We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like a youth hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel locanda Locatori

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel locanda Locatori
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Like a youth hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is 2 star but for the lift and spa. Tired decor and furniture from the 70's. Fortunately we had a nice top floor room but the noise from the road was annoying. Food was aimed at the eastern European clientelle but there was the odd nice evening meal. We asked for anything hot for breakfast,(porridge/eggs) but were ignored. Service was good overall, although the manager,Levi, was curt at times.
We enjoyed the stay thanks to the other great Crystal guests and a half decent red wine followed by a good whisky in the tired old bar area.
Have been to worse over the years in Europe but will not return.

Room Tip: avoid roadside rooms to front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggerchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    43
    12
    10
    10
See reviews for
32
26
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

NB: this is a 2* hotel & definetly not 3*!
I have never, ever wrote a -ve review on here but want to warn others to avoid this hotel.
We booked as many +ve reviews on here previously so thought we were at the wrong place when we arrived.

Our room on the top floor, tiny, no hooks to dry wet ski gear at all, nowhere for cases, no quilts, just blankets/threadbare eiderdown from the 1970,s, bed & pillows rock hard, limited heating, radiators rarely warm, bathroom from the 1970's-dark & dingy, tv not working, no room to swing a cat!
Hotel might be all inclusive but the bar area is like a 1970's cafe, hard chairs, cold, uninviting, no fire, we did wonder why there where no pictures of the bar area on the hotel website & we soon found out why. drinks ok though, red wine adequate & grants whisky, cappucino's very good.
Food, awful, not a fussy eater but didn't enjoy a single meal, often didn't really know what it was we were served. Breakfast poor, no hot options, no boiled eggs, no fruit.
You need to go outside to ski/boot room, through the snow in slippers!! Levi has a hissy fit if you even carry ski boots into the hotel (to pack on last day). Boot warmers often not switched on so struggled in a morning to get cold ski boots on, one day no lights on in cellar/boot room, relied on mobile phones & torches to get down & take boots off etc. Huge safety risk!
Bus driver smokes like a chimney, even if he's not smoking the bus stinks so much I had to cover my mouth with a scarf, asked him to open the bus windows for air but he just chucked his fag out!
Not many English guests in but huge Polish coach party who took over the hotel, walked around naked in the spa, jumped on the bus while we were loading our ski's into the boot. Entertainment was for Polish, Polish karaoke, Polish disco, early night for us in dingy room then.
Spa was amazing, better than the Hilton, I guess this is the reason the hotel gets 3 stars, we went down every day just to have a shower as our bathroom was so dingy, dark, small, inadequate, only had a hand held shower over hip bath.
Asked our crystal rep if we could move on the second day, we were able to at a cost & couldn't face losing half a days skiing & the hassle of it.
Levi works tirelessly, he is amazing, the hotel has hardly any staff & Levi does more or less everything; bar, reception, waiting tables, dealing with complaints, the poor guy is so put upon by management, it is absolutely shameful.
Lastly ski area, complete white outs every day bar one, Ponte/Temu is the nicer area reached by the gondola or down long blue at end of resort, much quieter down there, mostly reds/blacks but not too difficult at all, think many are put off by this hence why it is quieter. As intermediate skiers the whole area could be ski'd in a couple of days, although we were disappointed that the glacier was closed due to heavy snow. Lots of lovely mountain cafe's with good home-cooked food. Try the bombadinos', vine brulee (hot wine) & hot chocolate, deelsih.
But please avoid this hotel, Crystal do your guests a favour & take this out of your brochure asap.

Room Tip: don't go! plenty of nicer hotels in this resort, believe me, the all inclusive does not make up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trickilegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

... we have just returned from a weeks skiing in atrocious weather [bar one day]. And overall the whole week was OK.

We read the reviews in advance of going and I felt that they were very helpful. We got a fairly late all inclusive deal, and didn't pay a huge amount.

This was our first all inclusive, doubt we will do it again, but the positives were that the food in the hotel was super. The salads were amazing, and if you like lots of varying prepared, pickled, cooked and raw vegetables, Italian olives, artichokes, spinach, aubergines, courgettes, etc - like we do then you will love it. The following 3 courses was always varied, using a range of local products, they were also great. We always ordered something that either we had not tried before and/or something we had not heard of, and neither of us were disappointed. My partner has a gigantic appetite and once or twice asked for seconds, and if there was anything left the staff were happy to oblige. [picture a 6' 4" Oliver with an empty bowl]. Two nights of the holiday there was a set menu that was especially prepared and always a surprise - it was just great food, considering one chef and one sous chef prepped and cooked approx 80 meals [3 x day].

The breakfasts were good, but did not vary; salami, ham, italian ham with olives, bread rolls, cake, very bland cheese, croissants, cereals, conserves - you know the usual. The packed lunches were adequate - a couple of rolls with a mix of meats & cheese, fruit, chocolate and a bottle of water - certainly enough to keep you going through the day, although it did become monotonous - so on the last day we kept the packed lunch outside on the balcony [like a fridge] for the return journey the following day - and had a traditional pizza up on the mountain.

More positives: the staff, the lovely young couple who run the restaurant, Levi [like 'drive it to the levey' rather than the jeans Levi], not forgetting the cleaners who efficiently cleaned the rooms whilst we were at breakfast. Although they did not on one day when we had a late, lazy morning. The spa downstairs was lovely, especially at the end of the day, when it was quieter.

The all inclusive alcohol? We stuck to beer, red wine and gin & tonic, the red wine was better than the white wine, and in fact was perfectly palatable. Beer is beer in my eyes and was fine. The gin was ok, perhaps a little sweet, and the tonic was a strange mix of tonic and lemonade - quite nice really - just different.

The negatives: the room was basic but clean, there was dark staining right the way around the bath sealant. The bath was filled by a shower head, it had no tap, therefore by the time the water reached the bath it was not as hot as it should be. I sat generally in the bath whilst filling it, and held the shower head under the water. The metal covering to the shower hose was split and looked shabby, old and unkempt.

The rest of the room was clean, including the beds, which were quite comfy, it just lacked comfort and luxury. But as I had read this in advance I perhaps should have not been so disappointed ... look they are clean and comfy - just not what I am used to - I suppose basic would be the best way to describe them. We had a balcony which was great, we kept our drinks cold outside - including bottles of water.

More negatives:

the lounge area was as comfortable as a severe case of piles, there was no where to lounge - just lots of tables and chairs.
the shuttle bus driver, was unreliable, miserable and just no fun [unlike the other few staff who ran the hotel].
although the staff were praised as a team - there really was just not enough of them, Levi covered reception, restaurant and bar in the evening, and to be honest he did his utmost to make everyone comfortable - it just was not possible.
being just a little too far out the village to pop for a quick evening drink after dinner - that maybe is a bit unfair, it is really just around the corner, but it was treacherous weather, and there is no footpath - yer just have to takes yer chances on the road!!

On the plus side of the weather and distance - we generally missed the unreliable shuttle bus after a day on the mountains and a little bit of apres ski - so we were able to ski down to the hotel on the road.

We did enjoy ourselves, it was lovely getting to know a range of different folk from around the UK and Europe, the hotel is family and couple friendly. IT is basic, but offers value for money - and the food is great.

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance, requesting your choice of beds; double twin, family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Showey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nachod, Czech Republic
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Housekeeping is excellent. Waiters are really friendly and funny. :D Room was always clear and we hadn´t any problems at all. Food was tasty and looked well. In hotel was great disco. We spend here a lovely holiday and we would like to come back next year.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ond_ej_N893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

This was our first time 'all inclusive' and we were most impressed by the whole experience!
Leve and Vlad were outstanding hosts, making us feel very comfortable and 'at home'. All hotel staff were considerate and helpful. Good shuttle service into the ski area, we tended to get this in the morning with and easy 10 minute walk back to hotel after skiing. Chef provided excellent meals and we thoroughly enjoyed our authentic wine/ meal evening and Leve was an excellent wine connoisseur! Room cleaned with new towels daily to a high standard!
Excellent ski conditions, great scenery. Chrystal Social Guide Debbie was brilliant, completed many local reds and enjoyed trip to Madonna di Campiglio. Although quiet evenings as only 8 of us in hotel we made our own entertainment with the help of Leve's great sense of humour!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank csilko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for a week Christmas 2013 with Crystal,Went with 15yr old son.Fantastic hotel, Levi the manager was outstanding and simply couldn't do enough to make everyone happy including massive amounts of lovely hot choc and coffees.Great ski minibus service for 5mins to lifts and back but due to loads of snow we were able to walk/ski back twice too.Really inpressed with ski area very easy to navigate and lovely wide pistes with few ques,Lovely food they even did gluten free for my son,nice steam and turkish sauna and quiet evenings playing cards etc with other guests,nearly spoilt by a very lively heavy drinking group but handled well by Levi and rep,cant wait to go back soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YorksSkifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our second visit to Passo Del Tonale and the first time we have stayed at the Hotel Locanda Locatori. We chose this hotel for its quiet location and excellent reviews, and both did not let us down. We arrived on the Saturday evening and was warmly welcomed by the staff who were very concerned that we were fed and watered after our journey before showing us to our lovely room.

All the staff were very obliging and the infamous Levi lived up to all the reviews. What a star! This man was amazing and was fully committed to the hotels ethos of customer service and the Iride Hotels Group should be very proud that such an individual works for its organisation. Nothing was too much trouble and Levi's ability to keep the place running with such a great atmosphere was very apparent. You must try Levi's lovely cappuccinos......!

If you are considering staying in Passo give this hotel a try, the all inclusive is a great plus. There was a free mini bus on hand to ferry you to and fro the slopes, however we preferred the small walk back after skiing which was lovely to stretch the legs out.

In conclusion, the Hotel Locanda Locatori was excellent value for money, lovely food and excellent customer service. The location was idea for us as it was very quiet and had amazing views. We hope to return again next year and if you decided to stay here you will not be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Passo del Tonale
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#18 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#24 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#16 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Garni Pegra
Hotel Garni Pegra
#1 of 12 in Ponte di Legno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel locanda Locatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel locanda Locatori

Property: Hotel locanda Locatori
Address: Via Nazionale 28, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel locanda Locatori 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel locanda Locatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing