We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Stayed in the Grand Paradiso for a week's skiing with friends. It's in a great location for skiing, right on the slopes and close to the lifts (although, given the location of the ski-room, not quite ski-in, ski-out) and just a little away from the heart of the village so that you don't get disturbed by those whose apres-ski goes on a little longer and is a little noisier than yours.

The hotel itself is stylish and comfortable in its public areas: the bar especially is a really nice place to wind down after a day's skiing. The rooms are comfortable - especially if you go for the upgrade and get a deluxe one with balcony (strongly recommend these). The spa is everything you'd want, well equipped and comfortable to be in, and we looked forward every day to our supper in the restaurant. The best of it all, however, was the hotel staff who were not only helpful and efficient but really friendly too and this makes a big difference when you are staying in the same place for a week. Purely personally, I am particularly grateful to the reception staff in arranging to return something that I left behind.

The hotel does have some idiosyncrasies (such as only having one key per ski-locker and some of the things that were not provided in the standard rooms) but for us these were more than compensated for by how enjoyable it was just staying there. We were not a family group but I imagine that it would be just as good for people with children as it is for those without.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms with a balcony: more space and better equipped and decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonathanWalkerJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Booked 10th Jan for 7 day family holiday. Intermediate to advanced skiers and boarders.

Easy check in and very pleased with the superior rooms, we contacted the hotel in advance asking for one room with a double bed and the other with twin beds and if possible in close vicinity. We were allocated room’s next door with connecting balconies with a great view of the slopes.
The room was spotless and the beds were very comfy and good storage space with a nice clean bathroom.
There was a sign on the mini bar saying that if you stored anything inside except medicine there would be a 5 euro charge, also it was not switched on. Come on not what you expect in a 4* hotel. Easy option kept beers and soft drinks on the balcony, sorted!!

The heating controls don’t work and the rooms get very hot and stuffy, we ended up switching off the radiator in the bedroom and leaving the window open.

We booked advanced ski hire through Chrystal, the ski hire shop is attached to the hotel which is really handy but I was not impressed by the quality of the equipment or the attitude of the guy working there.
Woman in front of me was collecting her skis and was asked if she booked advanced or intermediate, her reply was intermediate, I was asked the same and was issued with the same skis as her!!
First pair of boots were wet and the pair I eventually got had no insoles, skied with them for one day and decided to buy a pair as I couldn’t manage to ski a week with what I was given.
Watched people return boots and the guy just put them back in the rack, no disinfectant spray or drying! ready for the next mug.
Other people we met during the week had hired from the shop 2 doors up and had far better service and equipment.
The ski locker was of good size but there was no drying so boots still wet in the morning.

Internet was a bit patchy and takes several hours to get log on details due to new terrorist rules??
We booked half board and found the food to be very good and plentiful. Only thing there is no kids menu which can be a problem for a fussy teenager. But after speaking to the head water he said that we could request anything for my son in the morning at breakfast and they would have it for him in the evening which was fantastic.
We used the spa once, not really impressed, Jacuzzi was out of order the pool could have been a bit warmer. Tried the sauna but it too was a bit cool.
The hotel is about 10 mins walk to the center of town, bars shops etc but it is great for ski to your door, me personally I would rather have ski to the door.
Catch the chair at the back of the hotel and ski to the gondola to Ponte De Legno, we skied here a few days, some great skiing and no queues, in fact it was like having your own private slopes at times as it was so quiet.
Can’t fault Debbie our Crystal rep, she was excellent. We received a call from Debbie the day before were due to travel asking if we were ready to travel and if there was anything we required or any concerns. My daughter had taken ill and was unable to fly, Debbie helped with everything we needed and for info for the insurance etc.
We went on the social ski 3 times with Debbie and had a great time and met some great people. We booked to go to Madonna one day and had a great days skiing, Debbie was great and she knows all the good runs and mountain bars.
We booked 400 euros of credit with Crystal for the hotel; this is a great deal and well worth it. The bar staff were excellent, and very helpful. Free small snacks available at the bar when you arrive for a couple of beers after a great days skiing.
We had everything ski wise, sun, fresh powder and no queues, it just doesn’t get any better.

This is a good hotel and we will go back, the location is great and so is 99% of the staff, with a little bit extra it could be an amazing hotel.
This is not a big resort and for advanced skiers it gets a bit limited by the end of the week, but Ponte De Legno is a hidden gem. Don’t tell anyone as we will be back next year.

Room Tip: If in Ponte De Lengno go to Roccolo Ventura Mountian Restaurant, great place and the owner is terrif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buckieloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Booked through Crystal ski. Very stylish Italian hotel with fantastic food right on the piste. Standard rooms are ok but a little tired compared to the feel of the rest of the hotel. Also has spa and pool which is also nice at the end of the day. Plenty of good intermediate skiing and bars without the need for walking in ski boots. Crystal also do hotel vouchers you can purchase at a discount in advance. We purchased 2 which gave us €400 to spend on hotel bar and spa. These cost £ 87 each well worth it with 5 of us. My second visit came previously between Christmas and new year 3 years ago which was also good as was the snow.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Two & half hour transfer to resort, non stop so be prepared ! Arrived at Paradiso hotel, swift & easy check in with pleasant staff, we had upgraded to a superior room, well worth it with a contemporary style with balcony over looking the slopes. Hotel pool & spa center all complimentary with excellent facilities. Half board option was excellent, buffet breakfast hot & cold, 4 course dinner, buffet salad starter, choice of first course, choice of main course, then buffet selection of desserts/cheeses. Plenty of choice, food overall excellent. Wine selection very good and reasonable priced. Hotel location great for ski lifts,& next to slopes and village amenities.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

A family ski trip from the 18th to 25th January 2014, (myself, my wife, our two year old boy and grandma) booked through Crystal holidays. The hotel is large, clean and right next to the slopes. Slopes accessed through a few stairs or a short walk to the gondola. The food was excellent with a buffet starter, a choice of one from four main meals (1st and 2nd courses) and buffet dessert. Wine and water not included with the meal, and beware some of the wine is rather expensive for what it is, with the basic starting at 18-20 euros a bottle, but the staff were friendly. The ski room is large, and each room gets a fair size locker, the ski room did suffer from heating problems during our stay resulting in ski/snowboard boots not drying and suffering having to put on wet boots the next day – not an idea start to the day on the slopes. The swimming pool was nice but a little tatty, rather cold one day, with a few cracked tiles, broken lights leaving one end in darkness, none of the bubble jets worked and the Jacuzzi out of order, but the spa staff were very friendly and it was ideal for children to burn off energy during a poor weather day. The children’s play room (the reason we choose this hotel) was advertised as open all day and I even emailed to check/confirm opening times prior to our stay with Martina (the front office manager) and these was confirmed as 10:00-22:00, but it was in fact only open 10:00-11:30 then 15:00 to 18:30 then 19:00 onwards, meaning during cold, bad weather days when we needed it in the afternoon it was closed. We booked two three bed rooms online through Crystal, and with the grateful assistance of our Crystal rep. we did get one large four bed room, and a small twin, instead of two twin/double rooms we had previously been allocated. We had to wait around three hours for our larger room to be available, but I guess this could be understandable on such a busy changeover day. Temperature of both rooms could not be controlled, one room was hot, the other cold. Some hotel reception staff were bordering on uninterested, and not very helpful. WiFi access problems seemed to have occurred through-out the holiday, it took four days for us to eventually get access, mostly password/access problems. In general this is a very nice hotel, but not excellent, and during our visit we suffered from too many little niggles that should not occur in a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dr_Stefan272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and I and also some friends stayed here the 18th - 25th jan, we had all booked superior rooms and i must admit that after reading some reviews i was a bit concerned about them but we were all delighted with the quality of the rooms we received as it was larger than we expected with a large shower area where you were supplied with bathrobes and slippers and we also had a balcony,It was very clean and warm ( to warm sometimes ) and had just enough storage space to take our gear, the only gripes we had were that there was no hooks to hang up you ski jackets to dry them if needed and also the soundproofing was so poor you could here the next room talking but things were quiet at night so it was a minor complaint.The hotel spa facilities were good and although the pool is small it was always quiet when we went at around 5.30pm but as others have said you do need a swim cap to use it ,also the sauna and steam rooms were good as well and made a difference after a long days skiing.The food was ok (nothing special ) and there was more than enough to fill you up but be carefull if you order wine at dinner as sometimes they don't tell you the price and one couple who asked for a bottle that the hotel recomended almost got stung for 140 euros as it was only at the last minute that they asked the cost of it. We found most of the staff fantastic espially Moira and Jessica who were amazing and also the two boys who run the hotel bar .The hotel also does a credit deal of 100 euros for about 43 pounds and we would advise anyone going to get it as you can use it for drinks, lunch and also massages , we got 100 each but wished we had got more but a word of warning the credit goes on your room and not each other so if you are a group of friends sharing you need to keep tabs on who is spending what !.The hotel has a good location for the slopes and if the snow is good you can ski right back to the ski room door.The ski lockers are ok and are heated for your boots to dry out. Overall I would recomend this hotel and the only thing that spoiled it for me was that I left my good ski gloves behind when we left :-(, when i discoverd this I e-mailed the hotel asking them to post them to me at my expence but was told no ski gloves were found in the room ( very strange ).The ski area itself is good and fantastic for learners or intermediates but for advanced you might be board by the end of the week unless like us you like powder and off piste, we were fotunate to have loads of powder and played in it for the first few days and also you can go a day trip to maddona which was one of the best days of the week,the glacier skiing was poor and not really worth it and the best areas seem to be at the top of each side of the main ski area so although we enjoyed our week we probably would not return due to the limited skiing.

Room Tip: normal rooms are small upgrade to superior on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Myself and 5 friends have just returned from a weeks ski holiday at Hotel Grand Paradiso.
We had booked 2 triple rooms between us and when booking in about 3 pm were allocated 1 of the rooms as the second hadn't been cleaned. Some 5 hours later we were allocated the second room...a double room with 2 single beds to sleep 3 adults ! After another delay we had both rooms, superior type as we had paid the extra supplement.
I didn't see the standard rooms but ours were really impressive, 2 single beds, a large double sofa bed, shower, WC, plenty of storage and a small flat screen TV.
We did have an issue with one of the sofa beds...it sagged quite a bit in the middle, so much so that the mattress had to be placed on the floor to sleep. Bad enough, but worse was that the maid simply made up the mattress on the floor and didn't ask why we had moved it from it's frame.
As we had booked superior rooms we were entitled to free robes and slippers...they were not supplied and we had to ask for them. Reception staff initially stated we had to pay for them as they had already placed same in our room. Eventually we were provided with 2 robes between 3...no slippers. When we asked for a third robe ( there were 3 in our room) reception again wanted money. Still waiting for the slippers though !
We pre paid for the hotel credit scheme, with 5 of us paying £43 for 100 euros of credit and 1 paying £86 for 200 euros. This was a fantastic deal which I would recommend to all but beware if in a group. We were in 2 different rooms, and as mentioned we did not all pay for same deal. When we asked how the hotel kept track of our individual credit we were advised it was a group deal and not individual. We asked for this to be changed but the reception staff refused, and in addition they claimed we had only booked 500 euros of credit and not 700. The missing 200 euros was somehow found but not before reception staff told me to " STOP TALKING, BE QUIET AND GO AWAY".
Our resort rep Debbie was absolutely useless....we advised her re our issues but were told it wasn't her problem and we should talk to the hotel.
The hotel facilities were very good, the pool really relaxing after a days skiing although we found it a bit cold towards the end of the week. The sauna and steam rooms were fantastic, clean and relaxing and although we were looking forward to the Jacuzzi found it to be out of order all week.
The hotel advertised free Wi-Fi but this was only available for one evening of our stay, with reception blaming fog as responsible for connection problems.
The restaurant was fantastic, food incredible and our waiting staff, Moira and Jessica, first class, friendly and informative. Be aware though of the wine prices...we accepted a red wine recommendation on the first night, a pretty decent and tasty red local bottle. Having started drinking same we discovered that it was 45 euros worth. I appreciate that to some this is not a great deal of money but I certainly cannot afford to spend this amount of money on a bottle of wine.
The bar was really impressive, relaxing and the bar manager Ellia( apologies for spelling) a great host, funny and a great story teller ( his nick name is Gino Decampo).
The skiing itself was fantastic, ski in as well, no queues and would definitely recommend.
Great hotel let down by a couple of issues and in particular the reception staff.

Room Tip: Opt for the superior room upgrade. We were in room 11 on ground floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank booboo1068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonettiDirezione, Direttore at Grand Hotel Paradiso, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Mr,
thank you for the compliments to our bar and restaurant staff, anyway we are not sure with who you spoke at reception!

We know all the arrivals time of Crystal and the first rooms that the maid do, are yours, so it's almost impossible that you got the room 5 hours after you arrived, maybe the third bed was not made, but for sure it was clean!!!

and more impossible is that our staff told you to "stop talking, be quiet and go away"..no way!
Usually we put 2 robes in the rooms, but for sure have a third one is not a problem.

We are sorry about the internet connection, unfortunately in passo del tonale we have a connection via radio, so when is bad wether we can do nothing..just wait that the sun comes out..but is not up the Hotel, in all tonale is the same.

For the credit you can choise by your self how much credit you will put on each room, so is per room and not per person.

We remain at disposal and hope to welcome you again as our kind guest and to make sure that what you wrote isn't correct!

best regards

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#9 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
397 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
735 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piandineve
Hotel Piandineve
#8 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
173 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#11 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Case Sparse, 51 | Passo del Tonale, 25056 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#10 Spa Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range: £202 - £447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing