We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Salo....(probably the best value on Lake Garda)”
Review of Hotel Vigna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Vigna
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Salo....(probably the best value on Lake Garda)”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

(Firstly...really sorry Filippo and Roberta but we must give you 5 stars...I know this means you will be even busier but I hope you enjoy your Winter sun in November.) Seriously, this is an extremely good hotel. The owners go to extraordinary lengths to make your stay a fantastic experience from the moment you land. We chose to transfer by boat, easily do-able from Verona airport, bus to railway station in Verona, train to Desenzano, boat to Salo.....obviously check boat availability. Filippo welcomed us with a chilled bottle of Prosecco in our room, it was our 10th anniversary and he remembered, a foretaste of the attention to detail to come. Book a lake view room..18 is excellent. Breakfast good. Help and advice with local eateries, Roberta has a well stocked drawer of discount vouchers for the ferries. Basically, a brilliantly run hotel, superb management, great staff, a pleasure to stay.....even the fridge bar is reasonably priced. We will return. Duncan and Joanne

Room Tip: Any lake view room is well worth the supplement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    38
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
190
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

From the moment Filippo greeted us at the front door, asked if he could park our car for us to save us the trouble and showed us directly to room 21 we knew we would love it. The room was stunning with a huge bed, separate couch which no doubt made up into another bed, bathroom with jucuzzi bath and shower, and a beautiful balcony overlooking the promenade and across to the other side of the lake inlet. The sun shone into the room and the moonlight seemed to bounce off the water into our room. We had planned to tour round the lake but in the 3 nights 4 days we were there we could only tear ourselves away once! Salo is small and not 'trippery' like Limone, but for a quiet break with nice lakeside walks and sufficient small restaurants it is a perfect holiday spot. We must admit to having a few picnics on the balcony as well! The local spritzer with Aperol and sparkling wine was much enjoyed. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice of continental dishes along with boiled or scrambled eggs.
Filippo and Roberta were helpful, professional and with a small team of friendly staff run an excellent hotel

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lakeside room its worth every Euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

A small hotel, with no restaurant, situated right on the pedestrianised lake promenade with lovely views. The lake steamer landing stage is just yards away and all the town facilities are within a few minutes, yet the hotel is a haven of peace and quiet. Our (de luxe) room was spacious with a kingsized bed and a good sized shower room - all well fitted and air conditioned. French windows gave on to a large terrace overlooking the lake, with sun loungers and picnic table and chairs. Housekeeping throughout the hotel was exemplary. There is a comfortable lounge on the ground floor with a bar (residents only) serving tea and coffee as well as alcoholic drinks

A buffet breakfast was served in an attractive room, again overlooking the lake, and comprised cereals, fruit, cold meats, cheese and assorted breads and patisserie, with fried/scrambled/boiled eggs available to order. Hot drinks were served by very pleasant staff.

The outstanding feature was the welcoming and helpful attitude of the owners. Nothing was too much trouble, they were a mine of information, and even checked us in online for our homeward flight! They really do go the extra mile.

Room Tip: It is worth having a 'luxury' or 'de luxe' room to get a terrace and full lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thamesboater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We wanted to go to lake Garda and had no idea which town to visit. Vigna came up first on the Trip Advisor list and I have to admit, when I saw how low the price was, I was concerned that it might not be what we were looking for. I spent several hours combing through other hotels in other towns and I was shocked to discover that six months in advance, every well reviewed hotel on the lake was either booked or very expensive. We were only going to be there for two nights and I finally decided to take a chance. What a find. The hotel is on the waterfront in the town, just down the street from the cathedral. The room, although not plush, was large enough, very clean and comfortable, with a good bathroom and fully enclosed shower. The hotel is well maintained and spotless. On the street level is a well designed lovely entry lobby and a beautiful bar lounge area right along the boardwalk. The breakfast room is on the level above and is large, airy, bright and overlooks the boardwalk and harbor. Breakfasts are full buffets and you have to try their scrambled eggs which are fresh and really delicious. The staff is pleasant, charming, helpful and will make suggestions, reservations or whatever else is required. We loved this hotel and would have felt the same at twice the price. A word about Salo. It is a classic old Italian town and combines the charm of Italy with the excitement of the Riviera. The northern towns have the shear walls of the Alps defining the borders of the lake, but Salo is very inviting with mountain vistas as a distant backdrop. If you can, go on the second weekend in September when they have a yearly festival that is fantastic with everyone in town displaying their disciplines from Judo to fencing, tango, ballet and massage. Take a boat ride, rent a boat, a kayak. You will love this place. And stay at the Hotel Vigna.

Room Tip: We had a rear room insofar as virtually everything on the entire lake was taken. For about 10 Euro m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hobbitnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

Superb service is truly the hallmark of this fine hotel. Throughout our four day stay, the service we received was truly superior. Filippo and Roberta, the third generation hotel owners, are totally customer oriented and sincerely friendly people. Dinner suggestions were all winners, Room service was prompt and inexpensive..we ordered a bottle of prosecco each evening, and it arrived chilled within 5 minutes of being ordered. The bill was perfect..no unforseen charges that we've often noted when traveling in Italy. The hotel is located on the promenade in Salo, so one has only to walk out the front door of the hotel to enjoy the ambience. One note..Salo has some one way streets and driving restrictions near the promenade, so be sure and call the hotel as you are arriving in town so they can provide additional instructions. Parking is close..a secure garage within 400m of the hotel for 7euro/day for hotel guests. The hotel also serves a very nice breakfast to include made to order eggs. Bottom line..we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and highly recommend Hotel Vigna!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaCouple4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waddesdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We arrived........My wife and i after a 6 hour trip from Andermat in the swiss alps via Milan so were ready for some tlc .....which we got from the owner and his wife they could not have been more helpful and friendly getting us and our luggage to our fabulous room which is room 25 which the best in the hotel as it has the corner top floor nearest the town and large terrace.
We were then given directions (very easy) to the cheapest car park in town only 5 minutes walk away and very secure.
We stayed for 6 nights experiencing the hottest weather 52’c on our balcony one day this was great for sunbathing on the terrace .
Breakfast was very good with a choice of a large selection of continental and any cooked to order eggs with DIY egg boiler on the buffet . Lots of fresh fruit and pastries etc....
In the room there was no tea coffee facilities.................. Which was a shame!
But the mini bar was great and not expensive , the wifi was haphazard the connection dropping out now and again !
The bathroom was good having a large shower with plenty of hot and cold water plus a bidet , the room staff kept everything clean and tidy, It would have been an advantage to have an in house laundry for people staying longer as we were.
All the staff were very friendly and cant do enough for you. I would go here again!!!!!!!
We thought the hotel also excellent value for money.

Room Tip: No 25 ...........the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ButlerInService
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute and were lucky enough to get a room with a lake view which was just perfect. We cannot praise this small hotel enough. Filippo and Roberta and their staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, suggesting places to eat (thoroughly recommend the pizza restaurant a couple of doors down and the ice cream shop behind the hotel!), things to see and places to go and they are only too happy to book tables, boat trips etc. for their guests. The room was exceptionally clean and air conditioned (essential as we arrived during a heatwave) and the breakfast buffet had a good choice of food whatever time we ate. The hotel is situated right by the waterfront a few short steps from the water taxi stop (the best way the get around in Lake Garda). It is near many restaurants, bars and shops which makes in well located. Thoroughly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Lake view is a must, third floor or above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salo hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#9 of 16 in Salo
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#7 of 16 in Salo
344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salo
250 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duomo Salo
Hotel Duomo Salo
#13 of 16 in Salo
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vigna

Property: Hotel Vigna
Address: Lungolago Zanardelli 62, 25087, Salo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vigna 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the banks of the gulf of the most picturesque lake, Lake Garda, and surrounded by the splendid morainic hills, Hotel Vigna is located in Salò, a town rich in history and an illustrious past. Inserted in the marvellous setting of the gulf, hotel vigna is located on the quiet and elegant "lungolago" promenade The structure, dating back to the mid 1900s, has been completely renovated in order to offer a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere, complete with impeccable service and “Family Feeling Management” which the Bassetti family, proprietors of the hotel for three generations, has sought to maintain. The hotel has ample common areas, a breakfast room with a splendid lake view, and solarium and terrace where the colours of the lake and the sweet climate can be enjoyed.The rooms of the hotel, newly renovated, are equipped with modern comforts to stimulate serenity and enjoyment: from the most colourful to the more classic in style, they allow their guests to experience an absolutely relaxing getaway.The Bassetti family awaits your visit in order to offer you a getaway rich with serenity, culture and "RELAXATION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vigna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigna Hotel Salò
Hotel Vigna Salo, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing