We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great room, great service, lovely staff!”
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riviera
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Carloforte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My gf and I this hotel from 21st to 28th of August, we booked a superior room with half board from an online booking agency for 960€ without the flights to and from Cagliari. When we arrived at the airport a air-conditioned mini-van was waiting for us who took us to the ferry about 1 hour away. Then ferry took us to Carloforte (approx. 30 min). The island is gorgeous, the air-conditioned room was gorgeous, with a sea view which we were not supposed to get at 1st so great surprise! Lovely and helpful staff, mostly young and professional Italian native but English speaking women doing their best to accomodate all the clients (and they were many!). Very good breakfast, scrambled eggs, ham, cheese, coffe, capucinos, bacon, pastries, fruits and juices, cakes, yogurts, jams, teas you name it they have it. Only regret the evening service which took place at restaurants nearby since hotel does not have its own kitchen. We ate from imposed menus which were far from regular menu dishes in terms of quality it seems. Only wish we could have had the opportunity to choose from regular menus, even if it meant paying extra.

But overall a great experience, highly recommended! Alice at the reception even took us to see the gorgeous sunset with her own car as we had handed our scooter in the day before. Sooo kind and helpful!

Go for it you won't regret! The rooms are superb and San Pietro is beautiful... Discover it! :-)

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred1334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

We had a room at the side of the hotel looking onto a wall and side street. Unfortunately the hotel was booked fully and we could not upgrade to a front room. However the bed was comfortable, the hotel was very clean and the staff very helpful and friendly. We arrived and departed by ferry which docks about 280 yards from the hotel. No transport is available and as a result is not satisfactory for the less mobile. The breakfasts are good but items are some times slow to be replaced by a rather disorganized but pleasant staff. The room we had ,had no mini bar. Lunch and Dinner are not available in the hotel but elsewhere some distance away in the town if you are half board.The hotel runs a mini bus to the excellent beautiful beaches. Possibly not a four star hotel, but we had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEREK RODNEY W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were recommended this hotel for our visit to Carloforte and found it very nice indeed. On our early arrival our room was ready - on the 4th floor facing the harbour. The AC was on because of the sunlight; a pleasant change from most hotels. The room was luxurious and the bathroom spacious.We spent the day exploring this beautiful island and swimming at some of the beaches.
The hotel is close to the town so it was a walk to see the sights and chose a restaurant for dinner.
After a sound nights sleep we had a very good breakfast and wished we were able to stay longer but, alas, our holiday was nearly over.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We asked for a superior room with a sea view when we booked and were glad we did. Our room was lovely with a large terrace overlooking the harbour. Other rooms had, we understand, less attractive views to the side of the hotel. The curtains in our room were somewhat tatty and whilst the bathroom was large and well appointed, you could only use the shower as a hand held one as the attachment did not hook on anywhere, and was not long enough to do so anyway. Other guests commented on the efficiency of their showers however.
The breakfasts were as good as any in Europe although the bacon disappeared quickly and was replaced slowly. The bread and pastries were exceptional but the fruit disappointing.
The lounge and bar areas were clean and well furnished and the roof top terrace delightful. When asked whether the terrace bar would be open during our stay, we were informed that it only opened in the "high season" and as we were there in July, we assumed that it meant that it would only be open in August.
The staff were friendly and mostely efficient and the cleaning of the rooms to a very high standard.
Some of the staff spoke good English but it certainly helps to have a little Italian to communicate The shuttle bus to the beach was well organised although it must be very difficult to use when the hotel is full. There is also a fairly long walk from where the bus stops to the beach and unless you get there fairly early, the umbrellas and sun beds will have run out
All in all, a very pleasant hotel in a central location

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GourmetEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Thank you very much for the informations you gave us during the time we stayed in this hotel. we spent 8 days from June 6. to June 13.2012 here, you were the only person spoke fluently English with us and provided many infomation to us.You did a nice job.
The hotel is very nice located, but they did not have shuttle to beach during this time, even they provided by internet., so we have to take bus or taxi.(There is no bus running on Monday)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank limin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We stayed here for one week in September 2011. There were lots of restaurants and bars with varied prices. The food was very good but not everything available on the menu. The hotel was lovely and we had a room overlooking the sea also the there was a roof terrace which was a nice quiet area to sit and read although no refreshments available. We had breakfast in the hotel everyday and it was adequate but they ran out of scrambled eggs on a couple of days. I loved Sardinia and would probably travel there again but on the main island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Irene085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The Hotel Riviera was a very nice hotel, especially with the roof terrace, with a great view of the sea. We went during the off peak season so the hotel felt very quiet and we were often the only ones on the terrace.
It would have been nice to have food/drinks up there but you couldn't buy anything from the hotel itself and we often had to rely on the local cafes for lunch.
Our room had stunning views of the marina and sea and was not that expensive considering how well kept and modern it was.

If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday I would definitely reccommend Carloforte. Not a place for shopping, with only a few small convenience stores, that closed during lunchtime, but it's easy enough to plan around their opening times

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaziaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carloforte
0.2 mi away
Nichotel
Nichotel
#1 of 10 in Carloforte
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hieracon
Hotel Hieracon
#9 of 10 in Carloforte
100 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Mezzaluna
Hotel Mezzaluna
#6 of 10 in Carloforte
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#4 of 10 in Carloforte
146 reviews
1.3 mi away
Guardia dei Mori
Guardia dei Mori
#7 of 10 in Carloforte
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Corso Dei Battellieri 26, 09014 Carloforte, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Carloforte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Carloforte
Price Range: £56 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riviera 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Riviera… Welcome to Carloforte a picturesque town on the unique Isola di San Pietro, “an island within an island”, an oasis of peace and beauty, a natural treasure only 20 minutes away by ferry from the south-west coast of charming Sardinia. Carloforte, with its deep cultural roots, represents an important phase in the history of Sardinia’s colonization. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Carloforte
Hotel Riviera Carloforte, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing