We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to slopes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed here last week Jan 2012.The Hotel is in a great position for the slopes but a ways out of town.It was very nice and clean and the room was great.My biggest complaint is that the Restaurant was badly organised the waiting staff had no idea.Spent most nights watching our meal doing the rounds of every table before getting to us.The food was ok but to everybody's taste.Some nights my Daughter struggled to find anything on the Menu to eat.
I was also surprised how quite it was in town all the bars and clubs were empty.
If I came back I would stay here again as the facilities were good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Thank you for your comment. We are happy to know that you liked our hotel. But we are deeply sorry if you are not satisfied with the restaurant service.
Concerning the food for your daughter you could have asked for something else she would like and most likely we could have arranged it.
In case you come back, we will do our best to find something that suits your daughter’s tastes every night!
Hope to see you again soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

just returned from week stay here- impressive and lovely hotel in a wonderful spot for the slopes. Kids club people were great creative and entertaining providing safe haven for the kids to play and make friends. They even arranged a surprise 60th birthday party for one of the kids dads in the disco. Our room was a little small for the 5 of us- maybe as we had the travel cot at the foot of our bed! The mezzanine room shouldve rang alarm bells for us as there was a scary pine staircase which we had to police so nobody fell down it and so that the toddler didnt go upstairs. Otherwise it was fine- clean etc.. possibly should've upgraded as there was a wing of the hotel which looked decidedly VIP. Restaurant was lovely- tip-dont wear socks to breakfast- you get told off by the maitre d' and probably rightly so. plenty of options for meals- unfortunately the restaurant could not provide early meals for the kids which meant either trying to keep 1 1/2 yr old awake til 7.30 when it opened for service, by which time he was ready to sleep not eat or giving him a snack earlier and having him asleep in the buggy while we ate our food- varying success- several times i abandoned my dinner and went to bed early with him. swimming pool was nice- not busy perhaps due to slightly cool temperatures- not ideal after a day in the snow- but pleasant enough. Overall a lovely hotel- perhaps I should have put more thought into the logistics of having a young family on this type of holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cat76_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

We are so happy to know that your kids had a good time at our kids club and we hope that you as parents could be relaxed knowing that your children were fine and having a good time.
We actually do organize early meals for kids, normally at 6.00 pm but we need to know it in the early afternoon so that everything can be arranged.
If you want to come back, now you know you will not have to struggle for your kids meal!
Hope to see you all back here soon!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed here for a week as a group of 13, mix of adults and kids, arriving New Years Eve 2011.

Hotel is upmarket in comparison to other ski hotels I've stayed in. Rooms modern, spacious and well-appointed. Communal areas clean and comfortable, good standard of decor. Wellness spa very good indeed. Right next to ski lifts so allowing easy access to all areas of the resort with a few minutes of relatively easy skiing.

And so onto the niggles. Location-wise it's a bit of a way out of town of an evening if you are on foot. The shower cubicles were small in relation to size of bathroom, and it generally took an age for the hot water to start flowing. And the service in the restaurant on the first couple of nights could only be described as a complete shambles - to the extent that we asked to come off half-board and have a refund so that we could go eat out of an evening rather than waiting eons for drinks and food and having to comfort children who were by that stage tired and starving hungry. In all fairness, management told us to give them 24 hours to turn it around - which we thought was impossible - but they somehow managed to get hold of several more English-speaking staff and things got significantly better overnight. We shouldn't have had to complain for that to happen though...

Best thing about the place was the staff though: the girls on reception were fantastic, really helpful. And when a couple of people suffered injuries they couldn't have been more helpful in terms of digging out the minibus from under the snow to ferry us around and finding someone to drive them for us.

Overall, I'd happily go back there again, and happily recommend it to others looking for a very comfortable hotel in this mountain resort.

Room Tip: We were in a family room on the ground floor without much of a view - I'd be asking for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

We are very happy to know that you liked your stay here and that you had a good feeling about the staff.
We are sorry if you haven’t been satisfied with the restaurant service, we realize it could have been better but it was due to unpredictable problems which came up all of a sudden and that we tried to solve as soon as possible.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Passo Tonale was lovely, however the hotel is something to be desired. See below ( hope this helps)

The hotel reception and bar was as expected of a 4* hotel a rather grand looking entrance, however the service from reception was quite the opposite. The organisation of the rooms was unruley handing out wrong rooms to couples.

The rooms were not as expected, with picture hooks hanging out of the wall (where a picture hould have been), the Air con not working / having a mind of its own, and the shower having a hole in the wall from fitting and finally the tv remote did not work.

The food in general was bland, with no traditional italian food rather they tried to cater the menus a little more random, and no italian food at all.

The buffet starter and deserts had no signs informing guests of each item.

The service from the waitors were unacceptable with staff running around like headless chickens, serving wrong food to the wrong tables, unable to uncork bottles of wine, and generally a sense of no organisation. The staff need training on providing the correct services to customers.

One waitress was excellent after 3 days of complaints, she was very attentive and tried to manage the other staff however they didnt take notice of her.

The manager of the restaurant was rude, and unhelpful, proposing new rules for dining during our stay, due to some of our party wishing to wear open toed footwear which, he then proposed a "suitable footwear requirement for dining" and tried to remove the members of our party from dining in the restaurant due to this. This i felt was unacceptable and not suitable for a hotel of this supposed level.

The quality of service and food provided in the restarant was more of a 2-3* restaurant.

Both myself and my partner went out for food one evening to a 3* restaurant and the food was classic italian, and beautiful. what i would have expected at the Paradiso.

Another mem ber of our party had an alergy to nuts, however the restaurant only believed one type of nut was clasified as nuts and the others are fruits. After this being mentioned prior to our arrival and on arrival no notice was taken and all foods were laced with all types of nuts.

After 2 days the staff finally put notices on the desserts however not on any of the other food.

After constant complaining this was finally done, however this was not really acceptable as this could have caused serious problems with the guest.

Overall there are some changes to the hotel which could bring this up to the 21st century and proide the service and needs of each customer. I do not believe this hotel is worth the amounts spent stopping here for a week.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank skiboard_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico B, Direttore at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Concerning the wrong allocation of the rooms, this was the case: there was a reservation of 4 rooms under the same name. The rooms belonged to different categories and the guests themselves didn’t have clear ideas on who was supposed to get the superior room and who was getting the standard one, that is the reason why some of them got the wrong room. It wasn’t something the hotel could figure out on its own. So that was probably a misjudgement due to lack of knowledge of the situation.

About the Air con: it is an automatic system, it works differently when you are IN the room and where you are OUTSIDE the room, and that is according to special rules about energy saving.

In case of any kind of problem in the room it is enough just to tell the reception desk and everything would be fixed within the day.

Concerning the menu, every night our guests can choose among 4 or 5 different kinds of pasta and 4 main courses and most of them (normally ALL of them) are of course from Italian cuisine, and every night there are some of LOCAL traditional northern Italian cuisine, such as Pizzoccheri, Ravioli alla Bresciana, Scaloppine alla Valdostana and Polenta that for sure you remember.
Italian cuisine is spread worldwide, so probably somebody might think it isn’t TYPICAL Italian simply because you can find it everywhere in the world. We would appreciate if you could tell us how you could say that it was NOT Italian food.
If somebody is not satisfied with the service, it doesn’t mean that it is appropriate to criticize the food as well.
We are well known for the quality of our food as everybody can see also from other comments on this web site as well.

About the allergy, it was communicated by the agency and reception did pass the communication on the kitchen. There was a misunderstanding on the very first day - probably due to the language -, but it was all sorted the next day, and for sure you remember talking at the front desk with the maitre and the chef who were showing you all different kinds of nuts to understand whether you were allowed to eat any or not.
There was no indication on food other then desserts because in the main courses nothing would have had any kind of nuts at all. We all know very well what wrong food can cause and of course we do care about that.

We are an international hotel, we do understand that according to your culture it is ok to access a restaurant with flip-flops, slippers, socks or bare feet, but this doesn’t suit all cultures, including the Italian one, especially in a 4* hotel where a kind of dress code is required.

Hopefully we have been clear on all the explanations.

We are at your disposal for any further enquiries or information.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Stayed here Feb 2011. The hotel is a great location for access to the slopes. It is at the end of the road so at night if you venture out of the hotel, you have a few minutes walk to the nearest bars/clubs/small shops. Its a trek to the rental place (intersport I think). Ifyou get the chance, book rental through the hotel - their shop is in the hotel and have a great range ofboots etc, plus was cheaper than our rental from shop in town. Although only a ffew mins from shops etc, its a very cold walk in the ski season! The rooms of the hotel are lovely. We treated ourselves to a deluxe room-extra £70 per head. Deffinatly worth it as much bigger room and reall good sized balcony. Massive bed, flatscreen TV and lovely bathroom. We spoke to someone in a normal room and didnt sound as nice. The spa area was really well done. You had to wear swimming caps in the pool (buy from reception) and the water was a little cold, but was empty each evening. Pool & jacuzzi really well designed. The sauna and steam room area was fantastic-really well designed and no-one ever in there which was nice. The food was nice, however, far too fancy for a ski resort. After a full days skiing, you simply want large pizza or pie etc, but the hotel offered typically Italian food-very fancy and small portions (think designer restaurant). You had a designated table all week and the same waiter. Puddings were great though! Bar prices were pretty reasonable. Breakfasts were great - loads of pastries etc and sausages/fried eggs etc constantly topped up. The hotel had a nightclub which looked great and modern on the flyers, but it was never open. Passo T is a quiet resort (the slopes were enpty and no queue for lifts...which is great!) so maybe the club wasnt open as not enough people about. Overall, hotel is really good. Would deff stay there again if go back to Passo T-deff the best hotel in the resort. (It says ski in/out, but its not really. You are right next to the lifs but you cant ski out of the hotel onto the runs. You have to climb some stairs or go up a mound of snow. Sounds easy but is very hard in ski boots and carrying skis. However,better than getting a bus! Most people would love this hotel

Room Tip: Upgrade to a deluxe room - worth the money (bigger and get a balcony!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank x9jpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed in the Hotel for a weeks Skiing. Having stayed in many ski hotels before, this was by far the most luxurious and great value for money. The rooms and shower were great and the food was different and well presented each night. Caters for both meat lovers and veggies. The house red wine was great tasting and good value. Spa pool and jacuzzi slightly cold compared to most. The gym was good with a selection of free and machine weights. #Be aware that the mini bar in the rooms charge 10 euros to place any food or drinks brought in from the street apart from baby milk and medicine per night#
All in all, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

thank you for your comment, we are so pleased that you have been satisfied with our hotel. Also the fact that you appreciated our food make us very happy because there is a big effort from the kitchen to make everybody happy!
We hope to see you here again soon…to enjoy our cuisine!

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

In my opinion, the hotel is absolutely not up to standards of a 4-star hotel. Moreover the price
doesn´t reflect the services and the quality of the hotel. Besides the trifles that we had, such as remote control didn´t work, ventilation in the bathroom didn´t work, there were bigger problems. Firstly with dinners, the service of the restaurant is not enough for the capacity they provide. I mean the waiters were conscientious, but they couldn´t serve normally so many people, so we used to wait sometimes up to an hour to be served. In addition, I have never seen in any other hotel that receptionists served as waiters, too. Then the wireless connection - we didn´t have wireless in our room and the only one connection I was able to catch in the reception hall was so slow that I soonly gave up. And lastly the wellness centre - again the size of the centre is not enough for the capacity of the hotel. The wellness was always crowded that I nearly once managed to get to the only one finland sauna. I don´t want just criticize, the hotel has also several positives, the rooms are nice and clean. I just want to say that it´s definitely not a four-star hotel

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank norbert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enrico B, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

We are deeply sorry that you are not fully satisfied with our hotel services.
For the remote control, it is enough to go or to call the reception desk and it will be fixed immediately.
Concerning the wireless connection, it is not up to us. You know Passo del Tonale is a hamlet in the middle of nowhere and unfortunately public administration doesn’t think it’s worth investing in these services. This is the reason why connection in Tonale is never going to be fast!
We really hope to see you again here so that we will get the chance to show you that the week you was here has been an exception due to unexpected problems.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#9 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piandineve
Hotel Piandineve
#8 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#11 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Case Sparse, 51 | Passo del Tonale, 25056 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#10 Spa Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range: £202 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing