We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely and relaxing end to our honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Bisaccia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Bisaccia
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely and relaxing end to our honeymoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Overall this hotel is lovely. After traipsing around Venice, Florence and Rome the relaxation and tranquil setting of this hotel was very welcome. Our room was in the residence part on the ground level at the far end overlooking a garden- we didn't have a sea view but it didn't bother us too much as we could go to the beach or look at the sea from the sun loungers round the pool. The room itself was very clean- towels changed twice daily and cleaned daily, shower was lovely with good pressure and nice big balcony with table and chairs.
We booked with Citalia so were full board- the food was brilliant and always had a lot of choice- not great for your waistline but delicious! Most the waiting staff were lovely and helpful, the only thing that did annoy us was that you had to stay at the same table for lunch and dinner everyday. On our first evening we were shown to our table which was literally by the door (may have well been inside) and as it is our honeymoon thought we might ask if we could move to have a nearer view of the sea to which we were told (after bing sighed at) we were "lucky" to have a table outside. If it had been explained to us we may not have minded but we were treated like we should know better, I do think it is unfair that the same people get to have a nice sea view every night and lunch- if there has to be a seating plan it should be a least rotated to make it fair. We felt a bit like there was a hierarchy of guest who were treated a lot better, which is not nice on any holiday especially not your honeymoon! But all other staff were friendly and helpful if you asked! I've seen some reviews about reception staff being "distant" they are perfectly friendly but could have given a bit more info at the beginning to save having to prize it from them later. Still nice relaxing stay none the less

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    79
    29
    11
    4
See reviews for
54
164
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Church Stretton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have just returned from La Bisaccia and a truly memorable holiday. Our room was lovely - very comfy and very clean. The view from our balcony was superb and regular flight passes by swifts were delightful. The balcony was also shaded for most of the day providing wonderful respite from the sun. There are also plenty of places around the pool, in the beautiful gardens or on the beach to sit and sunbathe, read in the shade, people watch or just admire the views. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly - yes, some at first seemed a little distant but that quickly changed as we got used to things. The food is outstanding - the quality, freshness, imagination and variety has to be tasted and seen to be believed. Fortunately, I'd read a couple of reviews where the expensive costs of water and drinks was noted so this didn't come as too much of a shock. We tried several Sardinian wines, all of which were lovely, and found the waiters to be very helpful and knowledgeable when suggesting wines choices. On one evening they arranged a concert of flute and guitar music to which we all received a personal invitation. Sitting outside after a lovely meal, in the warmth and under a starry sky with lovely music doesn't get much better. We arrived quite late and were very pleased to be told that a cold supper was available for us in the restaurant once we were ready. I would have liked a little more information available about the hotel, its routines etc but you soon learn what is what - plus it helps reading trip advisor reviews such as the one by KevinandJane who have provided much of what you need to know. We also booked through Citalia - a company we have used before and whom we find excellent. Having had something of a stressful year we did not hire a car but thoroughly enjoyed the transfers - one in a very large Audi and one in a beautiful Mercedes! We also chose to do very little and just have a complete rest but there are boat trips to the islands available as well as tours inland which we would consider in the future as the area is so beautiful and amazing. It is a shame one or two reviewers seem to have had less perfect experiences than ourselves - based on this first visit we are certainly planing on booking a return trip next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed at La Bisaccia for the third time this July and had a really lovely stay again. We were fortunate enough to have been upgraded to a suite last year and also had a great table outside in the restaurant. This year we booked La Residence and were given a large room (509) with the handy addition of a dressing room. The hotel itself has not changed although there were lots of new restaurant staff and we had brilliant service from Giovanni and Erika and the food was exquisite as ever and is the real draw forums to the hotel. Booking with Citalia gives you an upgrade to full board which then includes a lunch of an amazing antipasti buffet and a choice of fresh grilled fish which is filleted in front of you. Dinner is four courses beautifully served. If you haven't stayed here before there is very little information on the website and also provided in the rooms. I would agree with another reviewer that said that the reception staff are very professional but can seem a little distant but they are happy to provide information on the hotel and the area when asked. It would be ideal if Wifi was available in the bedrooms - as it is only available in the reception area- but this seems to be fairly standard in Italy. I would highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fionayorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saxmundham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

La bisaccia is an Italian resort hotel catering for Italian holidays.

It's very understated but very proud; setup to deliver a high standard of accommodation and experience.

The front desk staff are very professional and at first meeting seem aloof but it goes with the job. When needed they are very helpful and pleasant.

The restaurant staff are generally very hard working, helpful, polite and eager to please.

The house staff always greet with a smile as did the pool attendant. The hotel provides beach towels which can be changed every day. You get a ticket at check-in that you exchange with the pool/beach attendant for a towel. When you hand the towel back in your ticket is returned to you. Each day you can have a clean towel either from the pool or from the beach.

The pool was often empty and rarely had more than two or three swimmers. The beach sun beds nearly always had space. The pool sun beds were often not all used but some still suffered from being reserved all day long without attendance.

Two coffees from the pool bar cost €6.

Overall La bisaccia is a gem in its class.

Class does come at a price and ordering coffees and snacks is not cheap but they are delivered with efficiency and quality.

The room we had was good (217) with a sea view. The en-suite included a shower bath and was spacious enough to include the continental foot bath. The lights above the large mirror were split controlled with the centre lights having their own wall switch. A feature we luckily found before complaining that we needed several bulbs changing.
The bed was firm but ok, just but not orthopedic!

It wasn't easy to plug in a hair dryer in the bedroom. The electrical socket in the wall under the dressing table was in full use by the TV and the fridge. The wall socket needed a 3pin Euro plug, another nearby socket also needed the 3pin plug. Our 2pin adapters wouldn't plug in as the middle pin is needed to open up the live and neutral holes.

Included in the room was a digitally controlled safe, mini-bar and air conditioning. Mini bar prices were water €3, beer and coke €5.

Food generally is very good, at all meals. There is a good selection for most tastes not including greasy Joe's.

Breakfast buffet provides cereals, fruit, bread, Italian style sausage, eggs and bacon or even salad. The orange juice IS from concentrate and is of the worst kind.

Lunch buffet again has a good selection of choices of pasta, salads, meats and cheeses. There is also the option of ordering from different types of barbecued fish; often tuna steak, swordfish steak or the sea bass which is filleted at table by the waiters.

Dinner is a more formal affair with a set Italian format. Usually two appetisers,5 choices of pasta,risotto or soup, several meat or fish dishes and desert such as ice cream or creme brûlée from the menu or plenty puddings and fruit from the buffet. Salad is also available. The mainstay of desert being the excellent tiramisu. Vegetarian options on the dinner menu were often limited but alternative dishes can be requested. Dinner menus where in Italian, English or German.

Wine doesn't come cheap. White starting at €30.00 and reds at €25.00. The same wine from the supermarket is around €7-8 so the markup is perhaps not as excessive as similar UK prices.

Children were a rarity during our visit but there were a few and definitely more the second full week in July.

We booked via Citalia and with the inclusion of Lunch it turned out to be a good deal. Local prices for food are €10-€15 anti pasti, €15-20 pasta and €20-€25 main course (ish). Local wine is about €10/ltr. Pizza is about...

Met at the airport by private car hire and transported in cool luxury.

Our flights meant that we arrived at the hotel at 9:30 am. They gave us towel cards so that we could get towels to use the beach/pool. They took our mobile number and eventually called at 12:30 to say our room was ready! Check-in is usually at 2pm!

We did hire a car for one day, We went to the interesting market in Arzachena, the Nuraghe and the costal area around Porto Cervo.

The stay was without fault and we had a 100% holiday, no faults nor problems. We are now considering a return, we’d be stupid not to.

Room Tip: Sea view = good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KevinandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Despite the Hotels lovely setting with stunning views of the Baia Sardinia, I was thoroughly disappointed with the very small dirty pokey Junior Suite. Despite this setback spirits were high then the slow agonising service at the evening meal commenced at 8pm and finished gone 11pm there are plausible reasons which aren't PC on trip advisor as to why this was. But we shall move on, the poor service went on all week. Put the poor service aside I was shocked at being told to keep a toddler quiet while using the swimming pool but this was obviously my fault as I didn't realise this was a swimming pool only for adults to bask in silence in the sun and not for young kids to use. As a flag to other young families be aware of the steep and many steps around the hotel although not a bad mark against the hotel in anyway.

After struggling to connect to the WIFI in the lobby I found myself being taken back a few decades which was a plus side to the Hotel.

Not one for me but I'm sure couples may enjoy the slow tedious speed of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Junior Suites are small and one room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BajaHotels, Proprietario at Hotel La Bisaccia, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Mr. John J,
We are very sorry that you have not spent a pleasant stay at our hotel and for us an unhappy customer is a rare and unpleasant event.
Our Junior Suites is actually composed of an area of about 30 square meters so it is quite spacious and during your stay we were never informed from you about your point of view or your “complain” regarding the size of the of the rooms as well as the cleanliness. Among other things, the hotel offers turn down service twice a day in order to ensure the high standard that distinguishes our Hotel-Chain since 1970.
We were also very surprised about your review regarding the “Restaurant La Terrazza" , where table service is guaranteed by highly qualified employers, since all our clients and their families are always complimented on the quality of the food and service!
For what regards the behavior of our staff by the pool with the children, the customer has forgotten to mention that his son played football in the middle of the deck-chairs area, where other clients where relaxing and were they were unfortunately disturbed by the ball that his son kicked everywhere without any parents control…. and of course at that point the lifeguard staff kindly explained that for the safety of other swimmers this “activity” was not possible…. Perhaps it was this episode to upset Mr. John even though looking at his profile on Tripadvisor we believe that the problem is not our hotel at all... since only 5 of 14 reviews were assessed as slightly “good”!
To confirm our honesty actually our hotel quality and other standards where recognized all by our customers so that even in 2013 we were awarded with the "Certificate of Excellence 2013 ' by Tripadvisor and the" Quality Selection 2013 "by HolidayCheck.
We deeply thank all our guest and their useful reviews that help us to improve constantly our services.

Hotel La Bisaccia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

Looking at previous reviews this hotel is not everybody's "cup of tea". It seems to be dependant on the room choice and where you are placed in the restaurant. Well we pitched up about 22.30 for our first night and feared we would get the room nobody else wanted. Turns out we got room 112 which others have rated well and it is fantastic. Only downside is it is above the bar and the evening entertainer so there is some noise, but this ends before midnight and never interfered with sleeping. The view from that room is wonderful and being a junior suite it guarantees a front row beach bed and umbrella.
The variation in seating in the restaurant is marked with some under the stars and some within 4 walls. We were in a half way zone dining under a roof but outside the main restaurant and had a decent view. The food was not fine dining but always good and sometimes excellent.
The service was charmingly unpredictable and a relaxed attitude is essential when dining here. The waiters and maitre Ds were a delight and introduced us to some decent local wines. Overall a fun dining experience.
The pool is the best I have experienced in a long time and a real plus for the hotel.
Overall this place is a winner and worth a visit. I hope to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtonbully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We were two couples with kids, crashing in at Baja Sardinia for our final day/night at Sardinia. Truly drop-in customers, but were greeted warmly welcome and offered a good deal at the Residence, which apparently has slightly bigger rooms than the main building.
Location is amazing, with a great pool and private beach. Excellent if you want a quiet, clean and comfortable vacation. The staff provided excellent service throughout our short stay, but we have no doubt recommending this property for a longer stay.
Most guests appeared to be seniors, a lot of Germans and Brits at this time of year. Definitely no hotel for clubbers, but a great place for a relaxing vacation, even with kids.
The rooms might have seen better days, but were clean and beds comfortable. Would love to see the Italians increase their wifi offering in general. Only available in the lobby, but free of charge. We would definitely come back here for our next Sardinia adventure. Recommended!

Room Tip: You MUST try the pizza at the restaurant named il Guscio (white circular building, right across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EL_Oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baia Sardinia
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#7 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
#6 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
#4 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bisaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bisaccia

Property: Hotel La Bisaccia
Address: Localita Baja Sardinia SNC, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bisaccia 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Bisaccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bisaccia Hotel
La Bisaccia Arzachena
Hotel La Bisaccia Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing