We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-hype alert!”
Review of Hotel La Bisaccia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Bisaccia
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Where do I begin? We spent a week there in September. This place seems to be suffering from an identity crisis, you could really be anywhere in the Med staying here, and having much less fun. There’s no ‘hotel’ sign at the entrance, there isn’t a sign above reception, no info in rooms (but there’s probably not much to say) and absolutely no information given out unless verbally requested except a weather report near the desk. It’s like it’s pretending to be a hotel but wasn’t really cut out for it.

FOOD – most of it tasteless and lukewarm, nothing was hot, even the coffee and that had nothing to do with the fact that we had to sit outside to eat in 35 km/h winds. It was indeed preferable to eating indoors where they were packed out like a works canteen, having had to accommodate most of the terrace diners. All the fish tasted exactly the same. As said before, wine and water very expensive. We didn’t get invited to any Prosecco parties or musical interludes so they must be for special guests only.

BEACH – I mistakenly thought it had a private beach. What it has is a sectioned off piece of the small public beach that is on the road leading up to the hotel. All the day trippers drive down this road, realise they can’t get any further and turn around. The beds are packed too closely together for it to be a relaxing experience. The “secluded coves” in the grounds are quite tricky to get to unless you’re a mountain goat and add up to about 8 beds in total. The pool area is quite nice and seemed very clean.

ENTERTAINMENT – dire. The same guy each evening singing on his electric piano in the tiny bar area.

FACILITIES – there is a large foyer which is the only place to get wi-fi. There are only 10 seats, so there’s an interesting scramble for places in the evening when we were all looking for something more interesting to do than listen to the guy on the piano. There are no public areas other than the foyer except the tiny bar and a small gloomy TV lounge. There are no facilities that I encountered, not even a courtesy room for late departure guests.

STAFF – can’t fault them, all very nice and professional, a credit to the hotel.

ROOMS – I don’t know what we stayed in (“twin with balcony” on our paperwork) but it was in the Residence and lovely. Although quite rustic it was huge, clean and relaxing; some noise through the walls and from above but nothing too bad. A great bed, bath and shower.

RESORT – Baia de Sardinia is a newish collection of hotels, residences, shops and restaurants built around a small but pretty bay. It is a really tiny place and once you have walked around it there isn’t much incentive to go back. It’s impossible to walk along the coast, or to another resort. All activities are sea-based (and therefore restricted if it’s windy). There is one road out of town that eventually will reach Porto Cervo, which is a purpose built designer mall built around a harbour. We hired a car to try and escape but did not find anything that led us to understand why people visit northern Sardinia, although Cannigione looked quite interesting as we drove through. Alghero is on Citalia’s Top 10 things to do but our rep advised we would never do it in a day trip (2.5 hrs one way), so we didn’t. We went to Santa Teresa di Gallura (pleasant for a short visit) and Tempio Pausania (not very pleasant at all). We also had a look at the Lago di Liscia which seemed covered in green algae.

I can’t believe I visited the same place as described by some other reviewers. It has to be my most disappointing holiday ever – and the thought of spending £2.3k on the package alone just makes me want to weep. I know the weather wasn’t great and I’m not blaming the hotel for that, but they are not geared up for it and unfortunately neither is the resort. Unless you are a 100% beach lover and can go in Jul/Aug, when I presume the weather is perfect (although wind does seem to feature in other reviews during these months), I wouldn’t recommend this hotel. I’m scoring it as average because it will be OK if that’s your thing. And if you’re not in that category then don’t even think about Sardinia. Save your money and choose elsewhere. Good weather or bad, it must be one of the most characterless places on earth.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 311 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Very nice hotel. We stayed in a room a few seconds walk from the main hotel. Lots of space and done to quite a high standard. Food was also very good, but be aware of the huge mark up on drinks. Particulary bottled water. Did not find out until check out time that they charge Euro 4.50 for each bottle served at the table (which can easily be purchased for just a few cents at the supermarket). Wine was also marked up - having to pay around Euro 35.00 for wine that could be obtained for 6/7 Euro at local shops.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PJE_Tonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just returned from a week in a junior suite at La Bisaccia Residence. Although our holiday was spoiled by a heavy Mistral wind which blasted us for four days, wall-to-wall sunshine would not have improved our experience of La Bisaccia by much.

We previously stayed at La Bisaccia about 20 years ago when the development was much smaller than it is now. The units built since then dominate the site and, although they are of high quality, well-furnished (and kept superbly clean by the magnificent cleaning staff), the number of occupants means that if guests choose to eat at the same time, the dining room is simply too crowded and noisy and not a place to linger in.

The food was a major disappointment. No one could grumble about the quantity: as much was buffet-style, you could gorge as much as you wished. However, the quality was a let-down. We have never had such bland food in Italy. The freshly-grilled fish was the best bet but the meat dishes were completely lacking in flavour. Where were those Sardinian herbs? Also, where were the juicy Mediterranean tomatoes? The ones on display could have come from a Tesco Express!

Almost without exception, the staff were very hard-working, friendly and efficient. The exception was the Maître D. Although hard-working,we found him to be arrogant, aloof and begrudging. At our first proper dinner, we were given a table at the back of the restaurant, which we found to be uncomfortably hot. We asked to be moved to a cooler table and he was most reluctant to agree but did so under sufferance and moved us to an outside table. The next day, the Mistral wind arrived, gusting at 35 mph, which almost blew us off our chairs. We then asked him to move us again, away from the wind and, again, he resisted before grudgingly accepting our case. We were amused to find, the next day, that he had moved all of the tables indoors! However, this meant that the tables were so squashed together that we felt like battery hens!

To summarise, the hotel is attractive and beautifully positioned. The pool is superb but needs more than solar heating. The staff are generally helpful and if you want to trough like Mr Creosote then you will be ok here. However, if you are looking for good Sardinian food, a peaceful and relaxed restaurant which is not run like Mussolini's railways, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Blueowl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We travelled here to celebrate our 10th Wedding anniversary and we were certainly not disappointed. We had a very relaxing stay for 4 nights in one of the sea view rooms, a lovely view at that. The only fault with the room was the very hard pillows!!
The food was the best food we have ever had on holiday, it was lovely to dress up in the evening and to go down and choose our 4 courses from the menu which was different every night. The staff are welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. It is quite a formal hotel so they prefer the men to wear trousers!
The beach is gorjus, lovely to have free clean towels and a comfy sun bed. We also were taken back by the hotel hosting a beach party for an hour with free nibbles and prosecco, what a lovely thing to organise for your guests. Will be recommending to friends and family for sure.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dankatestanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We’d like to thank all the staff and everyone at Hotel La Bisaccia so much for the best holiday ever. We had the most perfect time. Everything was exceptional.

The hotel was lovely and clean. The grounds and gardens were amazing they’d thought of everything hammocks and bean bags hidden away where you could be totally peaceful and private all day if you wanted too. There were delightful little coves that we found which felt like our own little piece of paradise. The beach was lovely and very clean with lovely attendances. We loved the welcome drinks on the beach on the 2nd holiday of our holiday, the staff were popping Prosecco left, right and centre and provided lovely nibbles and music. The pool area was fantastic, it’s a salt water pool and we always found loungers, again the pool attendances were so friendly. We loved the pool area bar it was so nice to sip a relaxing cocktail and chill out to the chilled out music. It was always nice to see the barman Flavio who was very friendly and loved a joke. Our room 111 was clean and nice with a lovely big balcony and an outstanding view of the sea.

The food everyday was outstanding, we took extra money thinking that some days we’d like to eat out and try other places, as we don’t normally like to be tied to the hotel and we thought on some days there wouldn’t be anything we’d like as my girlfriend is a vegetarian and we thought she’d struggle. How wrong we were, we didn’t want to eat anywhere else.

The breakfast was a continental buffet and it was lovely sitting on the terrace looking at the sea and view. We went with Citaila and received complementary lunch and this was mostly my girlfriend’s favourite meal of the day. Again it was buffet style for first course, which included hot things too and then you could have a choice of grilled fish and then desert. We’d like to say an extra big thanks to Antonello the Head Maitre d’ he was so professional and very friendly and he helped my girlfriend with choosing vegetarian dishes and organised for special vegetarian pasta dishes to be prepared for her. So each lunch time she was able to have a pasta course after the buffet while I enjoyed the fish.

Dinner times, consisted of a four course meal, appetizer, first course, main then dessert as well as the additional buffet, there was around four choices for each course, again everything we had was delicious. And the waiters were so good in helping my girlfriend choose vegetarian options letting her select twice or more from the first course option, which usually had an option of soup, pasta and risotto dishes. The risotto’s we tried were some of the best we’ve ever had. And the ice cream, especially the lemon was just incredible. It was so romantic and nice on the terrace and we spent hours at dinner enjoying every minute of it. All the restaurant staff were friendly and lovely and made the whole dining experience so pleasurable and our favourite time of the day but we’d like to say a special thanks to Jaime, Antonio, Giovanni and lovely little Erica and of course again Antonello who were all exceptional and very professional, helpful, kind and friendly. And of course not to forget the exceptional chefs who prepared everything wonderfully.

We’d also like to mention Umberto the friendly, jolly and talented piano man, my girlfriend enjoyed dancing the night away to his music and he was very entertaining.

We can’t speak highly enough of this hotel, we can’t fault a thing, everything was outstanding but most of all what made it the best for us was all the lovely and friendly staff that made our holiday extra special :-) They are the nicest, most friendly staff we've ever met and we'd like to thank them all so much for making our holiday so special and perfect. They were all so helpful, nice and kind from cleaners, pool and beach attendances, reception, bar and restaurant staff, all of them, every single member of staff. It's been a pleasure to meet them all and be in there company for a week, we just wish it had been for longer, we were so sad to leave. Thanks so much again.

We definitely want to return again. Lee and Kate, Room 111

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelfish73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Firstly, we went with Citalia and oh my god. It won't be the last time if ever I go to Italy again, that's who I'm going with. My husband and I was treated like royalty, the cars both ways were simply fantastic and the drivers were lovely, especially the one driving us back to the airport. They were professional in every aspect I cannot recommend them enough.
Arrived at hotel in afternoon and was shown to our room. We was in the residence, lovely spacious room light and airy, it was kept immaculately clean by maids who were all very pleasant and greeted you with a smile every morning and a "buon-giorno".
The staff in the restaurant where so fantastic again, always happy and greeted you well.
The meals were superb but be prepared it is Italy after all so it's there cuisine, get over that and it's wonderful, you must try the seafood and the fish especially the seabass, which is filleted at your table. There is so much choice and trust me it's impossible to go hungry. You are assigned a table at the beginning of your stay and that's where you dine lunch time and evening, you can sit anywhere at breakfast. Breakfast and lunch are Buffett style but you can order fish at lunch if desired.
Now to the drinks and like other reviews its an expensive bill at the end of the stay so just be aware and you will be ok.
The pool was kept clean and the pool attendant was very helpful as with the beach lifeguard, they were just as nice, but they both do reserve beds for certain guests, but there are plenty at poolside and on beach so it doesn't really matter.
When you do visit the waiters that served us was a delight in everyway , Simone, Salvatorie, and my absolute favourite Giovanni he is wonderful so find him out, the matrie was very helpful indeed if you have any problems go to him he will sort anything out.
Now for Sardinia itself is a fantastic island and if I can recommend one thing and you do need it, is hire a car because without it you are stuck trust me the taxis are very expensive and bus service is appalling.
Overall we had a fantastic time and would defiantly be returning going to miss it .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peterandannmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Pros:
ideal location
Staff are friendly
You are few steps away from restaurants, cafes, mini market..
Few steps away from the beach where you can lay and relax or rent small boat "no license required"
Renting booths for trips and stuff are few steps away
You are 2 KM away from Phi Phi beach "10 minutes drive"
and 15-20 minutes from Port Cervo

Cons:
Breakfast buffet is kinda limited.
All booking online was included with halfboard, though if you call and book you can choose only bed and breakfast but we didn't know that till we arrived and wanted to extend another night.
We tried their lunch buffet once wasn't intresting especially food is not covered and you have flies and bees flying over the food

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albusairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baia Sardinia hotels
0.3 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#6 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
#7 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
563 reviews
2.1 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
#5 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Bisaccia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Bisaccia

Address: Localita Baja Sardinia SNC, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range: £199 - £354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Bisaccia 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Bisaccia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Bisaccia Hotel
La Bisaccia Arzachena
Hotel La Bisaccia Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing