We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here in Feb half-term. The hotel is in a fabulous location at the bottom of the slopes. The ski shop attached is very convenient. Food was fantastic and the staff in the restaurant were very friendly and attentive. The staff in the bar, however, were grumpy and rude. The spa was nice although the swimming pool was very cold. All in all, a lovely hotel in a great location,

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here as a group of five families. The area is stunning - beautiful scenery and loads of snow, faiirly quiet town, ideal for us with younger children.

The Hotel was ok - the standard rooms we had were very standard, a bit beaten up round the edges but sufficed, I didn't see any of the superior rooms but maybe they were much better. The shower was a bit of a problem in that you had to let it run on full for at least half an hour before you planned to shower otherwise it stayed cold. The beds were ok - a bit on the hard side. They don't provide any tea/coffee making things but just ask at reception for a kettle and take your own.

The food was fine most evenings, a good selection overall, as it was the last week of the season they seemed to be running out of their wine stock so it was a case of whatever they had left but we managed to negotiate. Breakfast choice was excellent. One of our party was gluten free and they coped very well with this.

The bar downstairs was good, the bar staff in particular Maria was especially lovely and welcoming. Around 5pm they put on a few small bar nibbles.

They had a good locker room with adequate storage, the ski hire was a bit manic but we got there in the end.

I was a first time skiier and found the ski-school that Crystal use to be way too pushy (literally), they forced you on way too quickly and as a result 6 of our party ended up pulling out of their lessons days early. This needs to be addressed.

Overall we had a great time, I would return to this hotel again but stay in a superior room if poss and maybe have private ski lessons rather than the group ones.

You must go on the gondola and chairlift up to the mountain cafes, stunning views.

Room Tip: Go superior if you can but stay away from the rooms near the Umbrella bar and also directly above th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidentprone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed here from 9th-16th march with my sister. The food was great - plenty of options for even fussy eaters like me. The pizza in the self service restaurant is definitely worth a try! The staff are very helpful and friendly. The only negative comment I can make was that we had to wait an hour after we arrived for the room to be made ready, but we just went across the road to the cafe for something to eat and weren't bothered by this. The ski shop is next door, and access to the slopes is next door too. there is about a 5 minute walk to the ski school meeting point if you walk across the slopes, or about 10 mins by the road. I would definitely come back again! the snow was perfect, and I can't fault anything!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonster85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were there for the Easter weekend and went with friends who had already been there before and had loved the place. When we arrived there, we understood why. The hotel is spacious, extremely clean with a contemporary decor. The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. The room itself exceeded our expectations, very modern with a spacious bathroom finished off with top class toilet amenities. We had come with our corgi and there was a doggy cushion and bowls for him too! The bed was large and extremely comfortable and was almost a shame to leave the room to go skiing!! The breakfast buffet choice was vast and we could enjoy freshly squeezed fruit juice on request. As for dinner, top class service from the staff as well as top quality menu. We really could not find fault with the place. Am already looking forward to our next trip there!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdds6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I came here last year with just my daughter and talked my wife into it for this year and she really enjoyed it. What made our holiday last year and again this year was this great hotel.
As everyone says - great food, good spa, location cant be beat being on the base of the pistes.
The skiing is tame and reds not very challenging but ok for those who dont want any more. Ponte has the better and steeper pistes and are empty apart from the Sunday when the locals come out if the weather is good. As I have just come back from an extra week Tignes/Val d'Isere I can honestly say that the busiest day in Passo Tonale is nothing compared to queues at major resorts - so I'm never doing those again.

Not sure about the comments regarding the staff, on both vists i found them to be freindly and helpful.

The only niggle I had last time was the wait between courses at dinner on some evenings and this time around there was no long delays. Also they open the restaurant for early am departures which was an improvement on last year

Hotel credit works well and as others have said not at the umberella bar. The only gripe I'd have this time would be the food at the umberella bar, the guy handled buns and raw meat at the same time and one of my orders was for chips which came out of an ice cream tub having been prepared earlier, as it was -10C there were obviously cold so I left them with him. Lunch on hotel credit can be taken at the lunch bar so a much better option.
I've spent the weekend looking for something else for next year but I know I will be disappointed by comparison so will probably go again to Paradiso despite the limited skiing, A slope is a slope right? There cannot be many locations in the brochure that offer:
- true ski in ski out
- great food
- nice spa
- nice rooms (go superior)
- hotel credit
- excellent value for money
- high altitude for guaranteed snow
- virtually no lift queues
- empty pistes

Room Tip: A superior is far better than a standard although not all have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonny5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This Hotel was very Average. We found most of the staff not happy in their work which led to a bad atmosphere. Not everyone just some. The cleaner inadvertently threw away a bag full of our medicines toiletries etc. the hotel did their best to replace what they could in their defence. The room was clean. Sheets changed on a weekly basis. Entertainment non existent. Food was plentiful but there was no variation from night to night. The first night the food was excellent but it seemed to go downhill after that.
We had to purchase hats for the swimming pool which we only used once as it was cold. You have to be 16 to use the Spa facilities.

It seemed that everything in the town was shut, bars were pretty much empty. The one night that there was entertainment in the hotel we had to get our transfer at 4.20am so it was not practical to attend. We did ask the Crystal rep on a few occasions of events etc. but there really was nothing for us to do. we were disappointed in this as when we booked the website did say the the town was 'lively'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our group of 17 stayed for a week and all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

The hotel is clean and modern with a nice bar, a superb restaurant and the best wellness area (Pool, sauna, steam room etc) we have come across in 15 years of ski trips.

The food was both plentiful and good - huge breakfast buffet and five course evening meals.

The staff were lovely - could not have been better !

For skiing at Tonale the Grand Paradiso is hard to beat with its location right on the Blue piste (18) and with two lifts at the back door. Ski both to and from the back door no problem.

I doubt that we will ever stay in better ski hotel !

Room Tip: Standard rooms were OK but the superior rooms were worth paying a little extra for. We had a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivanelofanich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
773 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#15 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piandineve
Hotel Piandineve
#9 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#11 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
259 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
553 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Case Sparse, 51 | Passo del Tonale, 25056 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#10 Spa Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range: £198 - £438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing