We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run hotel part of a enjoyable skiing holiday”
Review of Hotel Orchidea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Orchidea
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Reviewed 28 January 2012

An attractive hotel, simply furnished but comfortable rooms, friendly informal atmosphere, menus simple and well cooked. The spa is really good after a day's skiing, and free to guests. Overall this was excellent value for a 3 star hotel, and I would recommend highly. Someone remarked in another review that the cleaning seems to start rather early, which is true, there was a bit of early noise but it didn't bother me particularly - and the standard of cleaning is very high.

Location is fine, about 5 minutes walk from the main ski lift start point. We kept our kit at the hire place near the ski lifts, for which we had to pay, although the hotel provides heated boot racks etc.

Perhaps not relevant to a hotel review but maybe of interest to skiers; Sonia (the owner and manager) is a great skiing teacher, she spent many years as a slalom racer and as an instructor, so if you want a lesson to brush up on technique she will make a difference!

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have good views, and balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were at this hotel twice already. The hotel is beautiful, situated in a quiet part of the Tonale with excellent cuisine. Lady Sonia, her whole family and other staff are great, nice and helpful people. All services are on a professional level. Nothing is a problem, just say. Transport is absolutely no problem. Perfect markings, roads are dry and clean. Although the hotel is not located at the slopes (200m), but every 20 minutes drive ski bus. We can only recommend this hotel.
Petra & Ondra (Nev-Dama)

Room Tip: Room with balcony is necessary. View of mountains is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Petra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Well what can I say . Stayed five times at this hotel , we love it. One of the most beautiful families I have ever met . The family and their staff work without hesitation to ensure that you have every thing you need . A smile is never far from them, and lets face it , they are up before us and retire after us every day.
Nothing is too much trouble . The domestic staff do not leave a corner unattended . The food is superb ,the chef and kitchen staff are funny , relaxed and a credit to their professions , hand picked , I have no doubt by head of proceedings Sonia, who runs a tight ship . She is truly a legend . Of course any review could not be complete with a massive mention to Mrs and Mrs Longhi and their Son. They are all so warming, its a wonder they don't melt the glacier.xx

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2011

At the end of the village well placed. Resort quiet, great snow depth and weather but very little to do in the evening. The hotel spa was superb - steam room, sauna, jacuzzi, solarium and spotlessly clean. The room was good - large, comfortable. The food was pretty basic - cold buffet for breakfast, salad bard and 3 courses in the evening but all fairly bland. We were the only couple from Britain (most were from Eastern Europe) which was great if you like multi-cultural but may be a shock for some as there was no interaction between the nationalities

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Although this hotel is a little bit far from the main resort and for beginner skiers this means quite a trek to the ski school, it was extremely good value. The hotel was kept immaculately clean and staff were constantly working through the day and into the evening to keep it clean. I really cannot fault the hotel for cleanliness. The evening meals were a real treat after a long day on the slopes and the sauna and spa area is brilliant! Not all hotels in Passo Tonale have this facility so it was very much appreciated and did therefore get quite busy at times. Would really recommend this hotel as long as you can secure a locker in the main ski area to avoid carrying heavy ski's each day!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidaymad26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2010

I stayed here last week -13th to 20th March 2010 - with a couple of mates on a skiing trip. I had read the previous reviews and was a bit apprehensive as a result. However, I found the hotel to be ideal and easily met its 3 star grading. The food in particular was impressive both in terms of quality and quantity - whilst breakfast was typically continental the evening meals were a real treat. I don't know what we would have done in the hotel or resort had the snow and weather not been so fantastic though - all TV was Italian (unsurprisingly I guess) and there was limited activity available away from the slopes. I would definitely return to the resort and this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank superskierjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

10 of us spent a week in the Orchidea. Although the hotel was very clean and tidy unfortunately the hotel let its self down in terms of the quality of the food and the service of the waiters.
We were not the only large party to stay that week but every night we were last to be served, taking up to 2hrs to eat our meal. This was getting frustrating by the end of the week. Complaining to the waiters normally resulted in a blank expression as their understanding of english was limited.

Quality of the food was mediocre - 4 courses, Salad Bar, choice of Starter, choice of Main Meal and a choice of pudding. The starter was normally OK, pasta etc, but the main course was normally inedible (for us at least)

The hotel it self was clean, tidy and by all accounts the Spa facilites were great.
The hotel was about 5 mins walk up the hill to the nearest lift or 10 mins walk down the hill to the main lifts for Passo Tonale.

Skiing in Passo Tonale is good, been high up there is some guarantee of snow.

Not much night life in Passo Tonale but the bars are cheap (for a ski resort)

At the end of the day, for the money we paid then we should have expected the quality of the food we got. I would recommmend this hotel but be prepared to be wanting to eat out!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Magnoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Piandineve
Hotel Piandineve
#8 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#9 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#12 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orchidea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orchidea

Address: Via Circonvallazione 24, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range: £85 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Orchidea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Orchidea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing