We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best location in Salo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Vigna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Vigna
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Certificate of Excellence
Woodstock Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best location in Salo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed in Salo at the Hotel Vigna based on Trip Advisor. The hotel was everything we had expected. We booked a superior lake view room with balcony and the extra money was well worth it.
It is one of 3 rooms on the top floor facing the lake and we often sat out watching the ferries come and go or at night enjoying the sound of the music coming from the local bars across the bay. When we closed the patio door the room was quiet and nicely air conditioned. These superior rooms are large, very clean and have small bar fridges.
The location is perfect next to the ferry dock and among a mixture of excellent bars and restaurants, all an easy walk along the long flat promenade.
Breakfast is from 8:00 - 11:00 am in a brightly lit, open windowed room overlooking the lake. It is more than substantial and includes scrambled eggs and Prosecco if you desire.
Salo is unspoiled by tourism and full of great vistas and dining. There are good ferry connections to around the lake. Sirmione is very touristy so go early and pay the extra money for the fast ferry.
The hotel is family run by people who care about you, speak excellent English and will arrange any excursions you require.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Santo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    35
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
181
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neu-Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

The title says it all. Absolutely happy, and would come again. Everything great and the service is wonderful. (Duomo rooms work in a pinch, but if possible get a lake side room). Breakfast is good, rooms clean, location the best.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thealheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My family and I recently spent a tremendous week in the Hotel and we'd recommend it highly as a good value family establishment. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful without being in the least bit insrusive. The room was spotless and well maintained and whilst the balcony was pretty economical in terms of space the view it provided was a memorable one. The breakfast the Hotel provides is healthy, varied and plentiful, and the ground floor provides a spacious seating area in which to relax and unwind. The Hotel is located just metres from the ferry jetty, so it's an ideal spot for travellers who arrive under their own steam. The town of Salo is a good choice for anyone who is visiting the Lake for the first time: it has good facilities, several beaches and a thriving community which isn't solely dependent on the tourist trade.

Room Tip: Go for a balcony!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowemart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed there between 7 aug 13 and 14 aug at the same time as 4 of our friends for a wedding in salo. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful - as good as you could ask for. Room was small but adequate, very clean and neat and tidy. The bathroom was a fairly standard size and clean. The balcony was tiny and would probably be the only downside to the hotel- I wouldn't bother paying for a lake view as we were always out and about and didn't spend anytime on the balcony. Breakfast was very good if not spectacular - nothing to complain about though. Very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Spent 10 days at this hotel in June/July. Airport taxi arranged by Roberta & Filippo was first class and put down a marker for the rest of our stay.
From the moment we were welcomed until the moment of our departure nothing was too much trouble.
Our room was clean, comfortable and maintained to a very high standard.
We had a lago deluxe room - it was well worth the extra. Breakfast was plentiful, served in a beautifully furnished room overlooking the lake.
Roberta, Filippo and their staff always made themselves available and helped in organising, booking and arranging discounts for trips and days out.
We had a late flight home and a room was made available for our use free of charge - a nice touch.
Ideal location for the ferry, bars, restuarants, shops and people watching.
Highly recommended

Room Tip: worth the extra for a room with a balcony overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotMammaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This hotel is a gem, great hosts, a superb location with a beautiful outlook. The owners make you feel welcome at all times and I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area. Although peak season, nothing was too much trouble and great to walk out to the local shops, bars and restaurants without any traffic around.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NDR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Hotel Vigna is perfect - must be one of the best locations on Lake Garda - just yards from Ferry Stop in Salo right on Lake - overlooks the whole bay
The owners are the perfect hosts - they can't do enough to make your stay enjoyable
They speak excellent English, know your name and speak to you every time you enter or leave the hotel. The rest of the staff were also very pleasant.
Cleanliness and decor of whole hotel is excellent
Breakfast (served on first floor overlooking the lake) is first class. We had an early start the day we left and the owner arranged for the waitress to serve us breakfast before we left.

We had Room 1 on the second floor which I think must be best room in the hotel - we had a balcony which opened up to a large terrace with sun loungers and umbrella. As it was on the corner we had a view across the bay and also over the town. Three other rooms open onto this terrace but Room 1 had the largest and best positioned terrace on the corner (there is only a row of plants separating each room's terrace but as the terrace was large we could turn our loungers round for more privacy) The terrace gets the sun all day

If you have read all of this review you will have guessed that I think this hotel is perfect and would highly recommend it - you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marxbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salo hotels
0.2 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#2 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#6 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Laurin
Hotel Laurin
#8 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#12 of 16 in Salo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Panoramica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vigna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vigna

Property: Hotel Vigna
Address: Lungolago Zanardelli 62, 25087, Salo, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vigna 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the banks of the gulf of the most picturesque lake, Lake Garda, and surrounded by the splendid morainic hills, Hotel Vigna is located in Salò, a town rich in history and an illustrious past. Inserted in the marvellous setting of the gulf, hotel vigna is located on the quiet and elegant "lungolago" promenade The structure, dating back to the mid 1900s, has been completely renovated in order to offer a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere, complete with impeccable service and “Family Feeling Management” which the Bassetti family, proprietors of the hotel for three generations, has sought to maintain. The hotel has ample common areas, a breakfast room with a splendid lake view, and solarium and terrace where the colours of the lake and the sweet climate can be enjoyed.The rooms of the hotel, newly renovated, are equipped with modern comforts to stimulate serenity and enjoyment: from the most colourful to the more classic in style, they allow their guests to experience an absolutely relaxing getaway.The Bassetti family awaits your visit in order to offer you a getaway rich with serenity, culture and "RELAXATION". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vigna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vigna Hotel Salò
Hotel Vigna Salo, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing