We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Peaceful hotel”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

My husband and I had 12 days at the beginning of July 2013. It is a lovely small hotel, beautifully set out with wonderful gardens and pool. The private beach is fantastic, always plenty of beds and staff are brilliant throughout. However! The room beds are the most uncomfortable I have ever slept in and when we mentioned this we were told they were all the same - my husband slept on the small armchair/sofa bed after the first night! You definitely need a car - the courtesy bus is very good (and Paulo the driver is a really charming man) but it only goes as far as Baia and the beach and stops at 8pm - we tried to book a taxi one night to go to Baia (5 minutes away). for a drink and change of scene (after8) and it was €30 each way! So you are isolated without transport. Whilst we loved the hotel and staff we felt much more could be done to make to make things more enjoyable. The beach restaurant is great but very quiet and we felt it would be nice if they offered the opportunity to eat there sometimes at night instead of in the dining room where the food was very good but became a bit boring after the first week. We walked down there one night when it was bright but by the time we walked back and it was dark it was pretty treacherous as there are no pavements or street lights. We were also only one of two coupes there.
I would say go there for few days but unless you have a car more than that is too long.

Room Tip: One on the 2nd floor to enjoy the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Terry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    94
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
122
181
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were enchanted with Hotel La Rocca from the moment we arrived. We stayed for 7 nights from 11th July.The architecture of the hotel designed like a Moorish village with an atmospheric setting in the foothills around Baia Sardinia was perfect for the sense of peace and relaxation we were looking for. Our spacious room like most of the rooms had an individual design in a contemporary Italian style and the views to the bay from our balcony where the private beech was located were spectacular. Although the walk to the beech was some 15 minutes and the busy road had to be negotiated it was well worth it. The swimming was superb as was the beach bar and as an alternative there was the pool back at the hotel with its stunning back drop of rock features. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. Silvia was perfect for the bar always welcoming you with a sense of fun and nothing was too much trouble. The reception staff were professional and helpful at all times. If we had any criticism it was that the outside seating area of restaurant in the evening was very limited and to get a table there proved elusive.

Room Tip: specify in advcance what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveL02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at La Rocca resort for the first week of July.We felt we were very lucky to have had a very quiet week .There wasn't many other guests.The spa was amazing and we mostly had it all for ourselves, but the nicest thing was the beach though.It was really lovely.The staff were really nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed fourteen nights, 8th -22nd June, in a suite and took the half board option. The suite (204) was of a good size with a small terrace, not much of a view but peaceful. It didn't have a bath but who wallows in a hot bath after a hot day on the beach. It was thoroughly cleaned every day with bed linen changed at least every 3 days. Items from the minibar were as usual very expensive, water 4 euros, we used the supermarket on the way to Baja Sardinia water 45cents.
The pool area is sheltered from the wind and has plenty of sun beds but no umbrellas and the pool is large and deep.
The restaurant (long trousers requested for the gents) lacked any kind of atmosphere, it was on the ground floor but only one side had windows, the other 3 sides were just blank. Having said that the service was excellent and the food was fantastic value for money. The evening meal consisted of 4 courses, the first was self service-select what and how much you want. The second and third courses were waiter service, very helpful, cheerful efficient staff with a lovely Maitre 'D. The dessert was again self service with a good selection.Plenty of choice on the wine list starting at about 24 euros, we chose Sardinian wines and were very pleased. Breakfast (12 tables on the outside terrace)was self service with a huge choice-no 'full English' but there was scrambled egg and streaky bacon.
The bar was the usual kind of set up, quiet with low music where you could sit and chat to fellow guests. The bar was run by Sylvia, very friendly and helpful.
The shuttle bus was driven by Paolo, just ask at reception for a lift to the beach or Baja Sardinia and usually you were underway within 5 or 10 minutes. We walked to the beach, it took 15 minutes, the first 400 yards had a pavement but the next 200 yards there is no pavement so we had to walk on a rough grass verge(not at all suitable for children). The remainder is a private dusty dirt track with no real traffic leading to the beach and restaurant.
The beach is pleasant with ample sun beds/umbrellas.
The beach restaurant was very good and surprisingly classy, we ate 12 lunches there. We thought the food very good, all dishes were local with plenty of fresh fish. One course lunch and 2 good glasses of house wine cost about 25-30 euros although you could spend a lot more, we had a lobster one lunchtime and the price was eye watering! Again the service was very good and the waiters very helpful.
All in all we found it quite classy with a nice clientele, certainly no 'chavs' here.
There is a restaurant opposite the hotel but apart from that there is nothing and it's a taxi ride into the town which was very expensive, I would take the half board option and were so pleased we did.
We never used the spa so can't make any comment.
Overall, I'd go back anytime, maybe I'd give July/August a miss when it's crowded with Italians.

Room Tip: It's a funny kind of set up with rooms all over the place set off of little backstreets but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeff070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We stayed here at the beginning of June and had an excellent time - couldn't fault the hotel at all.

First off the hotel allowed us a free upgrade to a suite, as we had originally booked a standard room. The suite was lovely - very spacious.

The hotel grounds are beautiful, very well kept, and the pool and spa were great. Despite the hotel being fairly full, we quite often had the pool and spa entirely to ourselves.

The food is absolutely delicious, and the restaurant very well run by the Maitre D'.

Part of why we chose this hotel was the shuttle service offered to the hotel's private beach (very nice) and the town of Baia Sardinia, as we were travelling without a car. This service was great, and the driver was available to transport us on demand.

All in all I cannot rate this hotel highly enough - we had a perfect holiday here and would definitely love to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thrace17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Stayed here for a week last week of June and really enjoyed it. We enjoyed the pool and beach, cleanliness of the hotel and the restaurant. The excellent maitre D. really had a hand on everything and made us feel well taken care of. As a family with minor children, the location was fine, but understand that it is not made for those seeking entertainment, as there are none. The eating area in the basement was also a little dull. I believe that other hotels can provide some better value for money as it is rather expensive. We had a sea view Jr. Suite, but there wasn't much sea to see. Regardsless, we enjoyed our stay, as we got the tranquility we were looking for.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorBusPleasure_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Disappointment....this is the girlfriend (who insisted on staying at a spa and paying for it and typing a review on a mac which is hideous in comparison to a PC) writing. First and foremost ladies if you book a spa hotel you expect a massage to be relaxing (rather than being herded in to a room without a word and told to don paper pants). The massage was rubbish (although 'Benjamin' obviously thoroughly enjoyed it as inexperienced in the world of 'spas'). Walking out without a word after a massage is, in my view, rude and leaves one somewhat confused as to what to do next....do you just get up and leave or wait until the return of the aloof masseuse?

The spa in itself is good fun...especially check out the bizarre series of shower 'experiences' - like walking over a cobbled street in a strangely lit red light district with varying degrees of hot and cold steam/shower arrangements!

The pool area was stunning (if a little chilly in October) but brings the star rating up substantially.

The room was disappointing. REALLY uncomfortable beds (seriously, I almost resorted to sleeping on the cold tiled floor or the inexplicably small shower!). No bath - what is going on in Sardinia...? Seriously, I expected a hot tub (or at least a bath). If you are a size 6 you will get in the shower (fairly) comfortably and be able to wash your hair. If you are a size 8 you will struggle.

The balcony was awesome and offered an amazing view. The beach was actually out of this world! Private beach with an AMAZING restaurant, fit for a queen. Windy in October but still stunning and very romantic.

BEWARE of the marvel of the accordion! Not sure whether this is a year round event or whether we were just unlucky but wherever it was, it was audible!!

No internet available outside of the reception area.

Prosecco in abundance.

Food good and forthcoming but have had better.

Altogether, I could have spent 2 nights in a 5* resort in the Maldives for the same price! Not impressed.

My views may have been softer (less angered) if the prices had not been so steep (and I am not tight!).....

Room Tip: Dont waste your money on spa treatments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Benjamin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baia Sardinia
0.2 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
254 reviews
1.7 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
509 reviews
4.1 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
305 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Poltu Quatu Sardegna MGallery by Sofitel
4.0 mi away
Colonna Pevero Hotel
Colonna Pevero Hotel
#7 of 21 in Porto Cervo
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Address: Citta Baja Sardinia, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#2 Family Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel La Rocca is a small jewel, situated 2km from Baja Sardinia,one of Sardinia's most prestigious towns, adjacent to the Costa Smeralda and just 6km from Porto Cervo. The Hotel contain 55 smart guest rooms and suites, which are very comfortably furnished in Mediterranean style.La Rocca has its own private, sandy beach, located just 800 metres away, where you can use the parasols and sun loungers free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rocca Hotel
La Rocca Baia Sardinia
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing