We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crystal ski”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We found the hotel soulless and somewhat unwelcoming. There is no lounge or cosy spot to sit and chat. The entrance area and corridors are like an office block or student hall of residence.

We had a standard room which was adequate but rather small. The fridge had a notice attached saying that apart from medical use there was a charge of 10euros per day. What cheek!!!!! As standard roomers you sit in an area of the dining room dedicated to similar guests and get inferior crockery and glassware to premium room guests. Plastic glasses are used at breakfast for fruit juice. Bath robes are not provided with standard rooms and have to be hired in the spa at 3euros per visit and must be returned on leaving the spa. The jacuzzi was out of action throughout our visit with no evidence of working on the problem .

Food was good apart from the main course which was often fairly dry with no sauce or gravy and the vegetables were always overcooked. The salad and sweet buffets were particularly good.

Notice in room suggested reusing towels. Each day we put them back on the towel rail and each day they were replaced with clean towels. Not very environmentally friendly.

We would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't have a standard room as it affects the rest of your stay there. All rooms have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goanagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

we have just returned from a weeks skiing holiday with friends .we stayed at the paradiso hotel it was excellent. the food , staff , rooms , could not fault anything about it . we all had a very good holiday and would like to go back again .its a beautiful hotel and resort good for all levels of skiing .

Room Tip: we booked superior rooms all was on ground floor .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

A really nice hotel. Good Italian food. Great location ski lift at rear of hotel. Staff were superb. Worked really hard to make your stay enjoyable. Nothing was any problem. Nice quiet bar to relax in the evening. Wine in restaurant a bit pricey. Perhaps house local wine carafes would help. Deserves 5 stars but spa leisure facilities need servicing. A bit dark with some facilities e.g hot tub requiring repair. A quiet resort if you want a relaxing ski holiday with superb vistas

Stayed: March 2014
Thank 611bill2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I visited this hotel in February for a skiing holiday. The hotel is great. We had booked a superior room which I would thoroughly recommend. The room itself was well furnished, very clean and had great views of the slopes. The shower was very powerful just what us needed at the end of a days skiing.

We also used the spa area which was great although the jacuzzi was out of order for the week we were there. One thing tho you have to purchase is a swimming cap to use the pool - 3 euros it costs.

The restaurant was excellent. The food was lovely and plentiful. There was a good variety which I think would cater for most tastes. The staff in the restaurant were attentive.

We had pre booked the hotel credit facility. For £80 we got 200 euro credit. Well worth it.

We are new to skiing and would thoroughly recommend this resort for beginners. The ski school was really good and got us to a standard where we could go off on our own. The slopes are literally at the back of this hotel. We had a great holiday and the hotel is well worth booking.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank funnylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We are just back from our second excellent visit to the Hotel Paradiso booked through Crystal and thought we’d share what a great time we had on both trips.

On both occasions our rooms were ready when we arrived at the hotel which allowed us to dump our stuff and get on with the holiday. On our visits we have had both a superior room and a standard room and, whilst I would agree with most other reviewers that the upgraded rooms are worth paying for, our standard room was perfectly adequate. It was comfortable, clean and never lacking for hot water (unlike many other hotels I have stayed in!), although it could have benefited from a better hairdryer and a couple of hooks in the bathroom to hang towels on. In fact both rooms could have been improved by some hooks to hang heavy ski jackets on.

The hotel has its own boot room where every room has a locker, avoiding a scrum for space at nights, although another couple of benches would have helped ease the morning rush. The attached ski hire shop is handy but not the best in terms of either service or standards. It appears to be manned by one slightly surly man who doesn’t have a great grasp of English. We were lucky in knowing what we wanted and catching him at a quiet time but I wouldn’t like to be behind a large group needing help. Also on returning our skis they were not inspected and just hung back up on the racks for the next people to use. Crystal should use somewhere else as this is a poor service for what we pay.

The facilities in the hotel are excellent with a larger than expected gym (in case you haven’t done enough exercise) and a spa area. It was a shame the Jacuzzi was out of action as that is great for easing tired legs. The bar is a pleasant area and the manager is good fun and looks after you well. We felt the prices were reasonable too. The restaurant is efficiently run and the staff are all very friendly and helpful. The food was of a good quality with plenty of choices and we never once went hungry.

The hotel is not quite a ski in – ski out but is close enough. The slopes are accessed either by a metal stair case at the side of the hotel or by walking up the snow bank in the car park. This bank also allows you to ski back into the car park at the end of the day. The ski area itself isn’t huge and probably wouldn’t test a good ski but for beginners and improving intermediates it’s got a lot going for it. As I was recovering from a nasty fall last year it was perfect for regaining my confidence and the slopes would be the only reason we wouldn’t visit this resort again.

As for the Paradiso – we loved it and you should give it a go, we doubt you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the Ombrella Bar as these can be noisy in the morning and early evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dez_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This excellent hotel is on the slopes and is accessible to all levels of skiers!
We stayed in a superior deluxe room with a balcony overlooking the slopes, which was brilliant with all the requires facilities!
The spa had great facilities, which were perfect after a hard day on the slopes!
The food was top class with good variety for all courses, and all was complemented by first rate restaurant service!
The bar was second to none, with a great list of drinks and the staff added to this by delivering a first class service!
Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We, a family of three stayed at this hotel for a skiing holiday during the recent February half term. After a transfer of 2 and 3/4 hours from Verona airport we arrived at the hotel. First impressions were vert good - nice, modern reception area and the check in process for us was nice and quick. We stayed in a superior room with a balcony and view of the slopes. Would loved to have had a bath but the shower cubicle was huge.
Food was generally of a high standard - there were maybe one or two evenings where the main course was a little dry but you have already had an antipasto course and a starter by then that you are more than full. The waiters and the maitre d in the restaurant were excellent and looked after the guests very well.
The hotel is ideally place for the slopes and which are reached by going up a metal staircase at the side of the hotel. Ski and boot hire is attached to the hotel.
There is a friendly bar which we used for an apres ski drink and the staff in here are excellent. Try the Bombardino with cream. We had a great time at this hotel and the resort and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Book a superior room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aggy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#15 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Piandineve
Hotel Piandineve
#9 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#10 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
271 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Paradiso

Address: Via Case Sparse, 51 | Passo del Tonale, 25056 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#12 Spa Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range: £198 - £442 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradiso Hotel Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing