We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A dream to stay in such a beautiful place”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Salo, Province of Brescia, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Hebrew first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A dream to stay in such a beautiful place”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We stayed at Villa Angela on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed there with a young family. We are just the opposite, retirees with an enjoyment of travel and spending time in one place and getting to know the area. We stayed in the villa for three weeks and enjoyed every minute of our stay. We feel priveledged to have had the opportunity to stay in such a lovely place, the views from every window were breath taking, the garden is private with a delightful pergola by the lake side where you can sit and just watch the activity on the lake and feel part of the landscape.
Feeding the ducks encouraged large fish to come and feed too which was very entertaining.
Irene, the owner, couldn't do enough to make our stay more comfortable and was very pleased to receive feedback on our stay and suggestions for the future. She is an extremely interesting person and helped us with suggestions of places to go and how to get there. Irene certainly enhanced the quality of our stay.
If you are looking for a place with hotel style furniture and maid service you will be disappointed but if you are looking to stay in an historical villa with authentic furniture and a view to die for you will be in your element.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2017
Dear Mandy,
thank you for your beautiful words that truly touched me. I love the peace and the beauty of this place, and the greatest satisfaction to my efforts is to share it with somebody who appreciates the same things.
You are lovely. I felt we have a connection. It was lovely to get to know you all, I promise I will come visit you in the UK. It would be great to see also the other half of you if we find each other again on the same side of the Atlantic. Anyways: send me news.
Thanks for taking the time for a review, it's very much appreciated. Baci!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andomiche...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family holiday house.”
Reviewed 10 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

For the price, this house is simply staggering. There are so many positive things about this property that you forgive any negative aspects it has.

This house is built on a slope, so every single room has an amazing lake view, even the kitchen.

There is no big-screen TV or Wi-fi, but we came to have a great time together with the family, so this aspect was perfect.

You can go swimming straight from the garden. The lake is full of stones so take jelly shoes or wet shoes, or you can buy them from local markets for around EUR 10. Once you have wet shoes, swimming in the lake is fantastic. There is toilet and shower to use without the needing to come into the house. (Plus a washing machine, where your swimwear and towels can go in straight away.)

Decent sized fridge, gas hobs, full-sized oven, plus (the best bit) a great dishwasher. Great kitchen for a foodie to enjoy cooking using local produces.
Supermarket is situated about 5 mins walk away.

There is a busy road close to the property, but this road hugs the shoreline all around the lake, so if you want a lake-side property then you cannot escape this road. I got used to the noise pretty quickly.

Last but not least, Irene the owner is super-helpful. She answered all questions on email and whatsapp before we left. She was there to guide us around the house once we arrived and constantly available for advice about the local area.

I would recommend this house to anyone for a feel-good family holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Dear Michelle!
Thank you very much for your long, heartfelt review. It was a pleasure to have you as guests. I must also thank you once again for having left the house so clean and tidy. It is truly a great satisfaction for me when people enjoy theirselves, and fall in love the beauty of the place I work so much everyday for.
I wish you all the best for your beautiful young ladies, for high school and singing classes. My best wishes to you all! Sincerely, Irene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A dream-like relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 30 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

When we booked our stay we were a little daring: we have little kids, had never come to the Garda lake before, but also never rented an entire property like this. I am so glad we chose Villa Angela over an hotel! The place is even more delightful than in picture, the rooms are so spacious, furniture is simple, antique, solid. We found everything spick&span.
The owner, Irene, rents her place for the first year. She provided us with all the information we needed, keeping in touch with a Whatsapp group before we arrived (she replied to all our texts within minutes!), and helping us organise (lazy) family trips when we were in Salò, with useful hints and tips. Thank you Irene!
Our two little daughters (4 and 3 years old) loved to play in the garden (and sometimes with Irene, who, trying to be a gardener, proved instead to be an excellent baby sitter...). We had an amazingly relaxing week, time seems to stop at Villa Angela. It doesn't seem like it was only a week. We are definitely gonna come back next year, hopefullu together with my best friend's family!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
Marilyn, John,
Thank you very much for your review, I am so glad you eventually did choose Villa Angela for your stay.
I was touched when you told me no hotel could have given you the emotions that you had here, in the nights you spent together, looking at the silent sky reflecting its stars on the lake. I love the villa too, for the same reasons: you can leave the outside world out the door, it's night already at ten in the evening, and in the morning a long day is in front of you. Your beautiful daughters really had a lot of fun in the big garden, I couldn't help getting involved!
I really look forward to see them again next year, and you guys. See you soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane m
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed 1 July 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

On the occasion of our 40th wedding anniversary, my grown children joined us at Villa Angela for one week. There were seven of us. We were met by Irene, who had been so helpful before the trip helping us with questions. She helped us get settled and then she left us to enjoy ourselves. We had a wonderful time!
The house was perfect for us. We especially enjoyed the outside seating and eating areas. The kitchen was well stocked and we ate several meals at the house. We also loved walking 15 minutes into the town of Salo for dining, catching the ferries, and shopping. The town had a wonderful fresh fruit and vegetable market, but there was also a grocery store very close by. We had rented two cars and there was ample parking. Every morning we were greeted by the beautiful view of Lake Garda. Each day we did something different and it was hard to pick our favorite day. We caught the ferry to the north end of the lake and explored several of the towns. The food was delicious everywhere we went. It did require a reservation since there were 7 of us! The house stayed cool even though it got quite warm during the day. The large yard felt very private.
There was a great kitchen and all the bathrooms were very nice. We loved that there was a bathroom on the terrace level and a small washing machine!We had sunny days every day but the temperature did get rather warm as the week went on.The lake was clean and we did go swimming.
It would be great if the house had wifi. It would also be nice to have fans in the bedrooms. There was a bit of street noise at night. But Irene was so helpful and added a coffee pot when she heard we were coffee drinkers. She was available if needed and we appreciated her lovely place. We all felt like we would come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Diane!!
How lovely of you to make this long review! You are most kind, and truly it has been such a pleasure to meet you. You and your family are wonderful people. It's a pity that we live so far away, I would love to see you again. I promise if I ever come to America I will write you! I always pictured I'd rather visit the countryside rather than the big cities; your house in Virginia looks lovely, just like the perfect place for you!
But if you will be back here first, I'd sure love to have you again as my guests.
The internet is the first issue we plan to fix (for sure by next seson), and it is also a great idea that all rooms should have ceiling fans soon! Right now we are considering prospections for a modern, new ladder to the lake. It is my effort to keep Villa Angela in constant renovation. I appreciate your suggestions as I need them to make this place better and better, and I thrive on your appreciation.
Thanks Diane, I will keep you in my heart. Sincerely yours
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton V
1 review
“A perfect stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

+ Fantastic villa, location and very friendly family. Villa has very beautiful garden with breathtaking view of Garda. Salo has lots of great cafe's, restaurants and a supermarkets for self catering. Everything was simply the best!
- Get ready for stairs, lots of stairs. Also, the owners are new in the business and still do not have baby crib.
In general, we had a lovely time at the villa, so peaceful and relaxing... We'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View, lake, villa
Liked least: no wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Dear Anton! Thank you for your stay! You were the perfect guests. My greetings to your family and friends, really hope to have you back (and hope by next year we will also arrange a baby crib!) Bye see you soon:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olga C
1 review
“This place will blow you away!”
Reviewed 30 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was traveling with my partner, looking for a place to stay in Italy to relax and enjoy the beauty of nature. When we came to Villa Angela we felt like we came to heaven! This place completely blew us away. It is a huge villa with 6 floors, completely immersed in nature, literally two steps away from the amazing Lake Garda. The place was super clean, well furnished and incredibly cheap for what it offers. The owner, Irene, is an excellent host, always ready to help us out and advise us on places to visit and things to do nearby. I must say that I still can't believe we were so lucky to find Villa Angela in the first place. We spent one week there and really look forward to coming back in winter to see how the scenery changes. Super recommended to couples but also to groups of friends, since there's a lot of space to enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The place and the host
Liked least: Nothing! It was perfect
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2018
Caro Hans! Grazie mille for the schönste review! I do miss you people a lot. It was like being on holidays for me, when you were here. I hope to see all of you here, all together again! And I want you to keep me updated on that stretched leg, and send pictures when you get a new motorbike;)

Baci a tutti, I like all of you a lot, take care
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing