We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, clean and handy for skiing”
Review of Hotel Dolomiti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Dolomiti
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm, clean and handy for skiing”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We were perfectly happy with this hotel as a base for skiing. It is right opposite the main area of blue and red runs which is really handy (and you can easily ski across between pistes to get to any run you want). It is the nearest hotel to the ski school used by Inghams and for us this was a huge bonus as walking in ski boots is so tiring. There is a free bus in the resort but it's just one going round and round with no timetable so there might be a bit of a wait if you wanted to use that. You won't need the bus if you stay here. It is not a luxury hotel but then skiing costs enough without paying for that and location is really more important.

Our rooms, including tiled floors and bathroom, were kept spotlessly clean throughout the week with fresh towels daily. The shower was powerful and always nice and hot. The heating was more than adequate (beware it can come on in the middle of the night so turn your radiator off before going to sleep if you like to keep cool at night).

The staff were friendly. Food was very plentiful and perfectly acceptable. The basement ski room was heated and dry and roomy; though I can imagine the slope outside could get slippery, it was fine for us. It was annoying that there were noisy snowmobiles racing round a track at the back of the hotel all day everyday but if you're out skiing you won't have to put up with them for too long. Also the ski school next door had loud music playing all day. No noisy music in the hotel but other guests could be disturbing if they bang doors, probably because all the corridors are tiled. We were on the third floor under the eaves but there was no problem with headroom and it's great exercise going up all those stairs!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    32
    14
    13
    3
See reviews for
29
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This hotel could be described as basic because it doesn't have a swimming pool, spa or games room. It focuses on the most important aspects - comfortable beds in warm rooms with powerful hot showers; copious good food with lots of choice and friendly staff who will accommodate the fadiest eaters without the slightest trace of irritation. The lack of a disco bar ensures a full night's sleep, ski gear storage is large and warm and the location is directly opposite the slopes. I shall definitely be returning!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amanda d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

There appear to be reviews for a different Hotel here. To confirm, this relates to the Hotel Dolomiti in Passo Tonale, Italy (www.hoteldolomiti.it)

We were 3 couples aged 30s-50, with skiing experience between 1 week and 25 years (only me), and travelled with Crystal/Thomson Ski.

Location was excellent. Cross the road and you're at the bottom of all the slopes, with just a short walk on the flat to the ski school meeting place or a selection of lifts. It was convenient enough for us to return to the hotel to meet for lunch or pick up something from the room. The ski and boot room is in the basement, accessed by stairs inside or by walking around the rear of the hotel and down the gently sloping driveway to the underground garage

Passo Tonale was sufficient to meet all our needs for the week, with a variety of both short and long blue and red runs, and challenging blacks if required. Prices were reasonable in resort and on the slopes.

The hotel was exactly as we expected; a good standard 3*. Our 3 pine-decored rooms were normal bedroom sized, comfortable, warm and clean. Cleaned with fresh towels provided every day, and comfortable beds. If huge rooms and expanses of polished marble are important to you then go elsewhere and pay the rate. The heating was more than adequate, room radiators coming on early morning and late afternoon, which was all that was required. The staff were all very friendly, hard working and willing to help with anything we needed.

We all found the food to be more than plentiful and of a good standard. Each evening we were provided with a menu to select for the next. We'd start with the cold salad & vegetable buffet (which included an unlimited supply of small buffet squares of pizza!), then 2 courses, each with a choice of 3 dishes. We'd finish with a desert of continental cakes and/or ice cream. I and another veggie were excellently catered for. We could select from menu, rearrange it, or even request whatever we fancied.

If you want an excellent good value ski holiday go there. We'd certainly recommend Hotel Dolomiti to friends and family, and be happy to return ourselves.

Note: My partner unfortunately suffered a injury mid-holiday and ended up with a full leg cast. The help we received from the hotel staff, Mondial Insurance claim assist, the medical services and Crystal staff (Thanks Haley & Chris) was fantastic. From simply finding a bucket to rest her leg on at meals, moving us to a luckily available ground floor room, to rearranging our transport home. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SkiRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2011

We stayed here last March 2010 after booking a last minute holiday with Crystal The Dolomiti is well situated for all the ski lifts and is reasonably comfortable although it is looking a little worn and has no real charm.

The food was the main issue with our stay - some of it was cooked long before it was needed and the majority was of poor quality - left overs appeared to have been served as part of the antipasta the next day. I observed unused milk and coffee at breakfast being put back into the serving pots for other residents.

The skiing at Passo Tonale however was excellent .

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Goldilocks_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Passo del Tonale hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Stayed here in February, together with my wife and one year old daughter. We had a fantastic time here, the service was fantastic, the food was great and the location for skiing was perfect, right opposite the slopes and child care.

The breakfasts and dinners were tasty and always filling, we were really impressed. The service in the restaurant was brilliant and we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good location, good food and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Llewellyn1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our first ski trip with our 1 year old daughter.
We only have praise for the place. The owner/manager was very helpful and usually always available for anything.
The food was fantastic even if the buffet breakfasts were a little uninteresting. The food was fresh and the evening meals were excellent especially after a day's skiing.
The waiting staff went out of their way to make us happy. Luka and Paulo were just brilliant and our daughter fell in love with Luka by the end of the trip.
The rooms were warm and clean. There was always hot water and the locker facilities for skis and boots was helpful.
It wouldv'e been helpful if there was a lift as we had a buggy most days but thankfully we were only on the 1st floor and we just got on with the holiday! The location was awesome. The road was quiet at night as were our fellow guests except for 1 night, but that is to be expected anywhere with young people!
Go here!!!! It is awesome and the skiing was just as fantastic. Why pay more for everything that you need?

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjsebba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed in march 2010, the resort is superb and the hotel location is close to the slopes, staff were friendly but the food was very basic, lots of the same and not much variety. Rooms were very small, radiator in the room never worked, given a small mobile fan heater.

The toilet was crammed into the corner next to the shower and you had to sit side ways on the toilet if you were over five feet.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#18 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel locanda Locatori
Hotel locanda Locatori
#19 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#25 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Savoia
Hotel Savoia
#24 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albergo Sciatori
Albergo Sciatori
#26 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
#12 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dolomiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolomiti

Property: Hotel Dolomiti
Address: Via Case Sparse 102, 25056 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dolomiti 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The family-run Hotel Dolomiti has an excellent location on the slopes of Passo del Tonale. The Hotel has also a Restaurant and a Bar. All rooms have private facilities and TV. Free Wi-Fi available in the common areas ( entrance, Restaurant, Bar). Excellent food and friendly service. Cosy atmosphere. By any doubts contact the Hotel directly, they will be happy to help you on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dolomiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing