresh fruit, 5 or 6 cereals, eggs, fresh rolls, bread, meat, cheese, various preserves, the list goes on. The hotel was 50 metres from the ferry terminal and 5 minutes from the bus stop, from which we were able to explore the other towns on the lake. If we return to Salo, we would definitely book this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Our taxi driver from Desenzano to Salo described Lake Garda as paradise - we couldn't agree more and can safely say Hotel Vigna plays it part well in justifying this praise. The owners (a husband and wife team) could not have been more gracious or better ambassadors for Lake Garda and Northern Italy. We booked here because Trip Advisor rated the hotel the best of 12 in Salo. It certainly deserves this ranking. We did not have a lake view but were very happy with the room we received - it overlooked an enoteca down below which was delightful and we enjoyed the view of the mountains - and any time you step outside you are on the promenade by the lake. Beyond the owners, the rest of the staff be it at room service or reception were superb. Can't recommend this hotel strongly enough - couldn't have be made to feel so well looked after.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Home025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

If like us you've never visited Lake Garda before and you've spent hours searching for the perfect resort/hotel - this is it! We've just returned from a wonderful 8 night stay at the Vigna and can't recommend it highly enough. If you're the type of guest that likes to stay in a 4* or 5* hotel don't be put off by the 3* - okay so there is no swimming pool but the 5* welcome, friendliness and location of this hotel more than makes up for it. Having read other reviews we opted for Room 25 - it is just stunning and well worth paying a bit more for. The 5th floor has three rooms with lake view and balcony, No's 25 (right), 26 (middle) and 27 (left). The hotel is located towards one end of Salo so the righthand room (25) has the very best view of Salo and it's lovely promenade. The balcony is spacious with a table and lounger chairs, its perfect first thing in the morning to sit with a cup of coffee, watch rowers on the lake, joggers, read a book or just watch the world going by before the heat of the day starts. Breakfast is served in a light airy room overlooking the lake and it's never busy as it usually starts just before 8am and lasts till 11am - great if you want a slow start. The hotel is close to the boat/ferry stop and there are plenty of choices of pretty towns to visit up and down the lake. We found the 'tour' trips, i.e. you get on/off at certain times and visit certain places to be the most cost effective but the hotel has vouchers which can be used to get 20% discount. There is plenty of restaurant choice, we tried Papillion, Pizzeria LungoLago 64, Osteria di Mezzo all great but our favourite was Antica Trattoria la Rosa which is just a couple of notches above the rest. The hotel owner Filippo and his wife Roberta could not have been more welcoming and helpful, especially with our numerous requests with regards to local fare and restaurants. Thanks to all the lovely staff, we will be back - this is a gem of a hotel in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Lake view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CeliaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just spend 5 days at this lovely hotel on the shores of the beautiful Lake Garda. The hotel deserves its top rating on Trip Advisor without question. From the minute we were picked up at the airport to being dropped off again, we could not fault this place one bit. The staff could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. The room with the lake view was exceptional, very clean with a lovely spa bath, large comfy bed & pretty terrace overlooking the lake. Breakfasts was continental with scrambled eggs on offer if you asked and was just right. The hotel even had a small roof terrace if you wanted to sit in the sun, and a lovely sitting out area at the front where you could watch the world go by.
We loved staying in Salo, it's a pretty place with a lovely promenade (with friendly ducks!!) and even for the end of June was not too busy & touristy in comparison with other places. We loved eating in the nearby restaurants & found them to be reasonably priced, & the wine in particular very good value for money. The ferry stop on the front enables you to visit other places on the lake & we made the most of using the ferry to see other pretty towns & in particular the visit to Malcesine is recommended for the trip on the cable car up the mountain in spectacular. The hotel offers you a discount card to get money off places which was very useful.
Although the hotel hasn't a pool, they advised us that just down the road at Gardone there is a complex with a lovely pool, beds & umbrellas, tennis etc to hire and the hotel even offered us beach towels to use, which was very thoughful of them. On our last night there was outside live music being played up and down the promenade which rounded off our wonderful stay. This was our first visit here and it certainly now won't be our last. We can't wait to come back and without any hesitation - I would stay again at this wonderful hotel!! Many thanks to all the Hotel Vigna & especially to the Bassetti family.

Room Tip: Definately worth paying extra for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j0_mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Booked this hotel for a few days break and paid a little extra for Lake view - well worth it! Front door is about 50 metres from the boat stop which takes you round all the other resorts on the Lake. Customer service is excellent with the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast included in the price. Only downside is that there is no swimming pool and the only small beaches in the resort are a fair distance away, so not really suitable if looking for a beach type holiday. Excellent base to explore the area, with plenty of reasonably priced restaurants close by.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are extra but well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davyd106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salo hotels
0.2 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#6 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#7 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Panoramica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vigna

Property: Hotel Vigna
Address: Lungolago Zanardelli 62, 25087, Salo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vigna 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the banks of the gulf of the most picturesque lake, Lake Garda, and surrounded by the splendid morainic hills, Hotel Vigna is located in Salò, a town rich in history and an illustrious past. Inserted in the marvellous setting of the gulf, hotel vigna is located on the quiet and elegant "lungolago" promenade The structure, dating back to the mid 1900s, has been completely renovated in order to offer a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere, complete with impeccable service and “Family Feeling Management” which the Bassetti family, proprietors of the hotel for three generations, has sought to maintain. The hotel has ample common areas, a breakfast room with a splendid lake view, and solarium and terrace where the colours of the lake and the sweet climate can be enjoyed.The rooms of the hotel, newly renovated, are equipped with modern comforts to stimulate serenity and enjoyment: from the most colourful to the more classic in style, they allow their guests to experience an absolutely relaxing getaway.The Bassetti family awaits your visit in order to offer you a getaway rich with serenity, culture and "RELAXATION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vigna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigna Hotel Salò
Hotel Vigna Salo, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing