We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sardinian Gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Gemella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Gemella
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Sardinian Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

We have just returned from a short visit to The Cost Smeralda , where we had a delightful stay at a wonderful little hotel called Villa Gemella in Baia Sardinia, just a short drive from the flashier hotels of Porto Cervo but in a location with genuine charm.
Our fabulous room was spotlessly clean and had an incredible view of the sea, only a 10 minute walk down a beautiful beach just in front, we also had the luxury of a wonderful hotel pool to return to after a day on the beach or sight seeing.
The owner is a lovely man called Nicki and he couldn't of been more helpful, always happy to give advice and we had the bonus of enjoying remarkable meals at all the restaurants he recommended and booked on our behalf!
He runs a great little hotel, we will definitely be returning in the future and happy to recommend Villa Gemella to all our friends and family!

Room Tip: It's worth paying a little extra for the Sea View rooms the views are positively breath-taking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    25
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
12
51
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

The negative reviews about this hotel should be removed because they don't sound anything like the hotel we stayed at! We had a great two weeks here, in spite of some initial iffy weather. I have mobility problems so we were given the room with disabed bathroom facilities. It was only a few steps from the pool and also had a covered area just outside with comfortable seats. I was studying an Italian course (still am) so I had my homework with me and Nicola's nephew, Andrea, gave me time to help whenever I asked. Nicola is a very kind and friendly person, He loaned us a car free for a day and at a very good rate for two more days. Without this we would not have got around the local area as the busses were rarely seen. We went on a boat trip and Nicola was even waiting for us when the boat returned to give us a lift to the hotel.

The room was perfectly adequate and comfortable. The two lady cleaners worked continually and the whole place was spotlessly clean. There was always hot water. The breakfast buffet was lovely. As a vegetarian, there was plenty I could eat. We did find eating out every night somewhat expensive, but the food was very good. This was our first visit to Sardinia so we did not know what to expect. Nicola and his staff helped to make this a very interesting and relaxing holiday.

Christine and Charlie, London UK

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineandCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

This family run hotel is very clean and extremely well run, with an excellent continental breakfast and pool .The en-suite rooms are very clean, with air conditioning. Some rooms have balconies. The owner, Nic, is very friendly and helpful, and speaks english. Satff give helpful advice for day trips. A 5min walk to a beach and also to the family orientated centre of Baja Sardinia, where there are restraunts and bars. A car is nessessary to tour this region and the hotel has adequate parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

Clean but needs some renovation (1970s chipping countertops & all). Way overpriced for what it is (but this is Costa Smeralda). The rotting fruit at breakfast needs replacement. The real kicker was not getting enough towels in our room in the first place then being accused by the owner of stealing them which ended in him yelling at us on more than one occasion. And he wanted to charge us for towels we never got! This is the worst of tourist-trap indifferent European service. Another example: internet access @25 euros/day!

However Andrea - one of the front desk employees - was an absolute gem of a person...as was just about everyone else in Sardinia! Recommendation to owner: let Andrea handle the customer service side. No one needs to be yelled at on their holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rupen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2009

Hotel Villa Gemella website is quite misleading . They have taken some outstanding pictures, but the real facilities don't live up to them at all.

Worse though, is the owners and staff:
- We were told on the phone the hotel was walking distance (300 meters) from the beach, when in reality it is over a kilometer.
- We were a large group, hence last April we had booked 3 rooms for a long weekend in July. They even take a deposit to make a reservation! But when we finally arrived, they only had 2 rooms for us and had to send part of the group to a sister hotel. Not only they did the booking mistake, but did not even apologize for it!
- I was sharing a triple room with other two friends and one day we only found towels for 2. When we called to ask for a third set of towels the hotel owner/manager refused to send it, saying we should already have a thir set in the room and that we were just trying to get a fourth one. So that night one of us dried up with a face towel! Then day of check out the hotel manager wanted to charge us for having 'stolen' the third set of towel which was never found in our room.

At 150 euro per night (double) without even having enough hote water to take a shower, I would definitely not a reccommend the place!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LRG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

The positives: sardegna ruggedly gorgeous (this makes up for a lot when staying "3-star"), hotel well located, rooms clean, intimate feel with rooms leading mainly to lovely swimming pool, nice breakfast selection, free parking, decent price for high season.

The negatives: tempermental / disorganized staff (confirm your reservation ahead of time, if you don't receive a set of towels for your room, let them know so that you are not charged, etc), guest can sometimes feel like they are bending to staff's will than the other way around, internet service expensive (e25/day), stingy on beach towels (wanted to charge us for fresh ones so we used the same ones 3 days in a row), beds hard (so if you prefer soft beds, you have back pain), hot water availability and quality of finishes inconsistent among the rooms (in our group, we had a variety of rooms).

Overall, a typical "3-star" experience, with a dash of tempermentalism, to make the experience authentically Italian :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ostramundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baia Sardinia hotels
3.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#7 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel Resort
Park Hotel Resort
#12 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.5 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Gemella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gemella

Property: Hotel Villa Gemella
Address: Statale 125 KM 338,000, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Gemella 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Gemella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Gemella Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing